Report: #1114074

Complaint Review:

  • Submitted: Wed, January 08, 2014
  • Updated: Wed, January 08, 2014
  • Reported By: Sd07 — La California

    Johnson city, Tennessee

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

So I spoke with Ryan about buying a queen sized bed.  Decided to do it on a Saturday, placed the order and thought, that's done.  I can get to other things on my list.

Monday rolls around and I get a call about my credit card not matching my address.  (I have two addresses I provided, my delivery address is my new address and my billing address is my old address.  The bank updated my addresses).

Now mind you, my card has been charged the information is correct and i get this call, the CFO wants me to make them feel better about my purchase by providing all my information again.  Instead of just confirming my purchase and the ship to address they want me to go through all the information again.  Now I'm in a middle of moving, classes, I'm in the car and if I want my mattress by the day I requested it (Friday) I have to drop what I'm doing and make them feel better about me.  I asked if there was a problem with the transaction.  NO, no problem with the transaction it went through.  You have my money, right?  Yes.  So what is the problem?

My CFO doesn't feel comfortable because of your address change.. That's not my problem, ship the mattress as requested.  Wait while I ask my CFO.  Only if you are there to sign for it.  

I explain that I can't be there to sign for it, because like a normal human, on top of moving between two places  I have work, and classes, hence the reason I wanted my bed delivered on Friday by FedEx ground no signature so I would have something to sleep on and not having to play games with FedEx Delivery. Which if I miss the delivery because if the CFO's stupid signature requirement (Again, they have my money correct address, etc) I will be sleeping on the floor then driving to the end of the world to some fedex depot in the ghetto to get my mattress which has been paid for.  

They won't send me my bed as I requested and already have confirmation on.  I cancel the order and want my money refunded so I can just go purchase something to sleep on.  They 'allegedly' refund my money, but refuse to call the bank and get the funds released ("I don't know how to do that, she says).  So I tell her exactly what to do which my bank told me to tell them.  She refuses to do that because it sounds like it might take some work.

I'm still out $1500 that hasn't been refunded to me and I have to lay out another $1700 for another mattress to be rush delivered for Friday.

I don't know when or if I will see the money I spent on the bed order that I originally felt good about buying but then became a complete waste of time and energy that still makes me sick to my stomach about having to spend almost $3000 on a mattress because their CFO is an idiot.  I also have had to spend an additional 300 because I had to change when my movers are coming to pack up the one address and move me to my new place because I have to be present for delivery, which was one of the reasons I went to bedinabox in the first place.

Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/08/2014 09:05 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

We have refunded your money, and we apologize for this situation. We have these policies to protect customers and us.


Dear Shann,

I do apologize for the inconvenience. You are correct; we did do all these things but only to protect you and us from being taken advantage of. Unfortunately, there are quite a few people out there committing fraud, especially over the internet. We do everything we can to protect our customers and ourselves from fraud. We do not keep our customers' credit card information on file, so when we follow up to validate orders, we do have to ask for the information again. Since your billing address did not match (a common indicator of fraud) we called to verify that you were in fact the card holder. When you could not provide the credit card information we asked that you would sign for the order, which is very reasonable.

As for the refund, it depends entirely on the bank. Each bank processes their refunds at a different rate and according to their own guidelines. We have no control of this, regardless if we call or not. Your refund arrived just as quickly as your bank processed it.

The site very clearly states that orders must have matching billing and shipping addresses to be processed quickly and that we verify credit card information by phone on orders that do not. If this had been the case, your order would have went out as normal and arrived exactly when you needed it to. I am sure that you understand the risks involved with shipping orders out that are not validated.

Obviously, it is very disappointing to see this review posted especially when we were just trying to help. As you know, this will negatively affect our business in the future. This is disheartening because we are a small, family owned company that works very hard to deliver a high quality product at a very reasonable price.

We hope your studies go well and hope you enjoy your new home.

Matthew Burgess
Sr. Vice President

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.