• Report: #1049753
Complaint Review:

Cellect Repair

  • Submitted: Thu, May 09, 2013
  • Updated: Thu, May 09, 2013

  • Reported By: Jay E — Hopkins Minnesota
Cellect Repair
14000 Sunfish Lake Blvd Anoka, Minnesota USA


*Author of original report: Thank you for taking the time to write this

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: No Excuse

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I brought my Samsung S3 to Andrew, the "owner" of the company to get my phone fixed for a broken screen.  When I got it back there were dead spots on the screen and it never worked.  I called to get my phone fixed because he has a "warranty" he gave me the run around.  I went to another repair store and when they opened it up it was a NIGHTMARE inside.  They asked me if I tried to fix it myself.  When I said No, Cellect Repair did it.

More than 1 person in the office got a chuckle out of that.  They said they've received plenty of work from Cellect Repairs mishaps.  I can say I am not shocked.  I tried numerous times to call Andrew to fix my phone but he never picked up.  So I called from a blocked phone and he picked up and when I said it was me he put me on hold and never came back. I waited for 30 minutes. Called back and he never answered.  

On top of that, there was empty beer bottles and literaly a dozen pill bottles on his desk and the kid couldn't stop moving his legs.  In hindsight, I guess that should have been the first red flag.  All i can say is beware of this shady individual.  I also found another person ripped off by this guy posted on this site


Apparently I'm not the only one.  Hopefully this will bring the rest of the people he scammed out to voice their experiences.  

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/09/2013 07:46 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/cellect-repair/anoka-minnesota-55303/cellect-repair-incompetent-work-beer-bottles-and-pill-bottles-everywhere-anoka-minneso-1049753. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Cellect Repair

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 0Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Thank you for taking the time to write this

AUTHOR: Jay Elder - ()

While I don't condone or agree with the situation you left me in, I do appreciate you writing the lenghty response you did.  You seem to put all the blame on a third or fourth party though.  While I don't know your business partnership nor care about it. You did pretty much own up to everything.  I don't want a new phone.  I just would prefer not to use you again.  Maybe things have changed, maybe they haven't.  Either way, let this work as a lesson on how to treat your customers and run a business. 


I too own a business and I lost everything due to a sour business relationship.  I can assure you, the one thing that kept my customers coming back, was ME.  Not me blaming my partner for his decisions, but me making them right.  Was it fair?  No.  Did my customers refer more people to me and trust me more for not having an excuse other than “I dropped the ball”?  Yes.  By me not throwing someone else under the bus, my clients respected me for making the choice to drive on and make things right even through it literally bankrupted me before I got back in the black.  Just some food for thought.  The world is full of people out there who will wrong you.  It’s not getting better anytime soon.  Carrying around some weight on your back to dump off on each client as an excuse, will only hurt you in the long run.  If you truly have changed and made it through your bad partnership, then focus on that.


I won’t pretend to know or understand your situation. But it took you over a year and a half just to respond to my complaint and only so because you dropped your old business name and filed a new one.  Had I never made this claim on your new business, you would have continued to ignore me as you had for so long.  So again, I appreciate your time and effort put into your response.  However, in my honest opinion, I just feel you only wrote it to defend your new business name in hopes of not being linked to your past.  I’ve read and re read your rebuttal, and the more I do the more I just see an excuse. You didn’t say you were the reason.  You said your partners actions were the reason.  This is your company, correct?  Sounds like your partner isn’t involved anymore? So when a situation like this arises in the future, own up and take responsibility for what you did wrong.  Choose your partners wisely, and even if you get a bad partner, you can still run a successful business by making the right decisions and taking responsibility for the actions of YOUR Company.  Nothing will earn you more respect amongst your customers than that.


I hope you have changed and I hope your new company runs a lot different.  However, like I said, I feel the only reason you wrote this is because you’re trying to maintain on your new business in hopes of blocking out your old business and placing the blame of your repairs on your partner.  Like I said my architectural firm almost went insolvent because of a bad business partnership.  I kept all of my clients and his as well due to my swallowing the pill and taking on the blame of my company.  I wrote him off and I don’t even mention him when clients would ask.  I say things like, “You know, I haven’t heard from John Doe in ages, hope he is doing well”.  (I don’t always use that, just an example) You realize how much credit that warrants me with my customers?  The problem is when you start blaming someone else for your problems, your clients think, hmmm, this could happen again.  When you own up to it and make it right on your own, they think instead, this is a stand-up guy. 


In closing, I hope you truly have changed your business ways.  I hope you’re able to do right by your customers this time around.  I just have to keep my side in knowing that had you not started a new company, you would have never wrote this rebuttal. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 REBUTTAL Owner of company

No Excuse

AUTHOR: Andrew Moore - ()

I want to start off by apologizing for having not answered your callbacks. I am very hurt by the things you have stated about me. I had trouble with your particular repair, and I will make it right for you if you give me the opportunity. I realize this is almost a year after our initial encounter but I will do whatever I need to do to to ensure that you, and anyone else who is considering my services understands this situation and my company's ethics in its genuine entirety.

The part I had purchased for your galaxy S3 was not the correct frame. I had done my best to try and get it working by attempting to make room for the differently shaped hardware. Each of the Galaxy S3 Displays through the carriers are identical. The difference with them is the molding inside the mid-housing. When they are purchased with the full frame which gives the device a factory finish so that the only thing from the old device, cosmetically speaking, is the back cover.

My reasoning for the attempt at making room for the different chip set instead of purchasing the correct part was to make the deadline I had originally quoted you. This is not meant to be an excuse. I cannot excuse myself from the lack of customer service you had experienced. I understand how it is to go without a phone for days at a time. I've been there. Since then, I am able to provide loaner devices when available, for customers now that I am more financially stable with the business after having been founded in 2012.

At the time of your repair, I was going through one of the biggest rough patches in my life after finding out my 'partner' had ulterior motives that were not in my favor whatsoever. It put me in a very big rut and the timing with your repair could not have been worse. My business at that time was in shambles because of this unfortunate event with this 'partnership' not working out and I was devastated. Everything I had worked hard for the last year at that time was lost. I felt completely helpless.

I want to stress that your attempt at contacting me after the repair was not intentionally ignored. I had to go on a hiatus from repairs while reorganizing everything business related. This was unprofessional of me. The office you had visited was in the process of being setup and things were just beginning to get organized and in place.

I work 10-16 hour days because I love what I do. This prevents me from having the typical social life most people in they're 20's hold close. Yes, on some evenings working late I like to have a beer while finishing invoice reconciliations with QuickBooks.

I have ADHD. Hence the pill bottles that were visible when you were present. I am not a drug addict, or a con-artist. When I can focus on hardware and printed circuit board rework for businesses accounts and consumers it calms me down and I am able to make sure I provide nothing short of the highest quality I am capable of. At that time, we were in the process of getting the lobby and waiting room setup since the recent move. In the meantime, we had our customers interactions in the actual repair room/shop. This lasted a couple of weeks.
I had originally started the business in a 100 square foot office located in Anoka. The 'partnership' that I regretfully obliged to led to getting a bigger office in Ramsey. When business locations change, Google erases reviews are not carried over. This is very unfortunate for me because I had many genuine reviews that a great impact on generating future business and was very upset when they did not transfer.

The business name and entity was changed because of the connection with my former 'partner' to ensure all connections had been discontinued. Since then I have moved back to my original office space in Anoka and have been in full operation again since Aug of 2012. Another Hiatus was taken from December 1st 2013 to June 2nd 2014 when I was employed by a networking hardware distributor to organize and start a networking hardware repair center. Past customers were serviced when needed during this time and were not neglected. This was a good opportunity for me to learn more about PCB rework and I still maintain a positive relationship with that company after our contract was complete. They still batch out repairs through my new company.

I strongly urge those reading this and considering my services to look at the list of recommendations from real professionals, executives and CEO's on my personal linkedIn profile that can be viewed at linkedin.com/in/mooreandrewjames - This feedback had been collected since I began my career in the wireless industry in 2006 and cannot be faked, altered or fabricated. More feedback can be found on my companies facebook page - facebook.com/cellectronix, Yelp and Google.

One of the most difficult things to explain to any customer is that with these small electronic devices, it is not uncommon for warranty repairs to be executed regardless of the technicians skill set. I have and will continue to provide full servicing of devices I have worked on in the even beyond my stated warranty period to maintain customer satisfaction. It is unfortunate when something goes wrong with a repair. Excluding your situation which happened at the wrong time, I have never done anything short of everything I can possibly do to make things work and keep my new and repeat customers satisfied. In extremely rare situations (once or twice per year) customer's devices have been replaced with a new product at my expense. Its just the nature of the industry and will always be there.

I have done my best to write this reply without making it seem like and excuse. It is not meant to be. This cannot be excused.

I realize it is not proper to publicly offer something to a negative reviewer but I want to make sure you fully understand my legitimate apologies and would not otherwise expect you to contact me after the fact. If you decide to accept my offer to make things right, I will provide you with a new in-box Android or iPhone of your choice for reparation. You may contact me personally through email, phone or mail. All of my contact information is publicly available on my website. I hope you accept this.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?