• Report: #581299
Complaint Review:

Baby's 1st day

  • Submitted: Mon, March 15, 2010
  • Updated: Fri, August 24, 2012

  • Reported By: Stephanie — Nevada United States of America
Baby's 1st day
6000 S. Eastern Ave. Suite 9-A Las Vegas, Nevada United States of America

Baby's 1st day April Kermani Con-artist, coward Las Vegas, Nevada

*Consumer Comment: April Kermani is an excellent midwife!

*Author of original report: Not a forum

*Author of original report: update

*General Comment: SERIOUSLLY.....

*Author of original report: evidence

*Consumer Comment: A Witness & Fellow Midwife

*Consumer Comment: April is a fantastic midwife

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Completely Not True

Corporate Advocacy Program
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

April Kermani takes the money and runs.

April is a certified nurse midwife. She does not listen nor care to what you have to say. Her equipment is faulty. She used a false/fake/incorrect iron test number to immediatly discontinue care. She wrote me over email to tell me that. Had to have a complete cbc from my general practitioner to prove she was wrong. She does not keep appointment times, ditched out early without telling me while I waited a hour in her office for her to show up. Does not know how to use fetoscope. If you want a home birth you will not have one with April. Did not pay for the tests she did. I got the bill from the labs 7 months after they were done stating that they were never paid, even though they continuously tried to make contact. And her lying accusations to sprinkle on top.

Took the insurance money, took the full amount for the birth. Her prices for prenatal visits are 125 each time, so for the 5 times I saw her she should have only gotten $625 but no she took it all. Got away with  $2475.

So if you feel like having someone ruin the most important time of your life go with April.

Stress and Anger are included in her fee.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/15/2010 02:28 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/babys-1st-day/las-vegas-nevada-89119/babys-1st-day-april-kermani-con-artist-coward-las-vegas-nevada-581299. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Baby's 1st day

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
3Author 4Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

April Kermani is an excellent midwife!

AUTHOR: nurtures6 - (United States of America)

I am really sad to see someone so bitter and cruel towards April Kermani. I have known April for a number of years professionally and she is an outstanding person. She is kind, loving, and giving. She is top in her field and extremely professional. Every Midwife in Las Vegas respects and looks up to her. She used to be a CNM but now only does home births. Please do not listen to this slander! This person is obviously bitter and angry but should not be taking it out on April. With her bitter and malicious comments, I can see why April discontinued her care.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Not a forum

AUTHOR: Stephanie - (United States of America)

Please note that rebuttals should NOT contain any of the following:
Profanity, obscenity, threats of violence, racist remarks, false statements, personal information (i.e., social security numbers, credit card numbers, home address(es) or phone numbers), or any other information which violates Ripoff Report's Terms of Service;
Rumors, speculation, or innuendo unless you have personal knowledge that your statements are true;
Trivial comments (i.e., Nice report!) which do not add anything useful to the discussion.

Don't you people read the rules and/or follow them: NO TRIVIAL COMMENTS

This is not a forum to be discussed and nit picked, if you have something valid to offer, you were there or had a similar or even dissimilar experience then add to it. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report


AUTHOR: Stephanie - (United States of America)

I have all the paper evidence to back it up, medical records, emails, bills, insurance statements and even a phone bill that proves she never called.

You know if she had dropped care because of a communication break down I would have been fine with it. But no she had to use some lame excuse. Very professional. It would have been nice to have been honest with.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 General Comment


AUTHOR: Kathie - (USA)

1) your "evidence" only showed me, an object party who knows neither of you, that she was looking out for your health and your baby's health. 

2)get off ripoff report the the web and go enjoy your baby.

I rarely feel the need to respond to these ridiculous posts but this website is overly abused with false "ripoffs".  I think she should file a rip off report against you - what more could she have done for you ???

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report


AUTHOR: Stephanie - (United States of America)

Midwife/ client breakdown? You were not listening and didn't seem to care. As for thats why you dropped care. Below is the copied and pasted statment as to why care was being denied.

"Now we have a much bigger issue to tackle. I am very worried about your anemia and even more worried about your opposition to take the iron supplements and exercise. The level today was very low indicating severe anemia. Unfortunately, you are no longer a candidate for home birth. I would not be a responsible midwife if I let this go unchecked. Home birth is safe because it is for low risk moms and this puts you in a high risk category."  

You refused to obtain an actually cbc which I had to pay for myself(2 doctors visits)

And the weight thing just another example of not listening. 

The reason I hadn't been walking, which to me is not exerise, is that some guy wanted to kidnap me right next to my house. Had you have been paying attention or showed any concern at all I would have told you that. I have a gazelle and a weight set in my house which I use regularly, and I also go swimming. But thanks for the accusations.

"I was not able to attend our last visit because I had the flu. I did not want to expose you or your baby. I called to ask if you preferred to see my back-up midwife at our regularly scheduled time or reschedule the following week with me. You chose to see the back-up midwife. It is simply not true that you waited. "

You called? I don't know who you talked to but it wasn't me. We waited till almost 5pm.

Sherry came out and said " oh April didn't tell you, she left"

Also you completely ignored a yeast infection I had, apparently midwives can treat it. Thats another two doctors visits. I've never had a YI, I didn't know what it was. Instead of suggesting a test or even what you might think it is, oh go get some monistat.

The iron test was not done in a lab, but in the office with the finger poke device.

As for the 3rd rebuttal, recently after coming back from a horrible doctors appointment thanks to april, I sent her a nasty email. I was going to say I didn't threaten her, but I remember now i did threaten to sue and to notify the insurance of this whole shpeel. And yes the last email was hateful. The "threats and hateful" statements were contained to one email. I'm not proud of myself, I wish I could take it back.

As for this whole thing being a lie, I have paper evidence to prove it true. Also wouldI be this worked up if it hadn't been true? Of course you don't know me. I don't even get upset when people cut me of on the freeway and then flip me the bird. But she caused so many problems so much stress. I never want to get pregnant again, ever.

This site is not being misused, people should know what happened. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#6 Consumer Comment

A Witness & Fellow Midwife

AUTHOR: SHop - (United States of America)

So sad that this website is being misused as I'm sure there are individuals that are ripped off but this client was not one of them. I have known April, CPM not CNM, for almost 4 years now. I have known her to be kind, loving, knowledgable, and fair.

As the one who did the lab work for iron I can say that it did not happen the way she says. Although this client had low iron, "anemia" was not the reason for her discharge. This client is mad because she had a hard time finding someone to take on her care for similiar reasons she was discharged from Aprils.

What should be posted is the correspondance this client sent to April in a cowardly fashion where she made threats and hateful statements. I have read those and am both appauled and relieved as April made the right decision. Not all decisions are easy to make but this was definatley the correct one.

I told April she was crazy for refunding her non-refundable deposit as she earned it and more. For those that know April I am not worried because they will surely laugh. For those that do not know April and all she has done for the Las Vegas natural birth community just come see the hundreds of photos that decorate the wall of families that April has assisted through the years with love and compassion.


Respond to this report!
What's this?

#7 Consumer Comment

April is a fantastic midwife

AUTHOR: KT - (United States of America)

I am a midwife myself and have known April for many years and worked along side her for over a year. April is a caring midwife and very fair. The original statements don't even make sense.

1.Where is the proof that a fake iron number was given? If there is the belief the number is incorrect then it would be a lab error, not the midwife error. A midwife cannot make that number up, she is merely relaying the information given by the lab.

2. The money was obviously returned to you so there is not proof in the statement, "she takes the money and runs."

3. No midwife will pay for tests that labs perform. That is always an insurance issue or a client issue...you either pay cash or the insurance covers it whether you see a midwife or a doctor. I also don't understand how you got a bill 7 months later when you started care (based on April's rebuttal) in Sept. and it is now March, that is only 6 months so far.

4. The insurance money belongs to the provider giving care, no matter who you see. That's the way it goes.

So the original statements just don't add up. I think most people can just read right through that and make their own assumptions. They seem to come from a place of anger and resentment. However, just to add to the rebuttal I am making, my experience of working with April has always been very professional. She is a committed midwife who cares for you as long as you care for yourself too. Choosing a homebirth is a dedicated choice and one that comes with certain responsibility. One must be healthy and low risk to continue care.  If you are educated, committed to a natural birth at home, and you are healthy or willing to make healthy choices/changes in your life during your pregnancy then April is the perfect midwife for you. If you feel like having a midwife who educates you, listens to you, cares for you and your baby, and involves the whole family during your pregnancy then go with April. Love and Empowerment are included for free.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#8 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Completely Not True

AUTHOR: April Kermani - (Virgin Islands (US))

I am truly sorry you feel this way.  There are statements you made that are patently false.  It is important the truth be told.  

You were discharged from care because the midwife/client relationship had broken down to the point it was no longer effective.  I was not able to attend our last visit because I had the flu.  I did not want to expose you or your baby.  I called to ask if you preferred to see my back-up midwife at our regularly scheduled time or reschedule the following week with me.  You chose to see the back-up midwife.  It is simply not true that you waited. 

A discharge letter along with all of your records was mailed and received by you on 1/9/2010.  I have the certified letter with your signature.

You signed a financial contract on 10/6/2009 that stated there was a non-refundable fee of $500.00 

You were seen for a total of 5 prenatal visits from 9/10/09 1/7/09. 

The payments you made are the portion (deductible and 30% co-insurance) that is the patient responsibility per your insurance company.  Your deductible plus the 30% your insurance doesnt cover came to $1,190 and the $500 deposit for a total of $1,690.  Your payments to me are below:

9/10/09            $500            non-refundable deposit

10/6/09            $235            

11/10/09            $235

12/8/09            $235

1/7/10            $235

You paid a total of $1,440 out-of-pocket for you care.  This reflects pre-payment for care at you labor, birth, and post partum care for both you and your baby.

After you were discharged from care a refund check for $940 (check #1277) was mailed and cashed by you on 1/10/10.  You e-mailed me on 1/13/10 and requested that the $500 non-refundable deposit be reimbursed.   Despite you having signed a contract stating it was non-refundable I went ahead and issued a check to you for $500 (check #1280).  You picked this check up from my office on 1/13/10 and cashed it the same day.

So, you did not come out of pocket one penny for your 5 prenatal visits! 

Of course I billed your insurance for the visits you received.  Is it fair that I not get paid for the time we spent in prenatal visits or the phone calls and e-mails I answered over this 4 month period?

Im not sure what you are referring to about the lab work.  Your insurance was billed directly for all of the blood work.  If your insurance didnt pay thats an issue to take up with your insurance company.  Have you ever been to another office that pays for your lab work?

In 7 years of being a midwife I have never had to discharge a client.  I understand that you are upset that you were discharged from care, but lying about things just makes things worse for everyone.

You received 5 prenatal visits for free and it is sad that you feel you need to lie about being ripped off.  This couldnt be farther from the truth. 


April Kermani



Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?