• Report: #569318
Complaint Review:


  • Submitted: Sun, February 14, 2010
  • Updated: Tue, August 16, 2011

  • Reported By: David — Germany
2972 Columbia St Torrance, California United States of America

Shipito Shipito.com CREDIT CARD FRAUD & THEFT (Charging my credit card without my consent) Torrance, California

*Consumer Comment: you couldn't pay me to use shipito

*Consumer Comment: Update

*General Comment: Misleading Company

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: This is really sad that fales complaints can be published like this

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

Shipito are thieves and criminal, pure and simple. AVOID THEM AT ALL COST !!!

Shipito.com in Torrance, California enticed my fiance into a monthly membership for $25 and then added an assisted purchase service for which she paid separately $8.50 (plus cost of purchase, sales tax, shipping) and on top of that, they charged 10% commission from the purchase cost, but that wasn't enough... these Shipito scamers charged another 5% pretending to be Visa fees.  

When she had to order more items, they kept charging her card for every item they received. She called and cancelled the membership and even paid for an additional month that she didn't use due to their questionable calculations.

Despite this, she continued to be billed $25 a month because of the  credit card information that the Shipito scammers got from her membership during registration, which did not cover any assisted purchases.  When challenged on these fraudulent charges, the individual introduced as the senior manager explained that the membership was just like buying a car.  If you decide to keep it in the garage, you still have to pay for it.

When I explained that according to my own understanding of California and Federal law, Shipito has a right to claim money they feel they may be owed but do not have the right to abuse credit card information or make charges against an account which the owner of that account has clearly stated they do not authorize.  Since my fiancee cancelled by email, and has confirmation of the cancellation and since Shipito confirms that the cancellation was due to her stopping the service, they are wrong on two accounts.  Firstly, they are charging without authorization citing a membership agreement they have confirmed is closed and secondly as the car analogy is ridiculous since a car is a physical item you own and Shipito is claiming that they should still be paid for existing even though there is no way they could ever provide the services they want to charge for. 

One of their useless staff ended our conversation saying that given the economy, they couldn't afford to let anybody cancel their membership and so, by the direction of his boss, whom handles these issues.

I tried to contact them by email about this problems several times with no response.  When pressed for the details, they kept sending me to their FAQ page .. Their flustered explanation was to say that the agreement would be in force as long as Shipito decided it was in force, an answer I found rather extraordinary.

I told them that I didn't think that the California or Federal courts would not be sympathetic to that interpretation, to which they outright scoffed and would continue to charge whatever they thought was a proper fee.  

Shipito.com has gone beyond mere predatory contract practices and is engaging in outright criminal activity.  Do not trust these people with your credit card information as they have proven that they will take credit card info from one agreement and use it to charge for another one.  Further, the only cancellation policy they can clearly define is not even existing.

On a personal note, the most annoying aspect of this is that these people arrogantly show you that they will continue to submit credit card charges for which they know they do not have legal authorization to charge (if by no other means in that they themselves confirmed the original membership cancellation) for services they fully admit they are incapable of providing in any reasonable manner.

Shipito are thieves and criminal, pure and simple. AVOID THEM AT ALL COST !!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/14/2010 03:40 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/shipito/torrance-california-90503/shipito-shipitocom-credit-card-fraud-theft-charging-my-credit-card-without-my-consent-569318. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Shipito

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
0Author 3Consumer 1Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Consumer Comment

you couldn't pay me to use shipito

AUTHOR: phasar - (United States of America)

One of my clients used shipito.com for several years, and paid for extra insurance on the packages. 2 packages never arrived (shipped May 2009) and shipito had the nerve to incorrectly quote Ukrainian law (the destination) to justify their denial of his insurance claim. The law states that you must have an import certificate for a cell phone if there are MORE THAN TWO in the package. The law also CLEARLY states that no import certificate is required for 2 or less phones in a package. There was one in each package. He's still fighting with them on these two claims. 

In the mean time he had problems with two other shipments through shipito. One arrived with rocks in it, instead of a cell phone and the other arrived with a cheap plastic case for a cheap cell phone, instead of the expensive cell phone he bought. Needless to say, he's not using them anymore, and he's still fighting with them to settle the insurance claims. Seems to me their "insurance" may also be a scam. The phones were in the US and shipito shipped FROM the US. what do they care what Ukrainian law says. Seems like an excuse not to pay. My client is out $1,250 USD (Cost of good, shipping, insurance). EMS Ukraine, the local "agent" for shipito has advised my client they have had many of the same complaints from customers (almost 100) in the last couple of years.

you couldn't pay me to use shipito
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Consumer Comment


AUTHOR: Derek - (South Africa)

This is Derek, Cape TownI would just like to post an update; The world are full of scammers.I've been a victim two or 3 times - not with large amounts, but my money (as like everyone else's) is really hard earned.

This was my first (still is) international shipment.I was anxious and started getting worried when I did not get a reply.I would just say that I totally over-reacted, and its 2 days after - and I have received the best possible service one can ask for.

I still have to do the wire transfer, since I cannot do paypal or cc right now - due to security reasons, and being from an african countr, I guess this is just security procedures.

I would specially like to congratulate Sergay and Lindsey on providing professional and friendly support instantly and resolved matters instantly.

Due to my worries that I could have been ripped of again, we set of on totally the wrong foot.

Shipito is probably the best service (I've spoken to many people for advice) and I really want to say thank you for what you have done for me so far.

Apologies from over-reacting a bit.

You are the best, I could not have asked for a better shipping forwarder company.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 General Comment

Misleading Company

AUTHOR: Derek - (South Africa)

Okay, this is my honest review and I hope that I can provide some insight for someone not to stumble through the frustrating steps Ive been already.

Life is full of expenses and theres simply never a time to really buy what you want. Nevertheless, I got my annual bonus, and I wanted to import stuff from the US, at least for the last year and a half. I have searched many forums, and read about user experiences of other people all about what and who they suggest to use as a shipping forwarded company.

After a lot of research, I already decided a year and a half ago, that Ill use Ship It To, when the time has come to order from the US. So the time has finally arrived, and I decided to order a Nokia N900, Some Otterbox protection for the nokia, two Bluetooth headsets, a Bluetooth mouse and a Bluetooth dongle. Mmmm I think thats about it. I ordered it on the 15th of October 2010 at amazon.com

I did not want to spend a lot of money on amazon.com, and Ive selected only items with free shipping and sold by amazon. I chose items sold only by amazon, cause I wanted one single package. Nevertheless. I checked my calendar and the frees hipping option wouldve taken a couple of day just to deliver the items to Ship It To. So I then gave it much though and chose the 2 day air shipping.

However, just before I placed the order, I opened my Ship It To account. The once-off shipment option had no consolidation and even though I knew I just order items to ship in once single package, I purchased the monthly plan which include consolidation just for in case I might need it. Ummmm.

Im not a person to badmouth others, but Im really trying to be honest here.

So, I wanted my items to be shipped to the Memphis warehouse. Cause one has multiple warehouse options in the shipping calculator, before purchase. Nevertheless. From the accounts panel of Ship It To, after signing in, I apparently did not have enough verification status to have the addresses, other than Torrance and I think Hong Kong, available to me. The verification process include sending a signed form by mail to shipito in the US.

Earlier this year while I was in the US, my sister sent me a christmas and birthday card in November 2009 and I only received it in March 2010. So I will have to wait at least 2 months , at least, for my signed form to arrive in the US, unless I courier it.

Nevertheless, I had no other option than Torrance, US. Also, the max. spending amount is US$75.00 until you get 100% verified. I uploaded all the verification docs that I have, and apparently I am now +30% but that does not apply to increasing the US$75.00 one is allowed to spend. I phoned shipito to discuss this and to ask a couple of questions Id like to know, because this is the first US shipment for me, I have not done it in the past, and I just wanted a peace of mind. I mean, I just spent a couple of hundred dollars on my purchase.

Sergey, to whom I spoke to, as really unfriendly and he doesnt care and can do nothing about the situation my concern was that I think the shipping costs will be more than 75 dollars. And since Im only allowed to spend 75 dollars, what will happen to my package if it costs more than 75 dollars to ship with FedEx?

Sergay was really unhelpful, and told me after 6 minutes and 34 seconds, that Im wasting his time for keeping him 20 minutes on the phone, etc etc. And honestly, I really kept is short and simple.

I was really astounded by this response, but I decided that its okay.

My packages arrived on time at Ship It To. Impressive.

I phoned my local fedex just to ensure that everything will be in order and how I should proceed to get my package, because we only have two FedEx branches in the country, which is located in the larger towns. I also phoned FedExs import and customs agent to ensure how I should proceed in regards to paying the import taxes, etc.

So, FedEx Checked.

Import Customs Checked.

Everything was checked. Im so afraid that something might go wrong!

In the meantime, I sent an email to shipito but with no response after a day.

I sent 4 emails to Daniel and no response since.

I sent 4 emails to Mandi no response since.

I phoned shipito and after being treated as if I am really disturbing them I decided not to call again.

Sergay spelled it out last time that if I have a problem, its my problem, not theirs, whatsoever.

I also tried to load funds to my account but my card failed. Which is impossible, but the response time was so instant after trying a couple of times, it seems impossible that theyve actually tried to authorized it.


So, as Sergay said, I have to do a wire transfer, and in addition to the fees charged at my local bank for wiring a payment to the US, which is more than an arm and a leg, they charge 4.something percent as well as 16 dollars something, for receiving a wire payment and thats all my problem.

So, the 2 packages is now in the warehouse, and through my admin I chose to have them consolidated. The shipping for both packages should have been 120 dollars something, but after having them consolidated to actually pay less for the shipment, I now own shipito 192.52 dollars.

I emailed shipito just to get a confirmation in regards to this, but no response.

I emailed and asked them to please please just respond but no response, since.

So, I dont like to give bad scores. Honestly, I dont know what to score them. At some stage I though of just forgetting a package and if it arrives some day, be happy, if not, forget about it. But then I have to remind myself that I cant just give up, and that Im paying shipito a lot of money, for providing a service.

So, to score them, Ill rather do this to get my score.

)         Living up to their promises : 2/10 I dont know why I score them 2, cause it should be 0.

2)         Responding to a question mmmm, do I really have to score them 0? Yes. 0/10

3)         Customer support and providing polite support - 0/10? Should I really be this harsh. No, Im just being honest.4)         Well there must be a good point Okay, consolidation service, 10/10. But no, my packages now cost far more after the consolidation. So it cant be 10/10. Okay, 3/10

5)         Okay, advertising a good product, even thou not living up to their promise, lets give them 5/10

Just a note for some reason I have a lot of invoices in my account stating NOT PAID and I phones them in regards to this, and the lady said I should just wait until they disappear by themselves.

Im really really sad. Really. This is not just disappointing. The thing that really upsets me the most, is that I dont get any response from Ship It To, not at all. And when calling them, they are really really impatient and rude.

Im so so so sad. Not because that I wont receive my package in the projected 7 days (thats why I paid Amazon far more for shipping, to have it delivered at shipito in 2 days time) and not because , well, yeah, not because I can only spend 75 dollars in my account.

Im so sad, I feel like just forget about the package, totally. Im sad because I feel like being mislead and now that Ive paid them and now that the package is in their warehouse I simply cant get a way communicating with them.Im really disappointed. Really.

My average score based on my single scores above : 10%

I am so so so sad, and so disappointed. I feel like being ripped of.

And I know the costs just to get it here in Namibia, is about to cost me far more than what I paid for my items.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#4 REBUTTAL Owner of company

This is really sad that fales complaints can be published like this

AUTHOR: eastbiz - (United States of America)

I am a CEO of Shipito. This complaint is a lie. The person couldn't be our customer as a lot of facts are outright incorrect.

First of all Shipito doesn't save credit card numbers of our customers. We do it for one simple reason - SECURITY. Unless customer goes to our website and fills out credit card info there is no other way how to get charged. We have no technical way to charge anyone credit card. We don't have the credit card numbers in our database.

I don't know what I can do to fight this anonymous complaints. I wrote about this on my blog: http://www.poormmillionaire.com/shipito-complaint/

Also how our service works. Customer can sign up for VIRTUAL MAILBOX (monthly or yearly). If the pre-paid subscription expires, an email is sent. If the customer doesn't pay the subscription is downgraded to INDIVIDUAL PACKAGES (with no monthly fee). We cannot charge anyone card so the membership is downgraded to one without a monthly fee. If customer wants to upgrade to VIRTUAL MAILBOX she/he can do it anytime from their Shipito account.

I can't believe someone will go through the trouble and write false complaints.

We understand we don't do everything right. That is why we have a discussion forum on our website where customers can freely voice their opinions, comments and critique.

I really wish there is a way to fight this better. If it was legitimate I will be happy to respond. But this is just lie. Nothing else.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?