• Report: #104722
Complaint Review:

V.I.P. Pet Resort

  • Submitted: Sat, August 21, 2004
  • Updated: Sat, August 21, 2004

  • Reported By:Port Orange Florida
V.I.P. Pet Resort
6222 Airport Road Port Orange, Florida U.S.A.

V.I.P. Pet Resort dog died in their care, promised to help prove they were not negligent then did not Port Orange internet

*Author of original report: Not Exactly What Happened But OK

*UPDATE Employee: Manager's Response

What's this?
What's this?
What's this?
Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation?
Fix it the right way.
Corporate Advocacy Program™

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

We chose this kennel because they were air-conditioned, had a friendly staff, and were a member of the American Boarding Kennels Association.

We dropped our healthy dog off to be boarded for 4 days. We know he was healthy because he had a vet visit 4 days prior for a minor skin rash. They had strict instructions as to his medication and exercise (his breed can be prone to heat prostration and breathing problems).

We went to pick him up and was told he passed away. The last they had checked on him was 5:45pm the nite before and did not notice this until after I had paid my bill and was waiting for them to bring him up. This was close to 9 a.m. The manager told me several times how sorry they were and they would pay for a necropsy to be done, up to $200. They were so sorry they would even transport him to the vet for me. They told me this probably 4 or 5 times. I went home to find a vet to perform the necropsy.

I called several vets and was told by 3 that the necropsy needed to be done soon and by a pathologist. The only one was a lab 40 miles away. Two other vets recommended 2 different locations in that same town. When I called them back to tell them this, they said OK and just needed driving directions.

I personally drove the driving instructions to them, along with the paperwork they may have needed, even though I faxed it directly to the lab also. I was told they would 'take care of it for me. And again, they were sorry.'

Two hours later we received a message on our answering machine from the owner of the business who said she was sorry, but they could not transport him for us. We could come pick him up or they would bury him on their property by 5 pm.

I called the owner back and asked what happened about all the promises to help me and have a necropsy. She responded they were too busy and couldn't do it but if I gave her receipts for my expenses for the labwork, she would reimburse me. I told her that I would not like to tote my dead companion in the car with my 2 kids all that way as I am grieving and it is too difficult. I asked if she would pay to have him creamated, and she reluctantly agreed.

In the end we decided that he could be buried on their property as I was too distraught to take care of matters myself, the children would have been traumatized and my husband was too enraged to be in anyone's presence without being abusive to them.

My questions are: if they didn't feel responsible, why did they continually offer to cover ANY necropsy charges? Why did it take so long to notice a dead animal in their facility? Why did they prolong the matter about transporting him if they never intended to do so? And most importantly, what happened to basic compassion?

The only compensation I have for this whole matter is that the owner said they would credit me back the kennel fees I paid before I knew my friend was dead. I do not know if they were negligent in his care or not; he could have died from any number of things. The manager seemed genuine but the owner was acting as though this was business as usual,without any concern for the animal or its owners. It boiled down to her worry about what it was going to cost her.

Very sad family
Port Orange, Florida
U.S.A.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/21/2004 07:04 AM and is a permanent record located here: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/vip-pet-resort/port-orange-florida-32128/vip-pet-resort-dog-died-in-their-care-promised-to-help-prove-they-were-not-negligent-t-104722. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year.

Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Click Here to read other Ripoff Reports on V.I.P. Pet Resort

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Search Tips
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author 1Consumer 0Employee/Owner
Updates & Rebuttals

#1 Author of original report

Not Exactly What Happened But OK

AUTHOR: - ()

 Someone thinks they have a good memory of the situation but it isn't quite so. I am aware that a hurricane passed through but it was 1 or 2 days before we boarded him. Your facility was one of the few with electricity and air conditioning. We boarded him because we went to Orlando (Disney World) and in fact, had no issues driving either there or the way home. There weren't any. There would have been no problem for any member of the staff to take him for a necropsy there. I wasn't told the facility was running on a bare staff. There was no mention of it. There were 3 people there when I arrived to pick him up. No one tried to call me ever. My husband was at home waiting with the children for me to come home with our dog.

The manager took a long time to come out from the kennel to tell me that he was dead. And she looked shocked and upset for me. I was never out for money. It was about someone showing us compassion. If I wanted compensation, I would have gone for the jugular--Google how much an AKC male English Bulldog (in tact) goes for. Last year I had a pet sugar glider that died. Do you know that the vet and staff sent us a sympathy card? They hugged me when I left. He was having problems and I'd only been there twice. They didn't really know me but they showed me compassion and that's what I didn't get from the owner. You cant tell me that's not the way it happened because you weren't there. I never take my dogs to a kennel because of what happened. He could have died of natural causes, sure. I'm sure it happens all the time. Hopefully you have some protocol set in place now--what to do and say to distraught owners.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 UPDATE Employee

Manager's Response

AUTHOR: VIP Pet Resort - (USA)

Unfortunately I was not the manager of the kennel at the time of this issue.  I am the manager now, and after finding this report I did some research to find out the circumstances regarding this issue.

What I found out is that the dog that passed away at the kennel did so during a hurricane.  In fact Central Florida was hit with 3 hurricanes that year.  According to the manager at that time the morning that the owner came to pick up their dog was very busy and the kennel had a limited staff because of the hurricane that passed through our area the night before.  The previous manager also pointed out that she was aware of the dog's passing at 7 am when she arrived at the kennel, and that she was unable to reach the owner on the phone.  The manager was not in the office when the pet's owner arrived and the kennel technician that spoke to the owner was not aware of the issue.  With many of the roads closed between port orange and Orlando the owner of the kennel could not possibly deliver the dog to get a necropsy.  The reason that the kennel owner would and did agree to the pay for a necropsy is that it would have satisfied the pet's owner and proved that there was no form of negligence on the kennel's part.  

VIP Pet Resort is a small family owned and operated business that has been at the same location for over 35 years.  We are still in business because we treat all of our guests like they are our own!!

     

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

X