Report: #1307621

Complaint Review: Rhino's Hauling - Redwood City California

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: Flimner — Berkeley California USA
  • Rhino's Hauling 728 VCrompton Road Redwood City, California USA

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Unfortunately, we have Been deceived. These "good guys," as they call themselves, basically took us for a ride. They were supposed to remove an old leaking pond from our back yard and back fill it with "soil." I am not even going to say how much we paid because it is now embarrassingly painful.

The work took place over a year ago so we only discovered that we were wronged because we started digging up the yard in order to lay a new path and plant flowers. We discovered tons of debris that was simply buried to hide it, and tons of cement still in place that was supposed to be completely removed or at least "shaved" down to 10" BELOW THE SURFACE - enough for planting.

Then, to make matters worse, we realized that just below the surface (1-3"), they dumped tons of sand instead of soil, like they promised. Not even "good ol' dirt." Just sand.

When I contacted the owner, he immediately went on the offensive and started trying to list things they did do and what was verbally agreed on. Pointing out that I told him we were only going to use the yard to plant flowers or a lawn. Whatever we decide to do with our property when he's done is no one's business. We should be able to do whatever we decide to do, whether we change our minds or not. Either way, it should have been cleared enough to use without feeling like we were digging through a land fill. Rian is basically shirking any responsibility at all. Instead of making certain we remained happy customers by taking care of business. He just did whatever he wanted behind our backs, took our money, and slipped out as quickly as possible. And now refuses to acknowledge our concerns.

I am certain that he will even be so bold as to answer this with more of his unapologetic bull, just like a two-bit bully. And that's part of the problem. He doesn't even care to make it right - at any level.

So this is a big warning to people who do not want to get screwed and end up chasing these people later for money back or getting a job actually completed correctly. These guys are underhanded and money-motivated only! They will do the least they can for the most they can get. And they'll do it all to your face, with a smile and a handshake

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/25/2016 10:16 AM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/rhinos-hauling/redwood-city-california-94061/rhinos-hauling-rhinos-hauling-demolition-rian-carrol-incomplete-work-redwood-city-c-1307621. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Updates & Rebuttals


#3 REBUTTAL Owner of company

False and dishonest information

AUTHOR: Rhino's Hauling - (USA)

POSTED: Sunday, August 07, 2016

 Fritz, Thank you for your pictures and response. The pictures show exactly the work you wanted done and below the surface area. I'm sorry you feel the need to bash my integrity with false information on the internet even after I reached out to you. I called your landscape contractor and he told me there was nothing wrong with the demo we had done. I have done everything in my power to help you with this issue. I have offered to come out and help you 3 times. You declined. I think you are upset at yourself and your decision for not having us remove the entire pond. I also think you are upset because I didn't want to be your friend and hang out with you outside of work. I'm sorry you feel the way you do but I know one day we will cross paths again and we will be able to discuss your issues like men without third party mediums and false accusations. Please refrain from making up anymore lies and false information on the Internet. Thank you.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

We Stand By Our Report

AUTHOR: - ()

POSTED: Friday, June 03, 2016

We maintain our original complaint and can even add to it a bit. Besides not breaking our pond down to the base level, as we dig the yard up, we have been discovering huge chunks of cement from the original surrounding path that were supposed to be completely removed.

We have also found about a dozen plastic water bottles buried in the rubble. These were from water that we supplied to the workers along with snacks throughout the day in order to be courteous and friendly to everyone. What a return on our trying to be gracious hosts.

We also have plenty of photos that show clearly the difference in height from the bottom of the pool versus the height of wall left behind. All outer walls were supposed to be be razed to an even level with the bottom of the pond. Simple.

If these people despised us or simply did not like us, why bother taking the job on and taking our money? We do not comprehend the attitude or treatment.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

My sincere apology:

AUTHOR: Rhino's Hauling - (USA)

POSTED: Tuesday, May 31, 2016

 Hi Fritz, I am very sorry that your project was not completed up to your standards. Although this work was completed over 1 year ago, I still remember it well. We demolished a large concrete pond with compression jack hammers. You told me that you didn't need it all removed because you were going to put grass over the area. We removed all of the walls below the surface level and put holes in the bottom for water to drain. All work had to be done by hand with a 6 man crew and brought through a 3ft side yard. We also removed a tuff shed, foundation, and a wooden trellis (which we discounted a lot because we were already there doing work.) Throughout the 5 long days we were there, I spoke with you every step of the way. You were there on site everyday and saw how hard my crew and I worked. You also ate lunch with us. At the end of the day, you and your wife came out and were very pleased with the work we did. We walked the yard together. At no point did you say you were unhappy nor did you question our work. The truth is, I value my customers very much and I pride myself on integrity and honesty. I have never had any issue with my clients because I strive to provide excellent service no matter the size or cost of job. That's why when you contacted me about this, I said I'm happy to come out so we could resolve this. You told me "that day won't work for us, I believe we will opt to resolve this in a different manner." So I'm sorry you felt the need to go online and question my integrity but you never really gave me a chance. Even after all of this, I'm still willing to come out and meet with you because you are a customer and I am a man of my word. If anyone has any questions regarding this issue please contact me at 6507877160. I'm happy to provide any other information. Thank you very much. Sincerely, Rian Carroll (Owner) rhinoshauling@gmail.com

Respond to this report!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now