• Report: #1103004
Complaint Review:

Sunlakes Apartments

  • Submitted: Fri, November 29, 2013
  • Updated: Fri, November 29, 2013

  • Reported By: Nick — Kenner Louisiana
Sunlakes Apartments
800 Joe Yenni Blvd Kenner, Louisiana USA

Sunlakes Apartments Tonti Management ripoff deceptive Kenner Louisiana

*Author of original report: Administrative Services Manager Jennifer Gauthier Incompetent, Delusional, and Greedy

*Author of original report: False claims of damages

*Author of original report: Sunlake Find Probems That Don't Exist

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

I moved in to Sunlakes Apartments on Saturday, July 7, 2013.  I noticed it was warm in the apartment so I turned on the AC.  The lady that showed me in stated that it might take a bit for the air to start circulating.  By noon (almost two hours after turning on the AC) it was still warm.  I hurried to get ready for work and when I got home that night the apartment was still warm.  It was clear to me I had been moved in to an apartment with a non-functioning AC.  Unfortunately I couldn't call anyone because maintenance left at 4PM on Saturday.  They would not be available until Monday.

On Monday I called to let them know that my AC was not working.  When I got home that evening from work the apartment was cool.  Everything was fine until six days later (Saturday) the AC stopped working again.  Just as before I had to sweat until Monday.  Once again I called to let them know that the AC was not working.  So far, the AC has been working fine, however, I should have not been moved in to an apartment with a non-functioning AC.

I recently lost my job and let them know that I would be leaving by the end of December 2013.  I gave them a check for the month of December and told them that December was the last month on the lease and that fulfills my six-month lease agreement.  I was told that my lease was not up until January 31, 2014.  I asked how this was possible.  I had paid for six months worth of apartment rent.  They stated something about the first month was prorated and didn't count towards the six months.  Seriously?!  I moved in on July 7.  It's not like I moved in at the end of the month.  So that they can get MORE money out of tenants they don't count a month where I'm charged over 75% of the rent for the month and to compensate they charge an additional month?  What a ripoff!

I was then told that it's good I came in early because if you fail to give a 30-day notice then you're charged a "notice fee" which is equal to a month worth of rent.  It seems to me that Tonti Management is willing to do just about anything to screw their tenants over.. In particular, charging fees with each fee equal to a month worth of rent.

The representative talked to the bookkeeping of Sunlakes and advised me to just try to pay the last month.  I have written a letter to Robert Tonti, Registered Agent for Tonti Management.  I noticed on the corporate filings with the Louisiana Secretary of State, Tonti Management is an inactive corporation.  It says Voluntary Action with the last report filed on October 3, 1997.  For Business it says "You Lose, Inc." I looked the record up and it's the same information as for Tonti Management.  This corporation's status is inactive as well with the same Inactivity Reason as Voluntary Action.  i find a company name of "You Lose" be be an indication of how they treat their tenants.

My advice is to stay clear of Sunlakes and any apartment complex owned by Tonti Management.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 11/29/2013 11:50 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/sunlakes-apartments/kenner-louisiana-70065/sunlakes-apartments-tonti-management-ripoff-deceptive-kenner-louisiana-1103004. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on Sunlakes Apartments

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
3Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Administrative Services Manager Jennifer Gauthier Incompetent, Delusional, and Greedy

AUTHOR: Nick - ()

I submitted my correspondences to Mr. Robert Tonti, whom is listed as registered agent of Tonti Management.  Instead of Mr. Tonti responding, each time I receive a response from Jennifer K. Gautheir, Administrative Services Manager.  Ms. Jennifer Gauthier of Tonti Management continues to respond with a deluded belief that my anger towards Tonti Management is due to my job loss. Ms. Jennifer Gauthier seems to think that it's perfectly acceptable to have a contract that states it is six months in length but an ending date seven days shy of seven months.  In my response to Ms.  Jennifer Gauthier's comments that my statements are slanderous, I notified her that should Tonti Management attempt to hinder my Constitutional rights then I would seek legal action against Tonti Management and their attorney.  I would also file a complaint with the Louisiana Bar Association against their attorney's license to practice law.  In the first response I noticed a carbon copy of the letter Ms. Jennifer Gauthier sent was to resident file, the manager of Sunlake Apartments, and to what appears to be a law firm, Sutton, Alker & Rather, LLC.  I wonder if these attorneys are now aware of Tonti Management's deceptive contract.

On December 17, 2013 I received a billing statement that was, to me, more examples of a company that has no issues ripping of tenants (or previous tenants).  The total amount these crooked people expect me to pay is $979.50.  The way they added it up, if you want to call it that, was quite odd.  Below is the way it was outlined:

450.00    Forfeit Sec Dep - Unfulfilled    lease
648.00    Unexpired term oflease
275.50    Resurface damaged kitched    countertops
  50.00    Repair red stain in bedroom
    6.00    Film used
TOTAL DEDUCTIONS        1,429.50


I see a few issues here.  First, they are once again showing their greed by trying to take the security deposit as if any unfulfilled lease gives them some right to take the security deposit with NO credit towards the former leasee, which I feel is reflected when they claim the security deposity is forfeited.  Then, in the itemization Tonti Management does credit the amount of the lease.  Next is the false allegation of the countertop.  I mentioned this previously.  The quick walkthrough (i.e. less than five minutes) where the representative quickly flashed around the flashlight so qucikly there was no way she could see what the light was illuminating.  One of the areas was on the countertop where she noticed knifecuts.... Cuts you could tell had been there for quite some time (possibly years).  Next is the carpet stain which was there prior to me moving in.  The location of the stain was an area I had never really been in.  I never had anything in the room to cause a stain.  Never ate or drank (unless you count clear water) in the bedroom.  Finally, the film used.  Wow!  They are trying to charge me $6.00 for film that was never used.  I was there when the pictures were taken.  I noticed the camera was a digital camera.  Digital cameras do not use film.  Pictures are either stored on an SD card or in the camera's internal memory.  Another example of them trying to rip me off.

I have responded to the bililng statement.  I notified Ms. Jennifer Gauthier that the more antics Tonti Management attempt to pull then the more I have to publish about the company.  I will be publishing most of this on as many review sites as I can.  People need to be warned about how greedy and crooked Tonti Management are.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

False claims of damages

AUTHOR: Nicholas - ()

After a while I went look back on my counter top and did see the cuts the Sunlake representative was speaking of.  I could tell that the cuts were made quite some time ago.  Another issue I noticed was the speed and "accurancy" in which the walkthrough was performed.  The lady spent less than three minutes in my apartment.  When she had her flashlight she was shining it back and forth on the wall and floor very quickly.  At the rate the lady was going back and forth with her flashlight there was no way any human eye could process a detailed inventory that quickly.  What amazes me is that this woman was able to spot age old cuts on a counter and a spot in the carpet at such speeds.  It seems to me that she knew these issues were already there from a previous tenant and wnated to use those against me with the claim the damages were never reported before.


She took pictures of the "damanges."  Should Tonti Management and Sunlake refuse to give my security deposit and attempt to use those damages then they can rest assured I will bring the matter to court.  Maybe one of them can explain to a judge how cuts that are supposedly less than six months old look as if they have been there for years.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Author of original report

Sunlake Find Probems That Don't Exist

AUTHOR: Nicholas - ()

On Friday, November 30, 2013 I wrote a letter to Tonti Management, owner of Sunlake Apartments.  I expressed to the owner my concerns over the company's policies as well as their "6 month lease" which turns out is a 7-month lease.  I notified the owner of my RipOffReport.  Today, Tuesday, December 3, 2013 a representative from the local office came to my apartment to do a walk-through.  The lady claimed that the main office got my letter and wanted to do a walkthrough.  She said that it was odd that the office wanted to do this beofre a person moves out.  She took a picture of what she says are knife cuts in the countertop as well as a stain in the carpet in the bedroom.

The knifecuts I felt for in the countertop but couldn't see or feel these cuts.  The stain is something I didn't notice either.  I told the lady that these issues must be preexisting.  The woman responded that this is why a person should do an initial walkthrough of their apartment to report any problems.

It seems to me that corporate office got my letter and is now tyring to find damages that either don't exist or is a preexisting condition just so they can have a reason to keep the security deposit.  I thought the tactics were lowball before but now they are using new lowball tactics by them finding issues that don't exist.  Seems to me like they are trying to find a reason to keep the security deposit.  I'll definitely be listing all of this on reviews on apartment review sites.

I see why this company has a previous name of You Lose, Inc.  I'll definitely be listing all of this on apartment review websites.  I will also be posting this matter on apartment review websites.  People need to be warned of this company's tactices.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?