Report: #1068899

Complaint Review: Family Motors-1924 Kempsville Rd.

  • Submitted: Sun, July 21, 2013
  • Updated: Sun, July 21, 2013
  • Reported By: theresia — chesapeake Virginia
  • Family Motors-1924 Kempsville Rd.
    1924 Kempsville Rd.
    Virginia Beach, Virginia

Family Motors-1924 Kempsville Rd. VA Beach, VA Mr. Leisure & Margaret Worst car company, Nothing but liars and fraud Virginia Beach Virginia

*Author of original report: issue fixed

*Author of original report: Follow up

*UPDATE Employee: We Do Care

*Author of original report: no not true

*Consumer Comment: You Took The Gamble

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I purchased a car from Family Motors on Kempsville Road a little over a month ago. I was told at the time by the sales rep Margaret I would need to come up with 1,500  with some kind of $ down now. I paid $500.00 byy check for them to take out immediately. She told me to write a check dated for today for 1,000 and promised me it wouldn't draft until 7/31/2013. She promised me they would not take the 1,000 before. 2 weeks later i suddenly got laid off from my job! I called them immediately to let them know and to see if I could return the car. They told me no and it would be a voluntary repo on my credit. I told them okay can you give me more time to pay the 1,000. I told her and her supervisor Mr. Leisure NOT to process the check at the end of the month and they assured me they wouldn't and that they understood just make payments when I could. The processed the check the Friday and overdrafted my account. Not only did they process it way before they should but that flat out lied to me. At least if the supervisor Mr. Leisure would have be honest enough to say no we are processing this check I could have avoided paying all these overdraft fees. When I tried calling him and address him about it he has the nerve to tell me he doesnt stand by verbal argreements and he doesn't have to do business that way... On top of that she never got my car detailed because it was minor scratches on the car when I purchased it. She promised she would take care of it and everytime i go up there to get it done all of the sudden the detailor is gone!! This is the worst set of people I have ever dealt with and just shady. No wonder people do crazy things in this world it's because of a******s taken advantage of people like they did to me. I know something else will occur with them sooner than later....

Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 07/21/2013 02:07 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Author of original report

issue fixed

AUTHOR: theresia - ()

I went to RK Chevrolet and spoke to John M, he was understanding and got my issue fixed. He apologized for the problem and I was finally able to get my car properly cleaned!!

Respond to this report!

#2 Author of original report

Follow up

AUTHOR: theresia - ()

I was contacted by John the manager of RK Chevrolet and Family Motors to get things straight. When I contacted him he took ownership of the situation and seemed like he wanted to help me get everything straight. I'm suppose to meet with him Friday to go over everything with my bank fees and to get my car detailed finally. I still have a lack of faith in people because of this situation but i'm praying he is different and sticks to his word and turns this experience around..

Respond to this report!

#3 UPDATE Employee

We Do Care

AUTHOR: John - ()


We saw your post and wanted to reply, because we do care.  I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have discussed your experience with our staff and we want to make it up to you.  We want to have your vehicle detailed.  I would like to discuss your other concerns personally.  Please contact me on my direct line, 757-431-6594, so that I can help make things right for you.  


John Malaspina, Chief Operating Officer

Respond to this report!

#4 Author of original report

no not true

AUTHOR: theresia - ()

no jim your wrong! i did have the $ but I was lied to before getting there that I would only have to put down $300.00 which i told her several times that's all I was willing to put down. When I got there and they started looking at my paystubs and monthly incentives is when they started to try to get more $. I agreed to do $500.00 immediately and the 1,000 later. She typed up some paperwork stating that she wouldn't process it before then so I took her on her word, otherwise I would have said take the $500 or i'm leaving. Yes i did write the check dated for the same day believing they would cash it when they said they were and yes that was my error, and thinking that paper stating that was going to hold up for me. But when i told the, not to process it and asked if they would agree to do other arrangements they should have been honest and said no we will process the check so I could have moved my money to the main checkings and make sure nothing overdrafted. That's all i'm saying. don't make it seem like you care and want to help and lie to me when if you were just honest all this could've been avoided. thanks for your opinion though.

Respond to this report!

#5 Consumer Comment

You Took The Gamble

AUTHOR: Jim - ()

YOU wrote a check IN ADVANCE of making the deposit.  You did this because you couldn't even afford the down payment!  They shouldn't have done this, that's true!  However, you shouldn't have done what you did either.  No, I don't work for them.

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.