• Report: #859413
Complaint Review:

TaxAct / 2nd story sofware

  • Submitted: Mon, March 26, 2012
  • Updated: Tue, March 27, 2012

  • Reported By: ariel — Plantation Florida USA
TaxAct / 2nd story sofware
Internet United States of America

TaxAct / 2nd story sofware TaxACT Free Edition: Free Federal Tax Return for Everyone! Internet

*Author of original report: As a courtesy we have issued a refund

REBUTTAL BOX™ | Respond to this Report! | Consumer Comment

What's this?
Corporate Advocacy Program

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight:
Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

 " TaxACT Free Edition: Free Federal Tax Return for Everyone!"

But free is far away from from the truth is. When you are finally deciding to do your dreaded income tax filing , spend time to get all your papers,1099's.W2's etc',sit down and "enjoy" hours of figuring how to complete
all those endless forms. There is a surprise in the end. Just before printing and emailing a copy to the IRS and for yourself a window pops open and ask you how you would like to pay for that service? credit card,or deduct the fee from your refund? There is no other choice of course ,if you want to finish  and be done with it. You can of course always, just drop the whole thing and start all over again on another site or the old fashion way by hand. Who in the right of mind wants to do this and start it all over?

***********That is how they get you.

It is like your dentist would tell you after hours of root canal that he did it wrong and he must do it all over again on your other tooth.

 So you just give them your credit card info and learn AGAIN the hard way that (TINSTAAFL) DID AND  WILL ALWAYS EXIST.....("There is no such thing as a free lunch".)

When I contact them by email ,their response was That I didn't call first (there is no number to call on any part of their site.) that I used the Deluxe version (I just clicked on the window to see what it covers, and than returned and continued where I was.) that I was asked to consent to their license agreement ( yes, when you go to their site you check mark the little window that you agree to all their terms,but who reads all those small print,and there is no mention  that it is NOT FREE anymore.) That I printed a copy of my return.

" it is the user's responsibility to contact 2nd Story's Customer Service Department within 30 days of the original billing date to request a full refund of the fees paid. If a return was printed, there would be no refund issued."
( Yes, I did print one for my records, but there was no mentioning anywhere that there is a cost of a minimum of $9.95 to keep a copy for yourself before hand.)

As anyone can see it is all a rip off by design ,a bait and switch ,a "come on it is all free till the sweet end when you can not back up anymore ,after spending countless hours doing your most beloved chore of filing your yearly taxes.) SO PLEASE, JUST TAKE IT LIKE A REAL TAX PAYER !!! If the Government can screw you why can't Tax Act/2nd story software do some FOREPLAY just a bit earlier?

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/26/2012 09:48 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/taxact-2nd-story-sofware/internet/taxact-2nd-story-sofware-taxact-free-edition-free-federal-tax-return-for-everyone-int-859413. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on TaxAct / 2nd story sofware

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
1Author 0Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

As a courtesy we have issued a refund

AUTHOR: ariel - (USA)

After my complaint to the company they admitted  they do charge for the FREE service ,(it is always a "YES" the customer used it ,even though as they claim they can not verify)

 " Because we cannot see your return, we cannot determine if you used this feature or not."

They say they issued a refund so it is all Good ! ,but disabled my account,  is it all Bad ?
 In short it is over.

 The lesson I learned , It is FREE till it is not FREE when you use it ,than you complain show them they were wrong and they will issue a refund "as a courtesy" to let you know it was NOT really  free.

 " While you are not eligible for a refund, as a courtesy we have issued a refund in the amount of $9.95.  We have also disabled your account.  If you need access to your account in the future, the fee of $9.95 will need to be paid prior to it being re-enabled."
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?