• Report: #927684
Complaint Review:

Sonic Electronics

  • Submitted: Wed, August 15, 2012
  • Updated: Thu, August 16, 2012

  • Reported By: Michael — bogue chitto Mississippi U.S.A.
Sonic Electronics
Internet, California United States of America

Sonic Electronics http://www.sonicelectronix.com/ Seller of defective products! Charges for returns! Internet, California

*Author of original report: This is true!

*UPDATE Employee: Sonic Electronix Provides New Merchandise ,Authorized w/ Mr Dj, - Situation Resolved

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

7/9/12 purchased a Mr DJ CD 8800 USB dual cd player. Received an apparently used and returned unit that did not work. I contacted them via phone for seller paid return. They said they would do that. I called back a few days later and started email support. They were waiting for the vendor to approve paying for return shipping.
On 7/23 I ordered another of the same unit from them and went ahead and paid $18 for return shipping. on the 1st unit.  I had already faxed the vendor. The vendor does not answer any and all type communications!

Their correspondence to me.
I have talked with my supervisor of what we would be able to do and he
> advised me of the following. On the first order we will only be able to
> refund you what you paid for the item which was $229.99 minus $15 for
> original shipping. For the second order we will be refunding you the
> price for the second shipping label of $18.45 plus the cost of the item
> of $229.99 minus $15 for the original cost of shipping.
Update 8/15/12

Dear Michael,
> Thank you for getting back with us about your order.
> I have made sure that they will be issuing you the correct refund.
> Unfortunately becuase you did not ship the second item back inside of a
> shipping box they did have to charge you an additional 10% becuase when
> we return the item to the manufacturer they charge for the damage to the
> box.
> If you have any other questions please feel free to contact us and we
> would be happy to assist you further. Have a great day.
My info:
I was told over the phone that I did not have to send them back box in a box because they were not shipped to me in this fashion!
So it's only going to cost me $71 try and buy a working product from them!!!!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/15/2012 11:56 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/sonic-electronics/internet-california-/sonic-electronics-httpwwwsonicelectronixcom-seller-of-defective-products-charges-fo-927684. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Sonic Electronics

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

This is true!

AUTHOR: Michael - (U.S.A.)

Finally after a long drawn out affair. They have agreed to do better on the refund. They said it was not possible that their courier shipped the item in the factory box...lol I placed my return label on top of the original shipping label. I asked that they peel off my label to see and I guaranteed it would be there.
I'll never buy another MRDJ piece of equipment. No one can contact them! No one know who can do repair on one.
 The big RIPOFF is MRDJ or the vendor for MRDJ. I don't think these guys actually stock this item.
Though I am still waiting for the refund to be processed.
Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Sonic Electronix Provides New Merchandise ,Authorized w/ Mr Dj, - Situation Resolved

AUTHOR: Sonic Electronix Management - (United States of America)

Our company is authorized with Mr Dj; all of their products come directly from the manufacturer. We're certainly sympathetic towards the issues you've encountered: we've made great effort to remedy your experience, well beyond what you mentioned in this report.

We can't speculate as to why your item was in less than perfect condition. We're not Mr Dj to where we can quality control merchandise; we leave it up to the manufacturer to ensure their products are brand new and fully operational. Our purchasing department is investigating this discrepancy to prevent future
occurrences; although we've taken steps to rectify your troubles, too.

Upon contacting Mr Dj, they confirmed used/refurbished models werent present within their inventory; they were adamant they supplied you with a brand new product (which undoubtedly was defective). We were always willing to cover you and provide a pre-paid label. Although, we asked for pictures and a completed form in order to adhere to the manufacturers request: you weren't willing to supply that information so the label was never generated. You decided to return the item at your expense. Once the merchandise was received, we granted your refund requested, minus the original shipping charge (processing fee was waived).

Also, when you encountered issues with your second purchase, we stood behind you. You initially purchase the shipping label for that return, too; although we processed a full refund for that amount. Additionally, through communication and clarification, no fees on that transaction were assessed. Your full refund was extended; the shipping box deduction, original shipping and processing fees were all waived.

We apologize for the repeated defects you experienced; however, our company went through great lengths, beyond our policy, to ensure your satisfaction with us.
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?