• Report: #621384
Complaint Review:


  • Submitted: Thu, July 08, 2010
  • Updated: Sun, November 06, 2011

  • Reported By: A R — BIRMINGHAM United States of America
Internet United States of America


*General Comment: Extra factory

*General Comment: The Casting Website- the best casting website in the UK.

*Author of original report: NOT A SCAM

*Author of original report: The Casting Website- SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!

*Author of original report: The Casting Website- Scam!!!! Rob Earnshaw

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!


The 'so called' agency run by one guy called 'JOHN'. He offers people work within TV/Film. He charges an initial registration fee of 30.00. He also offers a GUARANTEE- We'll find you work within 6 months or your money back. Sounds nice huh? Well, the truth is you won't be offered any work! He'll happily lie and lie and lie about all the wonderful opportunities he can offer you, but he'll never
offer you any work. He won't refund your money after 6 months- JOHN will lie that he has 'offered' you work and can 'offer you more'..

He's a scammer, after your hard earned cash!

He'll also pass your details onto an photographic studio called ALT & EGO STUDIO. They'll book you in for a test shoot, which YOU have to pay for the photographs. You have to PAY for the photographs to appear on the MODEL section of the extra-factory website.

John has already scammed thousands of people, and has thousands of pounds in his bank account.


I was one of the unlucky ones scammed by him. Just want to warn everyone else who's thinking of joining the extra factory

WEBSITE- www.extrafactory.co.uk

RUN BY- someone called 'John'. Fake name probably.

Business address- 246-250 ROMFORD ROAD, STRATFORD, LONDON, E7 9HZ.. He uses another address in Merseyside, Liverpool.

PLEASE NOTE: I've contacted the Business Centre who owes these premises on 0208 221 4500, and they've confirmed that there is nobody by that name or company who uses the premises. They even told me that a lot of scammers use this address.


This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/08/2010 05:47 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/extra-factory/internet/extra-factory-john-extrafactorycouk-they-just-want-your-money-they-wont-offer-you-621384. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on EXTRA FACTORY

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
3Author 2Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 General Comment

Extra factory

AUTHOR: Damiansasha - (United States of America)

Well, i have made my own search on Extra Factory and i found this article written by an anonymous individual who hasn't got the courage to sign their real name. That already in itself shows that it is a rather personal opinion then a true fact. I have been in the modeling industry for a while now and by my own experience i did had castings and job through the extra factory. In fact, it is because of that head shot that i got at alt & ego trough extra factory that i got noticed. I found it all so easy for people to complain, that said it is just only because these people are looking like monsters and will obviously never be called for castings. So before posting calumnious and unfounded reviews, look at yourself in the mirror and apply for a relevant job ... Why not Jurassic Parc " the return", there you might get a chance to appear, 1, 2 seconds ?

Extra Factory, keep up the great work and thanks again for all your help.

Cynthia Carwell (not afraid unlike others to put my real name)
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 General Comment

The Casting Website- the best casting website in the UK.

AUTHOR: Dangerzone90 - (United Kingdom)


First off- The Casting Website is one of the best, trusted, and well known casting companies in the UK! I have been a member for a year now. They are NOT an agency, they are simply an online company offering YOUNG PEOPLE an opportunity to apply for auditions for TV/FILM/COMMERCIALS/THEATRE.

The company is owned by Rob Earnshaw and offer outstanding value for money! They offer Professional Headshot sessions and a 'Approved Membership Intake Workshop', giving you an opportunity to audition in front of a casting director...  Membership is just under 70 for 12 months, very competitive comparing to the amount Spotlight charge for 12 months..

Unlike 'The Extra Factory', The Casting Website have full time staff to help you with any questions, or issues you may have, and are CEOP registered, and have won Awards.

The Extra Factory (from my research) are a dishonest company. The website states that if you are not offered work within 6 months, you will receive a refund. From what i've seen on the web about this company, they don't respond to your requests for a refund, and they simply lie, lie and lie. They don't have any other form of contact except for EMAIL, and they have various logos of companies- BBC, ITV, Waterloo Road, but don't specify whether they've worked with them or not.

I've been in touch with the AUTHOR, she states that the company have offered her a refund, but WEEKS down the line, she hasn't received the refund? It's one thing saying they'll send a cheque, it's another thing actually receiving it through the post.

In my oppion, taking everything into consideration, they are a SCAM company- beware!...

If you're looking for a trusted, honest, reliable, well-known company, visit www.thecastingwebsite.com

All the Best,



Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report


AUTHOR: A R - (United States of America)

The company has responded to me, with an offer of a refund.

They said that I've got this all wrong- which i accept.

I initially thought they were a scam company because they did not respond to my request for a refund, but they've been extremely busy (which i accept again) and didn't have a chance to respond to my email.

So the outcome of it all? They're not a scam company, and i'm just paranoid!!!!

And yes, I WILL think before writing anything in the FUTURE.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Author of original report

The Casting Website- SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!

AUTHOR: A R - (United States of America)

1) They rarely have jobs
2) Major Film companies, Soaps and Commercials look for actors on 'SPOTLIGHT'. Every other agency comes second.
3) They charge 70 for 12 months membership- Seriously not worth it.

Any jobs they do have on the website are RESERVED for their 'approved members' only. And the wages? 200 a week? even a cleaner gets more than that.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#5 Author of original report

The Casting Website- Scam!!!! Rob Earnshaw

AUTHOR: A R - (United States of America)

They charge around 70 quid for a 12 month membership- let truth be known. They hardly get any casting info from companies, and when they do, it's only for 'approved members'. They charge the same amount to members without APPROVED STATUS.

TRUTH- Major film companies, Commercials and Soaps look for people registered on SPOTLIGHT. All jobs are there. You won't find any jobs with this agency, or whatever they call themselves.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?