Report: #1353791

Complaint Review: Karastan/Mohawk Carpet

  • Submitted: Fri, February 03, 2017
  • Updated: Fri, February 03, 2017
  • Reported By: Durham NC — Durham North Carolina USA
  • Karastan/Mohawk Carpet


Karastan/Mohawk Carpet Poor Quality Carpet, Poor Warranty, Poor Service Nationwide

*Author of original report: Warranty on Karastan Website

*UPDATE Employee: Response from company

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

We purchased 450 sq/ft of Karastan Intriga Colours Carpet in 2013 from Carpet One in Durham. In 2016 we noticed that it was wearing out. We tried dealing with the store, however it went out of business. We did find out that the carpet is warrantied for 25 years (we were never provided a copy of said warranty, just a receipt), and contacted Mohawk. This is where the scam lies. The stipulations of the warrenty are supposedly that there has to be a specific type of cleaning every 18 months. We had the cleaning, but the first one was after 2 years. We are now stuck replacing the carpet. I have had builder's grade carpet hold up better. Beware of this company and its products.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/03/2017 09:24 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Author of original report

Warranty on Karastan Website

AUTHOR: - ()


Thank you for your response, however we did not even know the carpet was Karastan until it started to fall apart. Your distributor, Carpet One of Durham, only provided a receipt for the purchase, no warranty information. The receipt lists the carpet as "Red Barron," whatever that is. It does provide the style as Intriga Colours, which is how we tracked down the correct manufacturer.

You do not have to worry about the distributor at this point, as they are out of business.

As I am in the process of purchasing new carpet for 2 other rooms, and replacing the terrible product we purchased from you, you can be sure that I will not be buying anything from Karastan or Mohawk. You may have saved a small amount imediately by not standing behind your product, however you are losing at least twice as much in the long run by losing this customer and others who read about your products.

All of this could have been avoided with better customer service if this is just a one-off on your product.

Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee

Response from company

AUTHOR: Mohawk Flooring - ()

Hi there, I'm Laura from Mohawk, and I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with your carpet. As you state, the warranty does require that the carpet be cleaned every 18 months by a professional carpet cleaner. We have a copy of the Karastan carpet warranty on Karastan's website, and the cleaning requirement is on page 2 of the brochure:  I'll be sending your review to our Consumer Affairs team, and thank you for providing your feedback - I'm very sorry again for your experience. Take care - Laura

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.