Report: #206734

Complaint Review: PTI Pavement Repair Products, Pavepatch, Roktec LLC

  • Submitted: Fri, August 18, 2006
  • Updated: Mon, July 07, 2008
  • Reported By: Lafayette Indiana
  • PTI Pavement Repair Products, Pavepatch, Roktec LLC
    9603 Pennington Lane
    Missouri City, Texas

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I purchased (2) 5 gallon buckets of FLOMIX pourable asphalt repair from PTI Pavement Repair Products online at My cost was $222.26 including shipping. This was advertised as a long lasting solution for pavement repairs and one that is used by public works departments and contractors.

This was to be used to repair my driveway. In each bucket are a number of materials including aggregate, two bottles of polymer, and top coating. I divided the materials in half so I could apply half a bucket at a time. I mixed all of the materials as instructed to make the first half bucket. The mixture was not liquid as expected but rather the consistency of wet sand. It was not able to be poured into any driveway cracks but just sat on top of the driveway in a big pile. I had to scrape all of the material off before it dried and wasted about $60 in the process.

I then emailed Mr. Dave Jennings from PTI who assured me he had never heard of such a problem and thought I must have mixed up something wrong since it couldn't possibly be anything wrong with their product. He asked me to try using the 2nd half of the bucket. I knew I would probably have the same results so I deliberately withheld about 1/3 of the aggregate when mixing the product (he agreed that I should try that). This time after mixing I began to pour the product and it came out very liquidy for a short time, then the remaining product in the bucket came out solid. It appeared that the aggregate did not hold itself in suspension. I tried forcing this heavy material into a few large cracks but it didn't go into the cracks completely. It basically made a large hump over the cracks which looks very unsightly.

Again, I contacted Dave Jennings who assured me he had never heard of such strange behavior from their wonderful products. He agreed to refund me $111.13 if I returned the unused bucket but nothing for the bucket I used. He said he would do some "testing" to see if he could replicate the problem. After not hearing from him in a few weeks, I asked him again if I would be receiving a refund for the unsatisfactory material and he told me he could not. He said it was up to me to contact the manufacturer. I think not.

As an aside, the material also turned my driveway white after drying. This necessitated spending more time and money to purchase driveway sealer to cover it up.

Do not use this product and do not deal with this company.

Lafayette, Indiana
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/18/2006 08:51 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Author of original report

Resolution 6-30-08

AUTHOR: Dale - (U.S.A.)

I did receive a refund check and a very nice apology note from Mr. Jennings on 6-30-08. The amount of the refund was $111.13. Given that it took two years to receive a refund I'm not sure we are exactly even but I am satisfied at this point.

I do feel it is necessary to state that I DID measure, mix, and use this material exactly according to the instructions. I did NOT use a torch or any other device to heat the asphalt or the pavepatch material.

I have no idea what caused this product to not work, that will probably never be known. I am sure that others have used the product and it did work, but it did not work for me. Had I simply been given a full refund two years ago I would have been a happy camper. Hopefully that will be the case from now on if there are other unsatisfied customers.

As far as I am concerned the matter is concluded.
Respond to this report!

#2 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Positive resolution

AUTHOR: David J - (U.S.A.)


From the beginning of your issue to date, I have only tried to assist you, and you have refused to consider any of the possible answers we provided, because obviously nothing was your error and everything is our fault. My posts here have nothing to do with losing business, business is great with about 500,000 kits sold last year and still growing! The reason I posted after 2 years is to see if calmer minds were willing to discuss a reasonable resolution, and even perhaps because I actually do care about the experience that every customer I assist has?

In a previous post, Mr. Singleton pointed out a few of the possibilities that may have affected your experience. You chose not to accept his advice. From your own post, you did not follow the directions: You split a kit which is not recommended or advised which can easily result in incorrect ratios if not done precisely. Perhaps that is why you did not experience a "Flowable" product installation as you should have? This would be the root source of subsequent problems you experienced.

The cure process will expedite if the material is left in the pail too long once mixing is completed. Perhaps this is why you experienced a quicker cure than expected before you could use it?

Rather than properly pouring the thin slurry material on the ground as soon as mixing is completed and then proceeding to manipulate and smooth or screed as desired, in your experience the product was obviously not in a flowable state. Then when you tried to use the mixed material more like a mortar it obviously would not work properly. This would be expected.

You blame us for your asphalt turning chalky gray in the area surrounding the placement. This can only be caused by the use of propane or flame to dry the area before use. Asphalt will gray when heated to high temperatures. How is that our fault?

I do not wish to be argumentative with you, Dale, but all facts should be known to anyone interested, from both perspectives. In a real world sometimes things don't go right for whatever reason without anyone really being at fault. FloMix is a great product but must be used properly for success. I again apologize for the bad experience you had.

Now to resolve this:
Although I do not believe that the material was defective in any way, I will refund your full original purchase price and shipping charge, totaling $111.13.
For this to occur I ask that you remove or amend this thread to indicate a positive resolution and that this threads title and meta information and any search listings that pick up this threads title and meta information does not infer a rip-off or similar negative term regarding our products or company or website or employees. When this can be confirmed I will mail your refund promptly. If you wish me to process the refund in a different manner please let me know. I will send you an email privately requesting an address confirmation before mailing the check, or you can email me that information at your convenience.

Best regards,

David Jennings
PTI Pavement Repair Products
Respond to this report!

#3 Author of original report

Possible Resolution?

AUTHOR: Dale - (U.S.A.)

It quite frankly surprises me that after two years you are ready to resolve the situation. Apparently this is not because it is the right thing to do but because you are losing business.

The solution is the same as I stated in my post two years ago. Please send me a refund for the defective material I used and I will make a post on this site stating that the situation has been resolved. The amount would be $111.13 however you can round it up to $125.00 which should cover the interest for two years.
Respond to this report!

#4 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Positive resolution possible?

AUTHOR: David J - (U.S.A.)


I would still like to resolve this issue for you in a positive manner if at all possible. At the time you filed this report, I was earnestly trying to help you with your questions. When you had the difficulties during installation, the description of your problem was beyond my scope as the distributor of the material. I was simply trying to provide you with the contact information of the manufacturer, as well as sending your information and issue details to them. The chemists and good people at Roklin would have been much better able to determine what went wrong in your case, and would have provided the necessary support. The FloMix Asphalt Repair material is an awesome material that does work very well. As the materials distributor, I have assisted several thousand new and repeat customers over the last several years, and you are my only very dissatisfied customer. How can we resolve this fairly and amicably?

Your report here was VERY premature in my opinion, and quite unfair. It is also detrimental to my company in that people searching for my product also see this reports negative Title (only) in search results, and likely does not read the content and rebuttal. Neither my company nor my products are rip-offs and it is my desire to repair my reputation in this regard.

I invite you to please contact me directly.

Best regards,

David Jennings
PTI Pavement Repair Products
Respond to this report!

#5 Author of original report

Comments on Rebuttal

AUTHOR: Dale - (U.S.A.)

Thank you for your response Mr Singleton,

A few comments:

I did work with Mr. Jennings to resolve this problem and he apparently got to the point where he didn't want to deal with me any longer and told me to contact you the manufacturer. Since this product was purchased from him my report was filed against his company not yours. I was given the impression that if I were to contact you I would just be receiving more advice about what I did wrong. Apparently no one wants to accept the fact that there actually could be something wrong with this product. Even you in your response mention that the cause of this problem most likely is user error or inexperience. Well, I disagree. I also disagree with your statement that my problem was due to NO FAULT of your company or the product.

If you would like to reimburse me for the cost of the product that I purchased that did not work I will gladly amend my report to show that you rectified this situation to my satisfaction. Dave Jennings has my contact information.
Respond to this report!

#6 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Flomix works

AUTHOR: Tom - (U.S.A.)

Dear Mr. P,

As a principal of Roklin Systems Inc. the manufacturer of Flomix, I have been asked to respond to you directly.

Roklin has been in business for 5 years, and this year we will ship approximately 30,000 units of our product to a variety of customers, mainly DOT's, Airports, Cities and Counties, nationwide. We enjoy a high level of repeat business from our very satisfied customer base, and our business is growing steadily.

I'm sorry to hear that you have had some difficulty using our Flomix Rapid Asphalt Repair material. We would have welcomed the opportunity to provide some customer support had you contacted us, as requested by our distributor, David Jennings.

We are always happy to review any problem, examine the finished product, and arrive at a conclusion that everybody is happy with. We provide this level of customer service to ensure happy customers, and to protect the integrity of our product and our company's reputation.

Unfortunately, you chose to ignore our distributor's suggestion that you contact the manufacturer, and posted your angry complaint on the web that may have been emotionally satisfying, but it was not intelligently constructive.

Obviously, now you have taken the issue to another arena; one where no resolution is possible. Now that you have defamed our product without contacting us for advice, how are we to help you? (I understand that your web posting cannot be withdrawn, no matter what the rights and wrongs of the situation may be.)

In my 5 years of experience with Flomix there have been incidents where the material has not performed as expected. In each case, normally a byproduct of user error or inexperience, we've ALWAYS worked with our customers by providing guidance, sometimes replacement material, or in some cases we have even refunded the purchase price.

We work closely with our customers, because we want repeat business from satisfied customers. And if the product didn't work to specification, there would be many unhappy people in the market.

Even though the application process is very simple, and the instructions are clear, sometimes issues will arise:

- the mixing drill may be too weak, and the polymers were not evenly dispensed throughout the mix and not fully bonded, or

- the polymers were mixed in the wrong proportion and took too long to fully cure and harden, or

- too much catalyst has been added and the material set up too quickly and in the pail, or

- water was present and the material foamed and did not cure properly.

So, Mr. P: in the absence of an opportunity to respond to your complaints what forum do we have to resolve this situation?

Do you want a full refund? Gladly, except a refund may make you happy but it still leaves us with your negative web posting due to NO fault of Roklin NOR its product. That hardly seems fair.

It seems to me that you've closed the door for resolution before we got an opportunity to resolve anything.

We at Roklin regret your unhappy experience, and we would like to resolve this issue with you amicably. If you have any constructive ideas please let me know - assuming of course that resolution is what you actually seek.

Best wishes,

Tom Singleton
Vice President
Roklin Systems Inc.

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.