Report: #1048476

Complaint Review: California Lace Wigs & Weaves

  • Submitted: Sat, May 04, 2013
  • Updated: Sun, May 26, 2013
  • Reported By: Dana C — Compton California
  • California Lace Wigs & Weaves
    640 N San Jacinto St
    Hemet, California

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I purchased a custom made full lace mongolian human hair wig w/ glueless cap for my daughter.  The wig is supposed to look as if it grown from her scalp. She has SLE Lupus and lost most of her hair.  I wanted her to have a natural looking human hair wig that she could feel comfortable wearing.  When we received the wig, it was soft and nice.  Well less than 2 weeks of having it the hair began shedding and tangling very badly.  This wig cost over $800.00.  The hair line looks very un-natural and my daughter was left feeling horrible.  We reached out to the company via email on Apr 12, 2013 (two weeks after receiving the hair) in search of an amicable resolution.   They finally replied to us on Apr 19, 2013 stating that we ordered double processed  hair (curly and colored) therefore that caused the hair to be ruined.  They suggested we wash and condition it to try and revive it. [continued below]....

.....  Now, I'm not new to the world of human hair, and understand that things can happen.  However, in the business of human hair, it's known for alterations being done to the hair and the hair still has life well beyond 2 weeks.  Willing to accept some of the responsibility,we did as instructed and washed and deep conditioned the wig.   Well, this only made matters worse as the hair matted and the cap shrunk and now it can't be worn at all.  This was supposed to be a high end quality product that lasted at least a year.  It only lasted 2 weeks.  We sent a follow-up email and the response from them was shocking. They insulted my character and the tone of it was very accusatory.   I'll be more than happy to share those with anyone who would like to see.   At this point i'm filing a dispute with my bank and returning the wig.  They never made an attempt to resolve this.  I truly believe the hair is not human hair and they are selling synthetic hair.  The emails I received from them were very unprofessional.  They need someone to come and teach a class on the art of customer service.  

Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/04/2013 03:44 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Consumer Comment

This Lady has every right to Complain

AUTHOR: Can we be Real - (USA)

Here is what I believe happened!  Human hair varies widely from one person to the next.  One human being will have strong, healthy hair that could hold up against nuclear warfare and still come out soft and beautiful.  Other hair is fragile, weak and dry and hair like this will break if you even look at it.  If you are a quality, ethical vendor with an absolute commitment to excellence you will have stringent, in-house quality control processes to ensure that only the strongest, healthiest hair is subjected to double processing.  You will also ensure that once processed, the product does not leave your facility unless it meets stringent standards.

Why?  Because when someone comes to you with almost a thousand dollars of their hard earned money because they have a child at home who is suffering the devastation of an illness like lupus you are deeply respectful of the fact that they are willing to pay whatever it costs for quality.  It is NOT their responsibility to research anything!!!!  That my dear is YOUR job!  Sure, if they had paid $169.99 to a foreign vendor for a 22" full lace wig, then they can expect that they are playing a bit of Russian Roulette.  But when you pay almost a thousand dollars it is because it is critical that this be right because you have a sick child at home who cannot face her peers because her self esteem has been ruined by hair loss and on top of that she is ill as well.

California Lace Wigs expects the "customer to do their research", my take on that is that it is one of the most ridiculous statements I have ever heard.  Hair is double processed by high quality vendors all the time and it leaves their facility in beautiful condition BECAUSE they don't double process CRAP and because they refuse to sell something if they aren't one hundred percent sure that they can provide excellence!  If that means taking quality control in-house, they do it!  If that means testing a product over and over again until they are sure they can get it right, they do that!  What they absolutely NEVER do, is tell a customer who has zero control over the production decisions and process that it is THEY, the paying, respectful, trusting customer who got it all wrong because they didn't do their research.  They didn't do their research alright but it is the company they should have researched not that whole double processing stupidity!

CLWW does not have stringent quality control measures in place  and sure, you might be one of the lucky ones and get a good batch but if you aren't lucky and their lack of stringent quality control processes fails you, the person who has ultimate control over the entire process and production experience, will hold YOU accountable and will walk away Scott free without a second glance backwards at the fact that she has left a family already struggling, to now struggle even more!

Ladies, a thousand dollars says to me that you have an important reason to need or expect excellence. Maybe you have a sick family member at home who is too embarrassed by hair loss to be able to come out of her room and face her peers.  If you do.............understand that this company will take your money and will have no difficulty at all if they don't deliver.  Why? Because double processed hair is only ever done through a CUSTOM ORDER FORM, and once you hit send on that custom order your credit card provider or PayPal has no mechanism to demand a refund.  So hey, let's play a game of quality control Russian Roulette, because when it all goes wrong it will be your dime not theirs..........and quite frankly one wonders how they sleep at night!

Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee ..inside information

Rip Off

AUTHOR: Akbar El-Amin - ()

This customer is 100% correct.  California Lace Wigs is a rip off company.  They are a black owned company who hates whites.  This is a stor front only.  They sell Marijuana.  The real store name is Mobil Meds .

Respond to this report!

#3 Consumer Comment

Don't agree

AUTHOR: Iris - ()

Just wanted to chime in and say that the complainers characterization of Annette is surprising and hard to believe.  I have been a coustomer of Annette and CLW for several years now, and she has never been anything but polite accomodating and professional.

I take exception to the mention of stereotypes associated with African-American business owners, and feel that the complainer should have simply stuck to the facts.  But with that said, I will reiterate that I have received nothing but polite, bend over backwards, exceptional service from CLW and would recommend them to anybody looking for quality product, fast delivery, and great customers service.

Last, let me say that it is a known fact that CLW requires a signature at the time of delivery.  They likely do this because they sell expernsive merchandise, and I believe that it is for our safety as well as theirs, that they require a signature and do not release packages to be left on doorsteps and porches.

Thanks for listening,



Respond to this report!

#4 Consumer Comment

CLW Ripoff

AUTHOR: Dalia - ()


I have purchased 2 wigs with CLW and if not about the quality of their wigs I can also make a comlaint about their really poor customer service.

I ordered a wig from CLW in 2012, I selected the style and cap size I wanted and placed the order and received a confirmation email stating that my credit card was charged and the order was being processed. I was very excited at this point. A half hour later stating that they did not have the wig in the legnth and cap size I ordered but had a wig witht the same capsize at a longer length (20inches) but for $75 more.

I replied expressing how unhappy I was that I was mislead to believe they had the product that I wanted and only after my card was charged did they reveal that they truly did not. I asked if they could make a good faith effort and offer the product at the same price as the one that I originally ordered as it was their error.

Anette responded unprofessionally so, by stating that even if I receive confirmation of the order and the website shows that they have a product in stock, it is not a guarantee that they actually have it. She also stated that she could not making accomodate me and that I could either pay the extra amount, get a wig of a short length but accurate cap size or pay extra.

I opted to get the wig with the shorter length as I need a wig within a weeks time and I could not wait to be credited.

I odered the wig via FEdEX with expedited shipping, i requested that the package be left at my door, it was not. i contacted FedEx and they could not verify where the package witht he tracking number that was given to me. I spent an hour at Fedex trying to figure out where the package was. I had contacted Annette while waiting asking her to assist with the matter as Fedex instructed me to contact the vendor I ordered from. I called and left a message with urgent status and sent a refund. I received no response, not that day or ever.

The wig was fianlly located and the crisis averted. The wig was of course short than I would have like and the back tangled alot but it was ver real looking. It was not a harrible wig but even ater treating regularly with conditioner moisterizers and oil it became very dry and undesirable looking. This wig lasted about 6months.

Months later I received a promotional email featuring a glueless lace wig with a reduced price of $350.

I ordered the wig with extra combs which I did not get. the wir looked pretty real and I received the package with no issue, The wig looked very real and I received amny compliments. unfortunately only a week into wearing the wig I was detangling the hair literally every 30minutes. i was walking with bottles of conditioner and a comb. The wig especially the back would just knot up in clumbs it became very frustrating . after 2months the wig  was so knotted and tangled that it was unwearable and I had been out of $400(shipping cost included).

After having such an unpleasant experience with anette I did not bother contacting her. I am all about supporting black businesses but like any vendor I do business no matter the race, I demand quality product and services and CLW is questionable at best. anette is very unprofessional and condecending. She unfortunately perpetuates the angry-black-female stereotype with her poor attitude and gives other black business owners a bad name. At no point does anette ever offer to resolve a matter but suggests solutions that are not useful but meant to placate the customer. It seems that there is no value for her customers who, in this economy are spending their hard earned $350+ on wigs.


A disgusted consumer

Respond to this report!

#5 Author of original report

Attack? You must be an employee

AUTHOR: Dana C - ()

I'll address your concerns anyway.  I guess you were fortunate and i'm happy you haven't had a bad experience. That doesn't mean my experiance wasn't.  Receiving a defective product can happen.  When it does the situation should be resolved in a professsional manner.  I paid for the wig out of my own pocket on 03/01/2013.   Yes, some insurance companies cover Cranial Hair Prothesis.  I have Aetna, and although it is partially covered, they do not pay up front because wig makers are not medical companies.  Therefore I can not submit my daughters prescription to the wig company and simply pay a co-pay. I will not even acxknowledge  your scam accusation, as there is no need.  My bank would not open a dispute for something that does not exist.  Also, the first contact to them was Apr 12.  In which all issue's including hairline was addressed.  This was two weeks after recieving it.    

I revealed all facts and tried working it out with them and all they did was insult me, never offered a mutual resolution. I have returned the wig to them, they refused it.   Now how am I benefiting by not having a product that I paid for?  I have not been reimbursed any portion by the insurance company, as I havent filed a claim since i'll now have to obtain new authorization and purchase a new wig once the dispute is resolved by my bank, and i'm refunded my money.   As for the pix, I uploaded them...I have no control over how large they appear on here.  I've sent CLWW pix of the wig so they have seen  all of them .    Feel free to view them on my Instagram Naturalista  Beauty, or Facebook.

Below are all the e-mails sent  to them.   Altough I paid for the wig  on 3/01/2013, this was a custom made product, it was shipped on 03/27/2013 (Oh and if I was trying to scam, I could have said I never received it since they sent it with signature confirmation.  I had to contact the post office to track it down since the last update was out for delivery).  

Also, she has been wearing human hair extentions (Indian and Brazilian) since she was 14. She's had hair colored before.  The only reason we switched to the wig was because of the balding.  We did nothing to cause the damage to the hair.  As I initially stated I was willing to accept the double processing as the result of the shedding and tangling.  As for the hairline,  my daughter noticed and messaged me about early on.  I sent them the text of that too.  She was willing to wear it down only, but then the shedding and tangling began, that's when she reached out to them.  After washing and deep conditioning the wig, the hair matted and the wig cap shrunk.  Now how is the un-natural hairline, matted hair and shrunken cap our fault? 

Email 1:  Sent by my daugther because she was truly unhappy with the wig and she's the one who has to wear it.

Problems with received hair piece

Dana Cephas
to Annette
Apr 12Details

Hi I have recently received the hair that I'd ordered from your company and a few things aren't quit right with the wig. The wig is beautiful but the hair line is not as natural looking as I expected it to look. Also, the hair tends to get tangled very easily and sheds more than normal whenever it is combed out. I want my daughter to be able to wear this piece for a very long time but at the rate it is going i don't think the hair is going to last. Considering the expense of what was paid on this unit I don't feel like I should be having these problems. Please get back to me as soon as possible to work out a solution to this problem. 

Thank you

They reponded on the April 19, 2013 , which if you read my complaint you know they advised to wash and condition the hair. However, they never addressed the hairline issue.    

Email 2:  I wrote them in response to the instructions given by them

Dana Cephas

to Annette

Apr 20 Details

Hi Annette,

Thanks for your reply.  It was my daughter that sent the email.  I told her double processing could cause issues.  I'm going to deep condition it myself.  When it comes to hair care products, I only use all natural so I'll give it a good treatment and add some of my Ayurvedic Herbs to the conditioner.   She'll be ok until she gets her next unit.  I'm sure she'll also listen to my advice as well.


Email 3:  sent by my daugther because she was truly unhappy with the wig and she's the one who has to wear it.
Dana Cephas
 to Annette
Apr 21

Thankyou and I do understand that but due to the fact that we where not informed and your cite has the option of the coloring we assumed it was safe to go ahead and do it. She has only had the hair 2 weeks and it looks dry and synthetic. This is the most expensive hair we have purchased yet it seems to be giving the most problem. I could see if we purchased the hair then processed it ourselves but when you have options on your cite that leads the customer to believe it is safe for the hair. I honestly feel like a new wig piece needs to be made like an exchange or some sort of reimbursement.

I've posted the reponse to this email already so, I wont post again.  This is where the tone of the comapny quickly shifted to negative and insulting.  The remainder correspondence was from me only.  

Email 4: in reponse to their insulting email:

Dana Cephas
to Annette
May 2

I'm really taken aback by the tone of this email.  I'm actually speechless in regards to the lack of customer service.  Yes, I am a naturalist and very knowledgeable when it comes to hair.  I'm not sure if you received my response to your initial reply, however at this point it's neither here nor there.   I purchased the wig for my 18 yr  old daughter because of her hair loss with Lupus. The most important thing for me was for her to have a wig that she felt comfortable wearing.  I chose your company because it seemed reputable and making an expensive purchase online is very risky.   To INSULT  your customer  is very unprofessional and  is the fasted way to ruin a business.  By the way, if you would have read my initial response you would know that it was my daughter who initially wrote to you.   I was willing to accept responsibility because of her lack of understanding which I stated in my reply.  The wig was deep conditioned, and no I don't use the cheap silicone and parraben laced products made for black hair.  The hair matted and the cap shrank, not to mention the hairline did not look natural which has nothing to do with processing (see pic).   Even after that, I was willing to accept the loss.  An expensive lesson.    Good CUSTOMER SERVICE is what sets companies apart.  I'm truly offended by your email and therefore I'll no longer do business with your company. I suggest you  read Delivering Happiness! A Path to Profits, Passion and Purpose by Tony Hsieh the CEO of Zappos.  

Dana M. Cephas aka Naturalista Beauty 

Again, I posted the replies to this already, so I will not post again

Email 5:

Dana Cephas
May 4

When I first received the wig we were excited and it was nice.  So we wanted to express that to you.  However, when she initially pulled it back, it was disappointing.   She sent me the pix of it.  We discussed contacting you, however I was very sick and just getting back to work after being off on a medical leave for two months.  She decided she would just always wear it down.  Then the hair began to shed and tangle very badly.   That's when my daughter decided to email you.  Yes,  I'm offended by your email, it's poor customer service at it's best.   Bottom line is quality is what you sell and that's what we thought we were getting.   Being new to the world of lace front wigs is why we asked questions months prior to ordering. Because of the cost, I wanted to make sure my money would not be wasted.  I actually wanted her to go with another company I'd been communicating with.  She preferred to go with you.   She's not new to wearing quality human hair.   That's all I've ever purchased for her.  So it is surprising to receive something that's less than adequate.  I understand the processing and coloring, but let's keep it real...this is done a lot within the industry and the hair still last longer than a month, even synthetic wigs from your local beauty supply.  I have one that I purchased over 6 mths ago that I still wear.  After washing and deep conditioning the hair became worse. It matted and the cap no longer fits therefore it can't be worn at all. Now what is the reason behind that?   We had to purchase more hair  so her stepmom could make her a wig in the mean time.  This wig wasn't for vanity purposes, it's because she lost her hair. As an  18 yr old just finding out you have an illness that effects every part of your body takes a toll on your self esteem.  As a mother I wanted her to have the best so she could feel normal.  The day that wig came in the mail was one of my happiest moments.  When she initially put it on we didn't pull it back and it looked great, hence the gratitude sent to you.  I've attached screenshots that are dated from her initial concerns as well as me wearing my $60,  6 month old processed and colored synthetic wig .   This is why she decided to contact you.  No one is trying to get over and your approach to this was all the way wrong.  I'll be returning the wig and disputing the charge with my bank as well as filing a BBB complaint.  I was hoping for an amicable way to resolve this but after receiving your email this is definately  a company that I'd prefer to not do business with.  As a matter of fact, it will be used as an example for training my employees on email professionalism and what not to do. 

 Dana Cephas

See Previous post for reply to this


Respond to this report!

#6 General Comment

This sounds like an Attack!!!

AUTHOR: Madison - ()

I have purchased wigs from California Lace Wigs & Weaves a few times now, some of them have been double processed.  I have NEVER had a problem like this before with the hair.  I can assure the hair is 100% Human hair.  I really don't understand why this person is attacking this company.  I have read the emails the owner sent, and she was nothing but nice and polite and understanding of the daughters illness and situation.  It sounds to me like this woman did something to the hair that she shouldn't have, if it's unwearable.  She says she posted pictures of a wig that is unwearable, but I haven't seen that, all I see is two picutres that look almost the same, and I can hardly even see the hair in the pictures.  As far as the hairline goes, if it didn't look natural, then she would have noticed the first time she put it on.  Why didn't she complain right away and send it back?  makes you wonder.. Also, she says her daughter has LUPUS, and I know for a fact California Lace Wigs offers Cranial Prosthesis through the insurance company.  So who is to say that she actually paid for this wig!  This whole thing sounds like a SCAM to me!! 

Respond to this report!

#7 Author of original report

check out the pix of the wig

AUTHOR: Dana C - ()

As you can see from the emails they insulted my character and never once offered any type of resolution.  Because of that, I returned the wig and opened a dispute with my bank. I PAID $822 for this wig.  2 weeks later it literally became unwearable. They told me to as I see fit and reveal the facts and I have. One things for sure is the pics speak for themselves

Respond to this report!

#8 Author of original report

Proof !

AUTHOR: Dana C - ()

Their Response to resolution :


Second Response:


Hello Dana:


It's the responsibility of the customer to do research about the wigs to their entirety before making a purchase. We sell all types of hair textures and colors, we makes wigs according to the request per. custom order form. 

The hair we sell is human hair and we all know that if we color our natural hair and add a chemical texture the hair may becomes fragile. It's just a fact! We sell colored processed hair over 70% of our custom orders. Customers wear their hair that way, most all are aware of the risk and take special precaution when choosing a double process. 

Again, it's the responsibility of the customer to research. Our in stock wigs come in a natural brown color and with a soft steam curl or light process. It's just better for the hair. By you choosing a double process was quite surprising to me when you are titled a Naturalist. I was convinced you were knowledgeable about chemicals and hair color taking away from the integrity of the hair. I was certain you would know what to do and what NOT to do when it comes to double processing. Most Naturalist choose that lifestyle because of awareness.


Because you chose the options for your custom order you take full responsibility. I previously sent care options that may work for you in reviving the unit.




California Lace Wigs & Weaves


 Your One Stop Shop for Quality Lace Wigs, Weaves & Accessories

(866) 518-WIGS


Third Response:


Hello Dana:


In no manner did I try to insult you when I replied to your email. I was only stating that, by you being a naturalist I was certain you were aware of what can happen when human hair is no longer in its natural state due to process and color. You question our customer service, but we've communicated with you and replied to each and every email you and your daughter have sent. We have answered questions by phone and given advice during this whole process.

I heard you mention before, and now you've sent a photo of what you are calling an "unnatural hairline". Upon receipt of the unit I only heard how wonderful the unit was and how much you and your daughter loved the unit. I didn't hear anything about the unnatural hairline until after your complaint about the hair. Initially upon inspection and before applying the unit the hairline is one of the 1st recognizable features on the wig. I wonder why it was overlooked and never stated until after your complaint? 

Dana, if I offended you in any manner, I want to apologize.... Never was that my intention. The double process on the unit makes the hair very fragile as mentioned before and again my suggestion is to go with a virgin texture and natural color for longevity. Customers have the right to choose whatever they want for their wig. It's also the customers responsibility to research and ask questions before making this type of investment. Over 40% of our custom orders are made with processed/colored hair, care and maintenance are key factors when choosing this option.


It's your choice to shop wherever you desire, and if you choose to no longer do business at our online store I still want you to take the information I have offered and consider it when making your next purchase. 

It's your choice to shop wherever you desire, and if you choose to no longer do business at our online store I still want you to take the information I have offered and consider it when making your next purchase. 


Thanks for the book referral, the feedback and best wishes to you and your daughter, she will continue to be in our prayers!



California Lace Wigs & Weaves



Your One Stop Shop for Quality Lace Wigs,Weaves & Accessories

(866) 518-WIGS


Last response:


Hello Dana:

At this point, it appears you have made the decision to take NO responsibility for the decision you and your daughter made when making the purchase to double process.

You have the right to proceed however you see fit. All I ask is that you reveal facts. 

In terms of returning the unit, that is not necessary. 


Dana it's surprising to me that you call yourself a Naturalist but fail to understand the effects of process and color on human hair. All humans have unique hair and some hair takes well to processes and others don't, it's a chance you take with all human hair. 

Like I said before, the best way to get longevity and easy maintenance is to keep the hair in its virgin and natural state. You know that, the Naturalist Movement! Quite shocking that you have overlooked this when purchasing a human hair wig. Human hair in no manner can be compared to synthetic.


Best wishes, no hard feeling and again hope this information will better equip you and your daughter with her next purchase.    



California Lace Wigs & Weaves



Your One Stop Shop for Quality Lace Wigs, Weaves & Accessories

(866) 518-WIGS



They're response was to wash and condition, which we did.  Now yet he wig is unusable.  I have pix to prove that too. They never once tried to work with me to come to a mutual resolution.  


Respond to this report!

#9 REBUTTAL Owner of company

California Lace Wigs & Weaves Reply

AUTHOR: California Lace Wigs & Weaves - ()

At CLWW we appreciate each and every customer and handle all complaints on a case-by-case bases. We strive for excellence and satisfaction and stand behind our product 100%. We have a remarkable online reputation as a trusted and reliable source for quality products. We sell ONLY 100% human hair (no synthetic or man made fibers) guaranteed. You can find both processed and virgin hair textures and a variety of colors at our online store. We give our customers the freedom of choice, but with that freedom we have expectations of our customers. We ask that they shop wisely and make informed purchasing decisions based on knowledge of hair textures, processes, what's safe and what can cause damage. By knowing how to protect your investment you will save alot time and money.

The customer who posted the review below chose to custom order. She selected a processed texture and color. Ultimately stating the hair tangled and became problematic.

Customer selected these options for her custom wig:

1. Curly/wavy processed hair (no longer in its virgin state)

2. Colored hair (not recommended with a processed texture ie: curly/wavy)

3. Medium to Heavy density (realistic/average is light to medium)

4. Glueless cap (cap construction is very different compared to a Full/Front lace wig)

Double processing means adding texture and color, which changes the integrity of any virgin hair. Imagine getting a straight relaxer or curly perm and adding color, this is a combo that makes human hair very delicate. It does not mean the hair is damaged or ruined, it only means you will need to handle the hair with extreme care. Double processed hair should never be routinely styled with heating tools. Excessive heat can be damaging. If this hair is not cared for properly, breakage, tangling and matting is likely to occur. Each wig comes with basic care instruction and maintaining the wig is the sole responsibility of the customer.

When the customer received her wig she was ecstatic, she sent photos and stated she loved the hair quality. We did notice on the photos the hair was no longer curly/wavy it was straight, which lead us to believe the hair had been straightened with some sort of heating tool. When the customer contacted us with her complaint, we listened and evaluated her concerns and offered a resolution. We even emailed her additional care instructions with details on how to further maintain and revive the wig. We also gave her valuable information and recommendations that she could use for the unit she has, and alternative options that would be far less stressful on the hair for future purchases.

Unfortunately this customers experience with our company was not as pleasant as it should have been, and we did apologize. We do take responsibility for not having the DOUBLE PROCESS warning posted on the order form and will create a section to include that information on our new website, which will launch soon.

At CLWW we care how our customers feel. We answer all complaints and offer fair resolutions. We will continue to provide a top quality product while striving for excellence and customer satisfaction. 

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.