• Report: #337782
Complaint Review:

Rolling Hills Auto Plaza AKA Rolling Hills-Honda-Toyota-Nissan

  • Submitted: Fri, June 06, 2008
  • Updated: Fri, March 12, 2010

  • Reported By:Atchison Kansas
Rolling Hills Auto Plaza AKA Rolling Hills-Honda-Toyota-Nissan
1617 Cross St St. Joseph, Missouri U.S.A.

Rolling Hills Auto Plaza Rolling Hills Auto Plaza AKA Rolling Hills-Honda-Toyota-Nissan racist liars took car back two weeks after approving loan and taking our money, they said loan not approved, HSBC bank says it was. St. Joseph Missouri

*Consumer Comment: this couple isnt the only one that the dealship played games with

*UPDATE Employee: Business Response


*Consumer Comment: This makes no sense...

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

My boyfriend and I bought a 2008 Nissan Sentra from Rolling Hills Auto Plaza on May 24th, we gave them $1000 as a downpayment, signed all the paperwork and left with the car, thinking everything was fine. On June 4th, Charlie, (sales manager-I think), called my boyfriend and said we had to bring the car back to them by 7 pm or they would come to get it and charge us towing fees, needless to say we were shocked. They said the loan was not approved. My boyfriend called HSBC bank (the lendor listed on our paperwork)to see why the loan was not appoved and spoke to three different people who all said the same thing-the loan was approved and they were just waiting for the dealership to send in the final paperwork. My boyfriend called Rolling Hills back and was told by Charlie "There is no loan!!" My boyfriend said "What do you mean there is no loan, I signed the paperwok in your office, stood up and shook your hand and you handed me the keys." Charlie said very rudely "I did not shake your hand, nobody here shook your hand." Well, we were looking right at the loan agreement and just got off the phone with the bank/lendor who said the loan was approved. It didn't make sense. My boyfriend made several attempts to speak to someone at the dealership by phone only to be transferred to voicemail every single time. The car was taken back by the dealership sometime that evening between 11 pm and 11:30 pm. The next day my boyfriend called the dealership again several times only to be sent again to voicemail every single time. We called HSBC bank again and were told again the loan was approved and we could go to another dealership and to just pick out the car and tell the new dealership we had the financing approved through HSBC. My boyfriend finally called an attorney who told him the dealership had to return our property and the full $1000. My boyfriend called one last time and got transferred again to voicemail and left a message saying we were on our way to get our personal property and our $1000 back and to have it ready in half an hour. When we got to the dealership, there was not one single customer in the lobby, but several salespeople and other workers standing around, which makes me believe they were purposely ignoring our phonecalls. My boyfriend walked to the office, they handed him a black plastic bag with our personal property from the car and a check already prepared for the full thousand, offered no explanation as to why they took the car back, why they wouldn't send in our paperwork to HSBC-nothing other than "There never was a loan." The sales manager, Charlie, actually smiled at me and tried to shake my hand, I was appalled, and said absolutely not. However he made no attempt to shake my boyfriends hand, my boyfriend said to him, "Is my hand not good enough for you to shake." The sales manager looked like he had been caught and quickly said "Oh, no I'll shake your hand" and he came back and shook my boyfriends hand.

I want to reiterate that we did not even have a payment due until July 7th on the car, had all the signed documentation saying the loan was approved, confirmation from the lender that the loan was approved and paid 1000 down and had had the car for almost 2 weeks when the dealership decided to take it back and say the loan didn't exist. I do not understand how or why they did this but I do know it was very unfair and our attorney agrees with this. I don't accuse anyone of discrimination lightly, I worked as a compliance and ethics officer for several years and I know discrimination and racism when I see it, and I believe this was racism. My boyfriend is Mexican and I am white, it is not the first and probably won't be the last time we experience this type of ignorance, but people need to be aware of it so that anyone else looking for a vehicle knows what to watch out for if they make a decision to buy a vehicle at Rolling Hills Plaza. My boyfriend is a former marine and he spent four years serving our country, he does not deserve to be treated so disrespectfully.

We left that horrible place went to another dealership who treated us with respect and we got the same car, only with some updraded features and they got us a much lower APR, which will actually save us over 7k in the life of the loan.

I would caution anyone looking for a vehicle to avoid this dealership and their unethical, dishonest and illegal business practices.

Atchison, Kansas

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/06/2008 12:51 PM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/rolling-hills-auto-plaza-aka-rolling-hills-honda-toyota-nissan/st-joseph-missouri-64506/rolling-hills-auto-plaza-rolling-hills-auto-plaza-aka-rolling-hills-honda-toyota-nissan-ra-337782. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Rolling Hills Auto Plaza AKA Rolling Hills-Honda-Toyota-Nissan

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
0Author 4Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

this couple isnt the only one that the dealship played games with

AUTHOR: only for me to know - (United States of America)

My husband and I went to rolling hills back in july 09 to buy a truck. the sales man showed up the truck, we test drove it and decided to to try and trade out car for the truck. So after many hours of waiting to see if we were approved, we signed the paper work, I asked them to fill the truck up with gas because we had to wait so long..they told me " oh the manager wont do that for you", I was upset I just wanted to leave after that. so we signed the paper work,  emptied our car and loaded up in the truck. on our way home we notice that the spee gage was stuck at 110 MPH so when we got home I called and told them and they said " oh just wait till you get your warrenty and bring it back and we will fix it, it would be $600 with our your warrenty so wait 30 days till that takes affect, it will only cost you $100" I immediatly said  " youve lost your mind theres no way Im paying ANYTHING because you guys KNEW that the gage was broken and didnt tell us" so about 45 days later we took it back and they gave us the run around at the shop and set us up with a rental vehicle that was once again convinetly left on empty and when I said it needs gas, they told me " well because we arent charging you for the rental you are responsible for the gas" I was once again furious. I was also called two after signing all the paper work and not two weeks later I got a call and they said " we got you a lower interest rate, you need to come bck in and resign the contract" I discussed this with my husband and he was lerry of this and said " I dont think we were approved when we drove off the lot" So I call our sales rep that sold us the truck and he swore up and down they would never do that to "ANYONE".So we took another long hour and half drive up to st joseph to resign papers. We later found out that we werent approved for the loan when we left the car lot.

   This people can talk a good game but in the long run they are horrible at being professional, they are horrible at being business men, every time I called I got voice mails- when they finally decided to fix the speed gage they haf my truck for  10 days and I finally had to call to see what was going on, I told them we dropped it off with a full tank of gas I expect it back with a full tank of gas- when they brought to my house it was almost on empty and had 600 extra miles on it with a scatch on both sides of the bed area....

   We will never go back to this dealership, nor will we ever recommend this dealship to ANYONE...

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Business Response

AUTHOR: Rolling Hills Auto Plaza - (U.S.A.)

Rolling Hills Auto Plaza sells Toyotas, Hondas and Nissans and has been awarded multiple Customer Satisfaction awards for being fair and honest. Integrity and customer focus are the two primary values for our organization. While we can not disclose the details of this deal due to privacy laws, we can state that any information represented to a Lender is solely stated by the Customer, not by the dealership. Lenders provide loan approvals based on certain conditions being met. These stipulations such as income, time on job, etc. must be verified in order to meet the requirements of the Lender. When that verification shows inaccurate information, funding is not provided.

We are an equal opportunity employer and will not discriminate against Employees or Clients. We train employees daily on issues regarding discrimination, proper customer handling, compliance and ethics issues. We pride ourselves in creating a welcome and comfortable environment to do business.

We have the utmost respect and appreciation for the men and women serving our country and protecting our freedom both here and abroad. We enthusiastically participate in Toyotas Hire a Hero Program.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment


AUTHOR: Karl - (U.S.A.)

Read Carol's Rip-off Report on this page from 5-15-08!! If YOUR documents were FORGED, then you can sue them and you will win!!

Contact the Bank or Credit Union where your documents were sent!! There's a chance that they FORGED or ALTERED some of your loan papers!! Pay close attention to your MONTHLY INCOME, TIME ON THE JOB, & JOB TITLE. They could have raised your income to get the loan approved!! They could even ALTER PAYSTUBS!!!

They also could have FORGED loan papers that you are unaware of!!


BLOW THE WHISTLE if FORGERY has taken place!!!

Send it to:

500 Speer Blvd.
Denver, CO 80203
Attn: Deborah Sherman

P.S. ALL CONSUMERS SHOULD GET COPIES OF THEIR LOAN DOCUMENTS FROM THE BANK where the Dealer sent your vehicle to be financed!! You might be SURPRISED what you find!!!
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 Consumer Comment

This makes no sense...

AUTHOR: Robert - (U.S.A.)

I think you may be reading more into this than there actually is, or there is more to this story than you are saying. As there does not appear to be any thing related to racism here.

First if you were approved for a loan there is no incentive for the dealer to do what they did. They had already sold you the car and would have gotten paid. If they wanted to be "racist" they would have done things to make sure you didn't even get the car in the first place. If they wanted to be "racist" by overcharging you, since the loan was approved there is no reason for them to all of the sudden decide to take the car back.

Not only this, they gave you back ALL of your downpayment. They have lost several thousand dollars on this deal. You had the car for almost 2 weeks and probably had a few hundred miles on it. For a "new" car they are going to have to mark it down by quite a bit to the next seller.

It just seems very strange that a car dealer would go through all of this and loose money on the situation just because they did not like your boyfriend.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?