Report: #1383074

Complaint Review: Crystal Bay Caterers

  • Submitted: Tue, July 04, 2017
  • Updated: Tue, July 04, 2017
  • Reported By: Riley — Palm Coast Florida Palm Coast
  • Crystal Bay Caterers
    1728 Avenida Del Sol
    Boca Raton, Florida
    USA

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I have had dealings with this company in the past, and have seen the prep area before and watched the proprietor in action; having had hospitality experience myself, I found the conditions concerning back then, so much so I warned a company in South Florida that I had a relationship with of my concerns, (this included some other past records I found on credit worthiness) 

To be fair to this company, that has been over a decade ago.  However, when I came across the below report in the Tallahassee Democrat (http://data.tallahassee.com/restaurant-inspections/palm-beach/crystal-bay-caterers/cat6013815/3094917/) I was not surprised at all to see nothing has changed - especially the violation Employee touching ready-to-eat food with their bare hands without first washing his hands (I will not tell you where his hands were before he touch the food, but to say it was not a clean and sanitary place would an understatement). Below is a cut a paste of the posting I found, in case the URL is removed or changed. The only real surprise here is why such companies are still in business. Hopefully shining the additional light to such practices will help getting such companies to clean up their act or go out of business before someone really gets sick from food poisoning and dies.

 

*Click inspection disposition to see detail report.
 DateDispositionNumber of Violations
Feb. 24, 2017 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
5
Inspector's Note
  • 38-07-4
  • Basic - Lights in food preparation, food storage or warewashing area missing the proper shield, sleeve coatings or covers in the dry food and equipment storage room.
  • 36-47-5
  • Basic - Observed Hood and hood filters are soiled with accumulated grease. **Repeat Violation**
  • 08B-45-4
  • Basic - Observed multiple containers of packaged and bottled foods stored on floor in walk-in cooler under shelving.
  • 29-03-4
  • Basic - Observed water dripping from walk in cooler ceiling onto the floor.
  • 02C-02-4
  • Intermediate - Ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food prepared onsite and held more than 24 hours not properly date marked. Observed multiple prepared foods prepped more than 24 hours in walk in cooler. Did not observe any date marking in use.
 
CountViolation
1 + Original container: properly labeled, date marking, consumer advisory
1 + Food protection, cross-contamination
1 * Plumbing installed and maintained; mop sink; water filters; backflow prevention
1 Floors, walls, ceilings and attached equipment properly constructed and clean; rooms and equipment properly vented
1 Lighting provided as required; fixtures shielded or bulbs protected
May 12, 2016 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
1
May 12, 2016 Call Back - Complied 0
Inspector's Note
  • 36-47-5
  • Basic - Hood soiled with accumulated grease.
 
CountViolation
1 Floors, walls, ceilings and attached equipment properly constructed and clean; rooms and equipment properly vented
March 31, 2016 Call Back - Extension given, pending
(Follow-up Inspection Required)
1
Inspector's Note
  • 53A-03-5
  • Intermediate - - From inspection on 2016-01-08: Intermediate - Food manager certification expired. A list of accredited food manager certification examination providers can be found at http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/hr/food-lodging/managercertification.html. **Warning** - From follow-up inspection on 2016-03-31: **Time Extended**
 
CountViolation
1 + Food management certification valid / Employee training verification
Jan. 8, 2016 Warning Issued 3
Inspector's Note
CountViolation
1 + Handwash sinks, handwashing supplies and handwash sign
1 + Food management certification valid / Employee training verification
1 Floors, walls, ceilings and attached equipment properly constructed and clean; rooms and equipment properly vented
May 6, 2015 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
2
Inspector's Note
  • 31B-04-4
  • Basic - No handwashing sign provided at a hand sink used by food employees.
  • 22-22-4
  • Intermediate - Encrusted material on can opener blade.
 
CountViolation
1 + Food-contact surfaces clean and sanitized
1 + Handwash sinks, handwashing supplies and handwash sign
Feb. 11, 2015 Call Back - Complied 0
Dec. 3, 2014 Warning Issued
(Follow-up Inspection Required)
4
Inspector's Note
  • 13-03-4
  • Basic - Employee with no hair restraint while engaging in food preparation. **Warning**
  • 50-06-4
  • High Priority - License expired within 30 days after expiration date, Expired Dec. 1 2014. **Warning**
  • 12A-16-4
  • High Priority - Employee began working with food, handling clean equipment or utensils, or touching unwrapped single-service items without first washing hands, employee answer phone then failed to wash hands continued cutting strawberries. **Corrected On-Site** **Warning**
  • 09-01-4
  • High Priority - Employee touching ready-to-eat food with their bare hands - food was not being heated as a sole ingredient to 145 degrees F or immediately added to other ingredients to be cooked/heated to the minimum required temperature to allow bare hand contact. Establishment has no approved Alternative Operating Procedure, slicing ham, cutting strawberries. **Corrected On-Site** **Warning**
 
CountViolation
1 + Bare hand contact with RTE food; Alternative Operating Procedure (AOP)
1 + Hands washed and clean, good hygienic practices, eating / drinking / smoking
1 * Current license properly displayed
1 Clean clothes; hair restraints; jewelry; painted / artificial fingernails
Aug. 28, 2013 Admin. Complaint Callback Complied 0
Aug. 28, 2013 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
1
Inspector's Note
  • 41-17-4
  • Intermediate - Spray bottle containing toxic substance not labeled.
 
CountViolation
1 + Chemicals / toxic substances
April 12, 2013 Administrative complaint recommended
(Follow-up Inspection Required)


$200 of fine ordered on June 12, 2013 for 1 violation.
11
Inspector's Note
  • 05-09-4
  • Basic - No conspicuously located ambient air temperature thermometer in holding unit.....beverage air cooler.
  • 03A-02-4
  • High Priority - Potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food cold held at greater than 41 degrees Fahrenheit......whipped butter 51?, butter ball , chicken stock, sour cream 52? in beverage air cooler in. Kitchen. Stop sale issued. **Admin Complaint** **Corrected On-Site** **Repeat Violation**
  • 08A-10-4
  • High Priority - Raw animal food stored over ready-to-eat food in reach-in cooler.....raw eggs above chicken stock in beverage air cooler. **Corrected On-Site**
  • 01B-02-4
  • High Priority - Stop Sale issued on potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food due to temperature abuse.
  • 41-09-4
  • High Priority - Toxic substance/chemical stored in food preparation area with potential to cause cross contamination....all purpose cleaner spray bottle in preperation wood table in kitchen. **Corrected On-Site**
  • 04-01-4
  • Intermediate - Cold holding equipment incapable of maintaining potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food at proper temperatures. Do not store potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food in this unit until the unit is capable of maintaining foods at 41 degrees Fahrenheit or colder. .....beverage air cooler in kitchen . Must not have stored any potentially hazardous food until maintain at proper temperature . **Admin Complaint** **Repeat Violation**
  • 22-22-4
  • Intermediate - Encrusted material on can opener blade.
  • 22-27-4
  • Intermediate - Food-contact surfaces encrusted with grease and/or soil deposits.....small grille by stove.
  • 31A-09-4
  • Intermediate - Handwash sink not accessible for employee use at all times.....stored pan in handwashing sink, kitchen. **Corrected On-Site**
  • 31B-02-4
  • Intermediate - No paper towels or mechanical hand drying device provided at handwash sink....kitchen **Corrected On-Site** **Repeat Violation**
  • 31B-03-4
  • Intermediate - No soap provided at handwash sink. **Corrected On-Site** **Repeat Violation**
 
CountViolation
1 + Approved source
1 + Time and Temperature Control - potentially hazardous / time / temperature control for safety foods (PH / TCS)
1 + Food protection, cross-contamination
2 + Food-contact surfaces clean and sanitized
3 + Handwash sinks, handwashing supplies and handwash sign
1 + Chemicals / toxic substances
1 * Facilities to maintain PH / TCS at the proper temperature
1 * Food and food equipment thermometers provided and accurate
Nov. 8, 2012 Inspection Completed - No Further Action 7
Inspector's Note
  • 32-16-1
  • Critical - Hand wash sink lacking proper hand drying provisions..... by 3 compartment sink. (out of paper towel ) Repeat Violation.
  • 32-15-1
  • Critical - No handwashing sign provided at a handsink used by food employees.....by 3 compartment sink. Corrected On Site. Repeat Violation.
  • 01B-25-1
  • Critical - Observed food with mold-like growth......yogurt in walk in cooler . Corrected On Site. discarded food.
  • 02-07-1
  • Critical - Observed processed ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food held more than 24 hours not properly date marked after opening.....yogurt in walk in cooler . Corrected On Site...volentrially discarded food. Repeat Violation.
  • 08A-26-1
  • Critical - Observed raw animal food stored over ready-to-eat food......raw fish, raw chicken above ready to eat bread, pasta in reach in freezer . Corrected On Site. Repeat Violation.
  • 08A-24-1
  • Critical - Observed raw animal foods not properly separated from each other in holding uni....raw chicken , raw fish with pasta, bread in reach in freezer . Corrected On Site.
  • 02-13-2
  • Critical - Required consumer advisory for raw/undercooked animal food not provided. Corrected On Site.
 
CountViolation
1 + Approved source
2 + Original container: properly labeled, date marking, consumer advisory
2 + Food protection, cross-contamination
2 Bathrooms

Disclaimer: These records are sanitation and safety inspections conducted by the Division of Hotels and Restaurants on public food service establishments. Each inspection report is a "snapshot" of conditions present at the time of the inspection. On any given day, an establishment may have fewer or more violations than noted in their most recent inspection. An inspection conducted on any given day may not be representative of the overall, long-term conditions at the establishment. Information is updated weekly or you can search for the most recent records for a particular establishment using the DBPR Online Services.

Search

Crystal Bay Caterers

1728 Avenida Del Sol, Boca Raton (Palm Beach County)

  • District: Region 2
  • License Type: Catering
  • Business: CRYSTAL BAY CATERERS
      1728 Avenida Del Sol, Boca Raton (Palm Beach county), FL, 33432.
  • License Number: CAT6013815
 

Inspection Results & Disciplinary Actions

*Click inspection disposition to see detail report.
 DateDispositionNumber of Violations
Feb. 24, 2017 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
5
Inspector's Note
  • 38-07-4
  • Basic - Lights in food preparation, food storage or warewashing area missing the proper shield, sleeve coatings or covers in the dry food and equipment storage room.
  • 36-47-5
  • Basic - Observed Hood and hood filters are soiled with accumulated grease. **Repeat Violation**
  • 08B-45-4
  • Basic - Observed multiple containers of packaged and bottled foods stored on floor in walk-in cooler under shelving.
  • 29-03-4
  • Basic - Observed water dripping from walk in cooler ceiling onto the floor.
  • 02C-02-4
  • Intermediate - Ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food prepared onsite and held more than 24 hours not properly date marked. Observed multiple prepared foods prepped more than 24 hours in walk in cooler. Did not observe any date marking in use.
 
CountViolation
1 + Original container: properly labeled, date marking, consumer advisory
1 + Food protection, cross-contamination
1 * Plumbing installed and maintained; mop sink; water filters; backflow prevention
1 Floors, walls, ceilings and attached equipment properly constructed and clean; rooms and equipment properly vented
1 Lighting provided as required; fixtures shielded or bulbs protected
May 12, 2016 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
1
May 12, 2016 Call Back - Complied 0
Inspector's Note
  • 36-47-5
  • Basic - Hood soiled with accumulated grease.
 
CountViolation
1 Floors, walls, ceilings and attached equipment properly constructed and clean; rooms and equipment properly vented
March 31, 2016 Call Back - Extension given, pending
(Follow-up Inspection Required)
1
Inspector's Note
  • 53A-03-5
  • Intermediate - - From inspection on 2016-01-08: Intermediate - Food manager certification expired. A list of accredited food manager certification examination providers can be found at http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/hr/food-lodging/managercertification.html. **Warning** - From follow-up inspection on 2016-03-31: **Time Extended**
 
CountViolation
1 + Food management certification valid / Employee training verification
Jan. 8, 2016 Warning Issued 3
Inspector's Note
CountViolation
1 + Handwash sinks, handwashing supplies and handwash sign
1 + Food management certification valid / Employee training verification
1 Floors, walls, ceilings and attached equipment properly constructed and clean; rooms and equipment properly vented
May 6, 2015 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
2
Inspector's Note
  • 31B-04-4
  • Basic - No handwashing sign provided at a hand sink used by food employees.
  • 22-22-4
  • Intermediate - Encrusted material on can opener blade.
 
CountViolation
1 + Food-contact surfaces clean and sanitized
1 + Handwash sinks, handwashing supplies and handwash sign
Feb. 11, 2015 Call Back - Complied 0
Dec. 3, 2014 Warning Issued
(Follow-up Inspection Required)
4
Inspector's Note
  • 13-03-4
  • Basic - Employee with no hair restraint while engaging in food preparation. **Warning**
  • 50-06-4
  • High Priority - License expired within 30 days after expiration date, Expired Dec. 1 2014. **Warning**
  • 12A-16-4
  • High Priority - Employee began working with food, handling clean equipment or utensils, or touching unwrapped single-service items without first washing hands, employee answer phone then failed to wash hands continued cutting strawberries. **Corrected On-Site** **Warning**
  • 09-01-4
  • High Priority - Employee touching ready-to-eat food with their bare hands - food was not being heated as a sole ingredient to 145 degrees F or immediately added to other ingredients to be cooked/heated to the minimum required temperature to allow bare hand contact. Establishment has no approved Alternative Operating Procedure, slicing ham, cutting strawberries. **Corrected On-Site** **Warning**
 
CountViolation
1 + Bare hand contact with RTE food; Alternative Operating Procedure (AOP)
1 + Hands washed and clean, good hygienic practices, eating / drinking / smoking
1 * Current license properly displayed
1 Clean clothes; hair restraints; jewelry; painted / artificial fingernails
Aug. 28, 2013 Admin. Complaint Callback Complied 0
Aug. 28, 2013 Inspection Completed - No Further Action
(Met Inspection Standards)
1
Inspector's Note
  • 41-17-4
  • Intermediate - Spray bottle containing toxic substance not labeled.
 
CountViolation
1 + Chemicals / toxic substances
April 12, 2013 Administrative complaint recommended
(Follow-up Inspection Required)


$200 of fine ordered on June 12, 2013 for 1 violation.
11
Inspector's Note
  • 05-09-4
  • Basic - No conspicuously located ambient air temperature thermometer in holding unit.....beverage air cooler.
  • 03A-02-4
  • High Priority - Potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food cold held at greater than 41 degrees Fahrenheit......whipped butter 51?, butter ball , chicken stock, sour cream 52? in beverage air cooler in. Kitchen. Stop sale issued. **Admin Complaint** **Corrected On-Site** **Repeat Violation**
  • 08A-10-4
  • High Priority - Raw animal food stored over ready-to-eat food in reach-in cooler.....raw eggs above chicken stock in beverage air cooler. **Corrected On-Site**
  • 01B-02-4
  • High Priority - Stop Sale issued on potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food due to temperature abuse.
  • 41-09-4
  • High Priority - Toxic substance/chemical stored in food preparation area with potential to cause cross contamination....all purpose cleaner spray bottle in preperation wood table in kitchen. **Corrected On-Site**
  • 04-01-4
  • Intermediate - Cold holding equipment incapable of maintaining potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food at proper temperatures. Do not store potentially hazardous (time/temperature control for safety) food in this unit until the unit is capable of maintaining foods at 41 degrees Fahrenheit or colder. .....beverage air cooler in kitchen . Must not have stored any potentially hazardous food until maintain at proper temperature . **Admin Complaint** **Repeat Violation**
  • 22-22-4
  • Intermediate - Encrusted material on can opener blade.
  • 22-27-4
  • Intermediate - Food-contact surfaces encrusted with grease and/or soil deposits.....small grille by stove.
  • 31A-09-4
  • Intermediate - Handwash sink not accessible for employee use at all times.....stored pan in handwashing sink, kitchen. **Corrected On-Site**
  • 31B-02-4
  • Intermediate - No paper towels or mechanical hand drying device provided at handwash sink....kitchen **Corrected On-Site** **Repeat Violation**
  • 31B-03-4
  • Intermediate - No soap provided at handwash sink. **Corrected On-Site** **Repeat Violation**
 
CountViolation
1 + Approved source
1 + Time and Temperature Control - potentially hazardous / time / temperature control for safety foods (PH / TCS)
1 + Food protection, cross-contamination
2 + Food-contact surfaces clean and sanitized
3 + Handwash sinks, handwashing supplies and handwash sign
1 + Chemicals / toxic substances
1 * Facilities to maintain PH / TCS at the proper temperature
1 * Food and food equipment thermometers provided and accurate
Nov. 8, 2012 Inspection Completed - No Further Action 7
Inspector's Note
  • 32-16-1
  • Critical - Hand wash sink lacking proper hand drying provisions..... by 3 compartment sink. (out of paper towel ) Repeat Violation.
  • 32-15-1
  • Critical - No handwashing sign provided at a handsink used by food employees.....by 3 compartment sink. Corrected On Site. Repeat Violation.
  • 01B-25-1
  • Critical - Observed food with mold-like growth......yogurt in walk in cooler . Corrected On Site. discarded food.
  • 02-07-1
  • Critical - Observed processed ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food held more than 24 hours not properly date marked after opening.....yogurt in walk in cooler . Corrected On Site...volentrially discarded food. Repeat Violation.
  • 08A-26-1
  • Critical - Observed raw animal food stored over ready-to-eat food......raw fish, raw chicken above ready to eat bread, pasta in reach in freezer . Corrected On Site. Repeat Violation.
  • 08A-24-1
  • Critical - Observed raw animal foods not properly separated from each other in holding uni....raw chicken , raw fish with pasta, bread in reach in freezer . Corrected On Site.
  • 02-13-2
  • Critical - Required consumer advisory for raw/undercooked animal food not provided. Corrected On Site.
 
CountViolation
1 + Approved source
2 + Original container: properly labeled, date marking, consumer advisory
2 + Food protection, cross-contamination
2 Bathrooms



Disclaimer: These records are sanitation and safety inspections conducted by the Division of Hotels and Restaurants on public food service establishments. Each inspection report is a "snapshot" of conditions present at the time of the inspection. On any given day, an establishment may have fewer or more violations than noted in their most recent inspection. An inspection conducted on any given day may not be representative of the overall, long-term conditions at the establishment. Information is updated weekly or you can search for the most recent records for a particular establishment using the DBPR Online Services.
 
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/04/2017 11:20 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/crystal-bay-caterers/boca-raton-florida-33432/crystal-bay-caterers-sam-lopiccolo-catering-concerning-health-inspection-report-consist-1383074. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals

REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
7Author
0Consumer
0Employee/Owner

#1 Author of original report

University of Alabama Department of Health Services Administration / Managers, HR and Compliance Office just made things worse

AUTHOR: - (United States)

Good News and Bad News

Good News

It was found that the person of interest at the University Of Alabama Department Of Health Services Administration was not the person harassing my wife over this report.  It appears it was the Owner of Ancomp that was making the phone calls – and we have definite evidence the Owner of Crystal Bay Catering was sending the emails. 

Bad News

An involved manager, HR or a Compliance Staff member of the University Of Alabama Department Of Health Services Administration never responded to the person who submitted the complaint.  What they did is share their report to the owner of Crystal Bay Catering; The report findings including my (I) my friend’s email and phone number.

Sam with Crystal Bay Catering shared me the actions the University of Alabama Department of Health Services Administration Compliance & HR office took (one of the emails he sent me, along with some colorfull insults and legal threats).  Except for the fact I was getting it from him, not directly from the University – I was very impressed.  I thought the University had blown me off, but it is clear from the facts that Crystal Bay Catering shared with me, the University did a competent follow up job.

I guess since I said this person "May" have done this act, and it turned out they did not - they wanted to get even with me for wasting their time? or perhaps this person is very popular  - she does work for the Chair, UAB Department of Health Services Administration and the one email I got, they seem like personal friends. 

I will note, we offered an interview with the victim of harassment, they never followed up to this offer. But they did follow up with Crystal Bay Catering to make it even easier for them to try to make me take down this posting via harassment.

 

Moral of Story

If you think the is an ethics violation at the University Of Alabama Department, do not call their Compliance Office, involve management or HR

1) they will not respond to you

2) they will give your personal information to the person you filed the complaint over so they can retaliate against you.

I know this because they just did it to me

 

Respond to this report!

#2 Author of original report

Now owner harressing wife himself with emails

AUTHOR: - (United States)

Quick update

The owner of Crystal Bay finally responded, not to the Rip Off report, not to my friend that he believes posted this complaint – but to my friend’s wife. The wife's response - and I do not have a copy in front of me, so I am doing this from memory "Question: Instead of emailing me, why don't you man up and call my husband?"

It was a hilarious three page diatribe. I am not going to post it, but encourage Crystal Bay Catering owner to use his email - his own words (please just remove all wife’s names – redact the report so that no one but the direct parties involved are dragged into this, what should be, a business complaint) this report is against a catering company. this is a public advisory over a know health / sanitation issue that has already been published in the newspaper.

But please, please, please - post it – no one will believe it if we posed it ourselves, I swear you cannot make this stuff up

Some highlights

How did we get this court data that is outline in this report – my fried did not get it online, as a public record; My friend, who did worked for Equifax at one time, hacked the Equifax database.  This is not this year’s hack, but a hack that was done 25 years ago, but it was never discovered (or Equifax never told anyone, and kept the employee on for over 4 more years.)

He also believes my friend can time travel.  The ground zero incident that started all this (mentioned latter in this report)  - This tread opening line about warning given to companies about professional background of this company and provding court records as backup. Sam LoPiccolo says that happened 25 years ago – around 1992.  My friend did not start working at Equifax until 2005.

Why is he and his associates/friends making harassing phone calls to my wife at work?  She is a manager that works for a major financial company and he is afraid my friend has now hack that system and would block their emails – and he was concern my friend has or will hack that system and get more harmful information on him and post it.  Why he did this follow up by email if he believes it is true? You would have to ask him.  If you do, please make sure he was wearing his tin foil hat as added protection from my firend

He did acknowledge he knows the additional emotional component / motivation of these consumer reports - to be fair, it is not just food safety, but it is highly inflammatory and the evidence is a “he said she said he said” thing – so we decided to not publish it.  The only hint I can give is to reference Harvey Weinstein.

What was the owner of Crystal Bay Catering following up to the above? This person needs to “get over it”. 

To the University of Alabama Department Of Health Services Administration – Compliance Office and HR office –the wife’s husband is in direct contact with the University.  Subject email was given to the HR department and the email is now blocked on a company level.  If this lady gets another threatening/harassing phone call, the email will be used by this company to address with additional action to protect her. Protect her from a business owner trying to stop consumer reports / bulletin warnings to companies and consumers about established health violations of a certain company

If the Alabama Department Of Health Services Administration HR or compliance office requires a copy for their investigation (or again, testimony on why we reported this case to them) please just email my friend directly and he will give you a name and contact number of their HR department to make the arrangements.

Respond to this report!

#3 Author of original report

University of Alabama Department of Health Services Administration now involved

AUTHOR: Justice - (United States)

University of Alabama Department of Health Services Administration now involved
uab . edu / shp / hsa /


It appears that a person of interest regarding this new harassment charge is an employee of the University of Alabama Department Of Health Services Administration. An official complaint has been forwarded to the University of Compliance Office with the evidence that has been gather so far. The wife that was subject to said harassment has also volunteered to be interviewed over the phone, on the record, on what was said in the harassment call – particularly what the caller had said that has directed us to this University of Alabama / Health Services Administration person of interest.

uab . edu / compliance/

We did receive an email to a previous email that was sent to just the person of interest and their supervisor, we contacted them first to see if they could address this issue quickly and quietly – not have to escalate - by having them simply state NO, they did not engage in said harassment or know who did engage in said harassment – or provide us what information they did have to help address this lapse of ethics and law.


This University of Alabama Department Of Health Services women - person of interest - did not deny the charge, but said “I am glad to explain on Monday”. That email response was on Saturday, as of this time, no other response has been received from staff members of Alabama Department of Health Services Administration


We have advised the University of Alabama Compliance Office that they have until the end of 11/10 to show they honor their online promise


“UAB welcomes information about instances in which ethical standards may not have been upheld so that the institution can do the right thing by correcting deficient past practices and improving processes moving forward.”

Respond to this report!

#4 Author of original report

Agent of Crystal Bay Catering now making threating phone calls to friends and family

AUTHOR: Wick - (United States)

I would encourage companies in Boca Raton that use Crystal Bay Catering as a preferred vendor, like ANCOMP DMC, Kaye Communications or Saffer & Company – to take a step back, take a breath, read the below and this complaint – the facts -


- especially if you are the one that called my friend’s wife and threated them today -  and instead of making anonymous threating phone calls, just respond to this web site and address the facts as a professional company should. If I am lying, just respond and state it with proof – do not go trying to find out who posted it and threaten their family, it is acting like a criminal - like a wife beater charged with Domestic Violence charge or something.


My friend’s wife just got an anonymous, threating phone call at her place of employment claiming that her husband was this company’s owner (but she would not give her name, so we honestly are not sure it was this company’s wife, or a friend or family member - but they themselves made it clear they were closely involved with this Crystal Bay Catering and this complaint).  This anonymous caller seem to think that my friend had filed this complaint.  It was weird in that if this person was so sure my friend was the one that filed this complaint, why did they not just call my friend directly - why call his wife?


 … anyway this  anonymous, threating phone caller said that I (or my friend) use to be related to her family, which is also really weird in that my relationship with Crystal Bay Catering – as far as this complaint, is business related only.  I think intimidation to suppress the truth, not a valid and professional company business person following up to an misunderstanding, was the motivation.


This anonymous female caller went on to say that this report was “slanderous” – which is interesting because this complaint is just reiterating State of Florida records – the same data that the Tallahassee Democrat posts online as well (I wonder if she made an anonymous threating phone call to the newpaper editorial board or the State Department of Health ;)


Obviously I am distributed by this individual is trying to bully my friends with anonymous threating phone calls – that is not the behavior a professional company, but more of a thug that knows he or she is guilty. If proof was needed about this company’s lacked of professional, this is just another example.  I would also say that threatening my friends will just embolden me more by sharing these facts to the public - especially since it is clear that Crystal Bay Catering or their preferred vendors are afraid to confront me directly - either on this web site, or calling me (but please, make sure you call the right person this time ;)


And please remember, it is only slander if it is not true. Right now, the only law that may have been broken, is that someone with involved in this organization (by their own admission)  made a threating phone call to an incident bystander over a valid consumer complaint.
Again - this company wants to claim the above is untrue, just respond to this site - they will post what you say. Act professional, or do not complain when someone files a complaint that you are not.

Respond to this report!

#5 Author of original report

HealthCodeViolation.com lists Crystal Bay as one of the worse food servicers in Boca Raton

AUTHOR: - ()

HealthCodeViolation.com lists 281 restaurants and catering companies in Boca Raton.

  • 224 have Zero violations, 80 %
  • Crystal Bay Catering has 11, which is a worse score than 246 other food service companies in Boca.
  • Crystal Bay Catering has a worse health inspection score than 88 % of all the Boca Raton food services. If this was a test on a Bell Curve, Crystal Catering would get a “-D” .from a generous teacher.

Crystal Bay Catering is in the same percentile as

  • SILVER SAC CATERING
  • MOBILE CUBAN CAFETERIA LLC
  • PAPA JOHN'S PIZZA NO477

So if you are looking for a catering company in Boca, and your preferred food taste and safety threshold is equal to a bad Papa John’s Pizza meal – Crystal Bay Catering is probably okay for you (assuming you paid Papa John’s prices).

Otherwise you might want to consider the below for your next catering event – these all got zero violations:

  • CHEFS CREATIONS CATERING (web site is on FaceBook)
  • MORAN'S CATERING (I think they have changed their name to VIP Catering)

A fall back would be PARTY CHEF CATERING SERVICE, they only have 7 violations – that is about 40 % better than Crystal Bay Catering

Respond to this report!

#6 Author of original report

Other Crimes and Misdemeanors of Crystal Bay Caterers

AUTHOR: - ()

Sam – I owe you an apology, I broke my own rule and did not back up my accusations with facts.  I said I had reported your business for financial worthiness issues (nice way to say you were ripping off your vendors) 10 years ago with.  The facts can be found on web site of the Clerk and Comptroller, Palm Beach County – below is the url

applications.mypalmbeachclerk.com/eCaseView/search.aspx

The court cases I tried to warn certain companies about are cut and pasted below

50-1988-CA-002136-CDAN-MB / Circuit Civil / CONTRACT & DEBT / 03/07/1988

DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT: LOPICCOLO, SALVATORE

Plaintiff: FREEDOM SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATION

 

50-1994-CC-005539-CVRJ-MB / County Civil / CIVIL (COUNTY CIVIL) / 04/06/1994

DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT: CRYSTAL BAY CATERERS CORP / LOPICCOLO, SALVATORE REG AGENT

Plaintiff: GENERAL RENTAL COMPANY INC DBA TAYLOR RENTAL

 

50-2004-SC-003402-XXXX-MB / Small Claims / SMALL CLAIMS / 04/02/2004

DEFENDANT: SERVICE PARTY CRYSTAL BAY CATERERS CORP / LOPICCOLO, SALVATORE REG AGENT

Plaintiff:  WEITZ, STEVEN M

 

50-2005-CC-004233-XXXX-SB / County Civil / CIVIL (COUNTY CIVIL) 04/06/2005

DEFENDANT CRYSTAL BAY CATERERS CORP / CORP / LOPICCOLO, SALVATORE REG AGENT

Plaintiff: SAMBE INC DBA ATLAS PARTY RENTAL

 

I did find other interesting and new records; you got married on 05/13/1997, congratulations.  I also see a decrease in lawsuits for nonpayment; that second income is nice. And as we agreed, I did not mentioned your wife’s name or other info on her – only defendant business owner of Crystal Bay Catering (I did mention the Plaintiff above, but I do not think they would mind) – But not your wife’s name (a code of honor that may be hard for someone like you to comprehend, knowing your history)

But then I see

50-2008-DR-014409-XXXX-NB / Domestic Relations/Family / DOMESTIC VIOLENCE / 12/29/2008

DEFENDANT/RESPONDENT: LOPICCOLO, SALVATORE

 

Now to be fair SALVATORE LOPICCOLO may be a very popular name is Palm Beach – so this domestic violence  case could be someone else with your same exact name – but even if you were to throw that one domestic abuse case out, one could make a Prima Facie argument;

1997 A women (who is just starting her own career) marries a young, hard body male with a promising business

Fast forward 10 years or more – that man is now soft & middle age with a mediocre client base going nowhere– one that does not provide enough cash flow to reinvest in his business to address its decaying infrastructure (see health department over condition / state of kitchen) – and because of the this fact, selling the business is not an option, it has no marketing or asset equity of value

Wife career has taken off, and while it is nice to have a house husband, she is not so ready to provide another cash infusion to help out Crystal Bay Catering decaying infrastructure (thus help with his health department reports).  Thus these bad health reports, are not going away, you are just going to have to get better at hiding them (i.e. figure out health department inspection patterns). 

Sam, if I had done things in my past that were so despicable, so irresponsible, dishonest and so unnecessarily cruel to hurt not just one, but a whole host of other victims – which resulted in reports like this one being blasted all over the internet –risking the reputation and finincial well being of, not just myself, but my family, I probably would be feeling just like you now.

I am not here to ruin you,  I am here for Justice - and Justice is you being a man for once in your life, step up and rebut, or own what you have done.

 

Otherwise, I will settle for retributionsee and see you in 10 days – and maybe not just on this web site. 

 

Respond to this report!

#7 Author of original report

Be a man and step up and rebut, or own it.

AUTHOR: - ()

Sam, it has been over 10 days and no response?

You know who this is, it is not the first time we have done this dance. Oh I forget, I am not the only one you have screwed – that is the problem of being an equal opportunity jerk – so many skeletons in the closet. 

Sam – this time, be a responsible business owner, be a competent executive chef, be a real man for a change…. and face your accuser in a fair arena of this unbiased consumer site and respond– not your own rigged circus tent stacked with lovers and friends.

All you have to do is respond with the truth, just tell the truth and keep it focused on the listed facts in this complaint, don’t do your typical deception trick of misdirection. You own a business, this report shows it has a record of how you run your business, it is gross and unsanitary – is it true or not? 

Also – don’t threaten me again personally like you did last time I reported your business practice (i.e. with a lawsuit – I have already consulted a lawyer, you did not have a case then-and you do not have a case now  “the truth is the ultimate defense” - even if you could identify who I was, that skeletons in the closet thing). Or try something like you did last time and try to intimidate me through contacting my close family & friends – this time you are the one with a wife..., a home..., a family life.  I won't make this personal if you don't this time. No names (except yours of course, your the defendent and the plantive is the Fla Department of Health - I just helped get the word out - like the Tallahassee Democrat)

You are just going to have to fight fair and within the law and rules of common decency this time – that or shut up and stop telling everyone in Boca the this is a BS story just like all the other Rip Off Reports (said fact, most are true reports on this site).

Be a man and step up and rebut, or own it. 

 

PS - hopefully by now you have learned to type emails without using all CAPS THIS TIME - IT IS STILL RUDE, IT IS STILL LIKE YOU ARE YELLING AT SOMEONE.

Tallahassee Democrat

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.