Report: #815075

Complaint Review: Harmon AutoGlass

  • Submitted: Wed, December 28, 2011
  • Updated: Thu, July 12, 2012
  • Reported By: David — ARDEN HILLS Minnesota USA
  • Harmon AutoGlass
    2500 Cleveland Avenue North
    Roseville, Minnesota
    United States of America

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

In the summer of 2011, I had Harmon AutoGlass install a new windshield in my vehicle. After installation, my family & I noticed a 'whistling, rushing' sound as we drove down the freeway. This had never been present before the new windshield was installed. We then turned off any air flow, closed all windows tight, put towels over the dashboard air vents, and drove again down the freeway. The sound was still there - exactly as before, I took a match and, after lighting it, put it up by the top inside of the windshield, and put the match out. The smoke from the match immediately blew away from the top of the windshield, proving this was the location of the noise - and demonstrating the lack of a proper seal around the windshield. I contacted Harmon AutoGlass, and they came out and 're-sealed' the windshield. Again, the same noise was present, but a little more muted. When the colder weather hit the Twin Cities, the sound became very loud again.

I again contacted Harmon AutoGlass and, after explaining that there was still not a proper seal around the windshield and offering to bring the vehicle to their Roseville, MN location; I made an appointment for 3:00 pm, Tuesday, 12/20/2011. I arrived at Harmon AutoGlass at 2:56 pm, and was told, "We are very busy today; you need to wait 10 minutes and I can get your car in". By 3:34 pm, we were still waiting, and were told, "Well, I can't control how long things take".

I explained I had made a 3:00 pm appt. for a reason. Harmon made no attempt to do anything to move the process along. I was appalled at the ridiculously poor customer service. I left, as I had to pick up my daughter and would have been (very?) late if I had waited for Harmon to get things figured out.

That evening I e-mailed Harmon AutoGlass from their site, and asked them how they were going to resolve this. I also told them studies have shown a windshield is an integral part of a vehicle's safety, especially in a roll-over accident. I gave them the opportunity to correct things, and they chose to not respond - more than a week later. Apparently they either are not aware of, or do not care about, a little thing we call the internet. I mean, they didn't even respond!

Stay away from Harmon AutoGlass!

Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/28/2011 05:48 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Author of original report

Harmon AutoGlass has resolved thi- from original Complainant

AUTHOR: David - (USA)

My name is David Hoch; I filed the original complaint against Harmon. Since then, they have handled this issue to my satisfaction. If you have questions, my email is:

I have requested this complaint be removed by ripoff, but as yet they have not done this.
Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee

Harmon AutoGlass is committed to Customer Satisfaction

AUTHOR: Harmon AutoGlass Customer Satisfact - (United States of America)


As Customer Satisfaction Manager for Harmon AutoGlass, I was very concerned when I learned in January 2012 that Mr. Hoch felt we had not taken care of his needs in an efficient manner and I pursued a thorough internal investigation of the matter. Here are the details as best I can lay them out.

Our internal records show that we installed a windshield for Mr. Hoch and the customer had later contacted us to let us know there was wind noise. We had then sent a technician out to repair the windshield noise issue. Our records show that the customer was not available at the site the day our technician came out to do this warranty.

After the warranty repair did not resolve the issue for the customer, the customer scheduled to bring the vehicle into our shop so that we could once again attempt to resolve the issue. Unfortunately, when the customer arrived at our shop for his appointment our technician was finishing up another scheduled installation that took a little longer than normal and the customer became upset and left before we could provide service.

Our records show that the customer left approximately 15-20 minutes after he arrived because he needed to take his child somewhere. In addition, our records show that the customer was scheduled for service again on Wed., December 28th, but did not show up for his appointment.

After hearing about the customer's concerns in January, 2012, I attempted to reach him by phone on several occasions and left him messages on January 10, 2012 and again on January 13, 2012. In my voicemails I apologized for the inconvenience caused the customer and offered to do whatever might be necessary to resolve the issue for him at the earliest possible time...including picking his vehicle up, repairing it, and dropping it off with him again.

I did not hear back from the customer, so I set up a work order in our system and alerted the CSR and technician at the shop where the work would be done so that we could expedite this repair as soon as the customer called us back.

I tried calling the customer again on 1/17/12 and thankfully was able to reach him this time. I discussed the matter with him and offered to take care of him the next morning. The customer agreed to bring the vehicle into our Roseville shop on 1/18/12 at 8 a.m. so that we can remove and replace the windshield in an effort to resolve the wind noise issue that he has been experiencing. I once again apologized to the customer for any inconvenience he has been caused and offered to prioritize getting him taken care of.

The customer stated that he did not know anything about an appointment on 12/28/11 and that he had gone onto Harmons website and emailed us about his concerns twice. We have checked our records for emails received and we have no record of an email from this customer. I tested the website email function today (under contact us) and it worked correctly.

On January 18, 2012 we once again replaced Mr. Hoch's windshield under warranty and he indicated that he was now very satisfied with the work performed. His interactions with our staff on that date were very amiable and upbeat. Every indication from Mr. Hoch is that he is now satisfied with Harmon AutoGlass's service on his vehicle. It appears that Mr. Hoch posted his online complaint against Harmon AutoGlass shortly BEFORE Harmon resolved this issue with him and has failed to remove the posting now that he is satisfied with the work we performed for him.

We have now left messages with Mr. Hoch asking him to kindly remove his complaint from now that Harmon has satisfactorily taken care of his autoglass needs. Hopefully, he will do so in the near future.

In the end, we simply regret the inconvenience this customer has experienced and we are very happy that we were able to resolve the issue back in January of this year and make the customer happy.

Harmon prides itself in providing efficient and professional service to all of our customers. Unfortunately, we occasionally have a customer who feels that we have lived up to that standard. Whenever this happens we do everything in our power to turn things around as quickly, professionally and efficiently as possible in order to regain the confidence of the customer. And this is what we have done with this customer.

Thank you.

Dave Tomlinson
Customer Satisfaction Manager
Harmon AutoGlass
Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.