X  |  CLOSE
Report: #808822

Complaint Review: Ripoff Report | So Cal Lighting - Internet

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: business101 — Huntington Beach California United States of America
  • So Cal Lighting 9800 D Topanga Canyon Blvd. #226 Internet United States of America

So Cal Lighting REVIEW: Customer Satisfaction Commitment: So Cal Lighting reinforces the ideal that customer satisfaction is of utmost importance and continues its trend of improving consumer services.
*UPDATE: Recognized by Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Program as a safe business service. So Cal Lighting pledges to always resolve any issues: feel safe, confident & secure when doing business with So Cal Lighting, recognized by Ripoff Report Verified™ as a safe business service.

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

REVIEW UPDATE: November 30, 2018: Socal/Coast to Coast Lighting remains committed to increased customer satisfaction and has improved their business practices over the years to better serve their customers. Socal/Coast to Coast Lighting is truly dedicated to making sure their customers are satisfied and that any complaints which do arise are addressed promptly and fairly.

To date, Socal/Coast to Coast Lighting has made good faith efforts to resolve all complaints reported on Ripoff Report. Based on our experience, the member business has proven to be among the top members of the Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program as a Verified Safe Business™.

Over time and since becoming a member, Socal/Coast to Coast Lighting has remained actively engaged and improving the way they address customer service complaints. As an active and current member of the Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program we are happy to report that now more than ever Socal/Coast to Coast Lighting remains committed to improving customer satisfaction.

Remember, no company or individual can ever satisfy 100% of the people 100% of the time. There are no products or services that will always be perfect for everyone and even the best companies will receive complaints from time to time. However, by participating in the Corporate Advocacy Program, the member business has made a commitment to working with its customers to resolve complaints quickly and fairly whenever possible.

Please keep in mind that as a consumer you have some responsibilities as well. Success has many definitions that based on your past experiences, current situation and your perceived expectations. Success with any product or service is always based on the proper application and understanding. The fastest car will not run if you never turn the engine on. Look at how you used the product or service that was provided in relation with the instructions that you received. The Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction Program will help you get your voice heard but please be prepared with documentation and fair representation of your concern, also have an idea of how the company can fix your concern. Can they offer additional services, extend warranties, offer a fair refund or just get you talking with someone that can help. ..let them know and let us know!

*Any consumer not receiving satisfaction from a member of the Corporate Advocacy Program should email us at editor@ripoffreport.com.

Ripoff Report Verified™ REVIEW

EDitor's UPDATE: Positive rating and recognition has been given to So Cal Lighting for its full commitment to quality customer service.

Ripoff Report's discussions with So Cal Lighting have uncovered an ongoing dedication by the company to total client satisfaction. This means that clients can expect that the company will work towards finding a mutually satisfactory resolution to any concerns. So Cal Lighting listens carefully to client concerns and sees them as an opportunity to learn from past mistakes and become more efficient as a company in the services offered and the support for those services.

So Cal Lighting's CEO, Mr. Mike Hanna, has been working tirelessly to attain customer satisfaction levels that meet his high standards. He apologizes to anyone who has had issues with shipping in the past and would like to express that such events will become a non-issue moving forward. Making sure that customers get the right product in a timely manner is of utmost importance. It does no one any good when items get shipped back and forth, so we are settling this matter as soon as possible.

One of the things Ripoff Report learned in the course of its review is that typical customer feedback reads, "So Cal Lighting truly communicate all aspects of the service in a timely and effective manner. We are very pleased with the responsiveness that the employees show us. They are serious about meeting commitments, and deliver on their promises."

So Cal Lighting is Ripoff Report Verified
Ripoff Report Verified™ .. part of Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program.A program that benefits the consumer, assures them of complete satisfaction and confidence when doing business with a member business..

The information provided in this report below is based on comments made by Michael Hanna during an onsite inspection held by a third party verification company with no biases toward So Cal Lighting.

Coast2coast Lighting and So Cal Lighting specializes in providing lighting fixtures for a variety of needs including: home, landscape, business, residential, and commercial lighting. With 20 years of experience in the industry Michael Hanna expressed what sets them apart from other lighting companies, "with our expertise and longevity in this business we feel like we offer an advantage to new customers. Especially ones that have no idea about that they are buying." Mr. Hanna further stated, "we should be able to make sure your buying the right products. We don't oversell you, and we don't undersell you. You should never have to buy these lights again if you buy them from us."

Leads for Coast2coast Lighting and So Cal Lighting are primarily obtained through online advertising via Google and MSN, "for most of the categories that we offer we're usually in the top ranking." Once a potential client has expressed interest in Coast2coast Lighting & So Cal Lighting their primary resource will be their website which has detailed descriptions of all their services. You can also call in and talk to one of their many sales representative who not only can inform their client's about the products, but truly enjoy selling the products, “everything you see on the website is something that we've basically handpicked. Even though there are over 6,000 items...we put them in our hands, and make sure that we like them and would put them in our own homes." Additionally, if the potential client can provide the appropriate details, "we usually can tell you what type of product you're going to need to use without being on location."



CUSTOMER CARE & COMPLAINT RESOLUTION FROM SO CAL LIGHTING

During the onsite interview, Mr. Hanna was asked to describe some of the common complaints that they receive. Mr. Hanna expressed that while they rarely have any complaints, the most common would be if the manufactures that they utilize made some type of adjustment to a product without informing Coast2coast Lighting & So Cal Lighting. If an incident like this arises, "at that point obviously we take care of it...we're not going to make you keep it. We're going to take it back or try to match whatever you were looking for." If necessary they will offer a refund, but most customers are satisfied with their dedication to providing high quality products, "our satisfaction rating has got to be the best in the industry." This is expressed additionally through Mr. Hanna's follow up practices with customers who may have had a less that satisfactory experience, "one of the things I pride myself on is I want to make sure the customers are happy...sometimes 6 months to a year later I'll email them and follow up. Make sure that everything is ok."

When asked to comment on the complaints posted on Ripoff Report's website Mr. Hanna explained that the comments came from a past customer who purchased handmade lights. During the ordering process the customer requested the lights to be finished with black paint. However, once the customer received the lights he decided he no longer wanted to black paint, and stripped the lights of their color. Once he did this he realized that the fixtures were made with copper, and he wanted brass. Mr. Hanna stated, "everything was exactly the way he ordered it, he just changed his mind." To assure future and current clients Coast2coast Lighting & So Cal Lighting have each client rate them, all ratings and comments can be accessed from their website.

When asked what type of changes they have made to honor their commitment to make things right with the customer per the request of Ripoff Report, Mr. Hanna stated, "we keep it a small family owned business in order to take care of our customers better.

SO CAL LIGHTING – WHY OUTDOOR LANDSCAPE LIGHTING FROM US



We use 200 Degree Spring Loaded Sockets with Stainless Springs and Extra Long Lead Wires, and Universal Socket Pins for every Bulb

Heavy Duty Tempered Lenses and Glare Reduced Designs

Marine Brass Hardware utilizing Heavy Duty Materials

Easy Re-Lamping / Loading Features...Even in 10 years you'll never have a problem changing your bulb!

Material and Natural Finishes that will last a Lifetime (we guarantee it!)

Lifetime Warranty on all Brass and Copper Materials

User Friendly and "Tool-less" Designs including Hand Adjustable Swivels

High temperature Gaskets and Seals

Standard Componentry for Easy Maintenance

Heavy Duty PVC Ground Stakes

A Large line of Outdoor Transformers including LED and Multi-Tap

Huge inventory for Fast Shipping, and prompt construction for all of our hand-made Brass & Copper items!

SO CAL LIGHTING – STATEMENT FROM CEO MIKE HANNA

" So Cal Lighting, Coast 2 Coast Lighting Co, and Cal Direct Lighting are currently the highest rated and most widely trusted lighting manufacturers and distributors in the United States due in part to their high adaptability and continued improvement in areas such as customer service and product handling. Their web services ensure that customers find their product quickly and easily and receive their order in a likewise manner. We encourage everyone to check out their "About Us" page and get to know them a bit better before you purchase, you won't be disappointed!

So Cal Lighting's team have expressed that they feel very confident doing their job properly. So Cal Lighting takes employee satisfaction seriously as well. Employee feedback and surveys reveal comments such as this, "So Cal Lighting employs dozens of dedicated and motivated workers, all of which have been highly trained in creating a positive experience for our customers. We encourage any and all of our customers to submit feedback on our services so that we may better serve in the future."

Ripoff Report was pleased to learn that So Cal Lighting's past and current approach to business is focused on its pledge to total commitment towards client and employee satisfaction.



STATED IMPROVEMENTS FROM SO CAL LIGHTING

So Cal Lighting recognizes that complaints posted on Ripoff Report (whether true or not) are issues that need to be addressed, not ignored. If handled correctly, complaints can be valuable learning opportunities. With the feedback generated by Ripoff Report's review, So Cal Lighting has made organizational changes allowing its clients and employees a more streamlined approach to problem resolution and a commitment to a great client experience.

In summary, after our review, which included discussions with Mike Hanna, Ripoff Report is convinced that So Cal Lighting is committed to quality delivery of services resulting in total client satisfaction.

How does a business get Ripoff Report Verified™

The member business allows Ripoff report to email everyone from the past. Those who respond to Ripoff report with a valid complaint must be take care of.. they have made a commitment that if anyone contacts Ripoff Report in the future, they will make things right within 14 days. The member business must err on the side of their customers. Otherwise the member business is off the program.

Ripoff Report has determined that So Cal Lighting meets Ripoff Report Verified™ standards which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. Members of the Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation and Customer Satisfaction program do pay a fee for our on-site review, 24 hour monitoring and for support with customers to resolve any disagreements.



Ripoff Report sends a 3rd party service to do an onsite inspection of the new member business. The on-site inspection / review does not mean that the products or services offered by the business have been evaluated or endorsed by Ripoff Report, and has not made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services. We can verify, that Ripoff Report went to the business, verified their business or “work from home business”, there for, if a customer in the future does not get treated correctly, Ripoff Report can get the problem resolved. If not, and the customers is right, the member business will be taken off the Corporate Advocacy Program. Remember, Ripoff Report emailed every customer from the past that filed a complaint to make sure the member business made things right with customers from the past. Again, to err on the side of their customer, those from the past and those in the future.

Read more about why consumers should feel confident when doing business with a member of Ripoff Report's Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program. Yes, it’s a long name for a program that does a lot for both consumers and businesses alike.

Read about Ripoff Report Corporate Advocacy Business Remediation & Customer Satisfaction Program, a program that benefits the consumer, assures them of complete satisfaction and confidence when doing business with a member business. This program works.

As a matter of policy, when a business becomes a member of the Corporate Advocacy Program they agree to allow Ripoff Report to contact every client who filed a complaint so they can make things right with them. In order to confirm that the complaints were resolved, Ripoff Report is copied on all responses so we can insure that the member business did right by their customer.

NOW TO THE ORIGINAL REPORT THAT WAS FILED

----------------------------------

So Cal Lighting Coast 2 Coast Lighting They lied about product stock, shipment and refund policy Internet

This company lied from the start, said they had the item shown online in stock and could ship within two days. The job I needed it for had a fixed deadline and when I told them they assured me they could get it to me ahead of the deadline. They did not! They also promised they would fully refund my invoice if I did not get it by the deadline. They refuse to talk to me! They say do a return on the website and lose 20% restock and freight. This Place Is A RIP-OFF!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 12/13/2011 01:35 PM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/so-cal-lighting/internet/so-cal-lighting-coast-2-coast-lighting-they-lied-about-product-stock-shipment-and-refund-808822. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals

REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author
0Consumer
1Employee/Owner

#2 Author of original report

Lie upon lie, it just gets deeper...

AUTHOR: business101 - (United States of America)

POSTED: Tuesday, January 03, 2012
In fairness I will address point by point this company's inaccuracies in their rebuttal.
First, they did not assist me many times, in fact they (or one of their sales associates) kept assuring me that the shipment would go out or had gone out and they were simply waiting for the computers to come back online to supply me with a tracking number.
The owner has his facts wrong, his salesman finally admitted that the shipment had not gone out on Monday or Tuesday but assured me it would go out and that I would have it in hand on Friday. As this was the last day I could get it and still do the job I told him that if it could not arrive by Friday I wanted the order canceled as it would be too late to fulfill my client's requested deadline. The salesman said he would make sure it went out so that I would have it by Friday and told me (when I pressed him for it) that he would email me the tracking number.
When he finally sent the tracking number it indicated that a ticket for the shipment had been generated but that the shipment was not yet in UPS hands (that was Thursday afternoon). Friday morning I called, got the owner who rudely told me that even though it hadn't been picked up Thursday I might strill get it Friday and if I didn't I could return it and request a refund (Per The Terms On The Website). As I said before, there was no way the shipment was going to arrive in time (any first year UPS user would know that) and that was the end of any chance of doing the job for my client.
This guy, the owner, has never apologized for his ineptitude, his rudeness or his lack of competency but rather wants us to feel that he is very professional because he does so many "BIG" orders and this was jus a small order.
Lastly, if doing everything he could means yelling at me for bothering him and costing him money by calling him on his toll free line then I guess he needs to read a book on customer service. There is nothing in his rebuttal that  accurately reflects the true course of events! Lie upon lie!
Respond to this report!

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Item was shipped on the day it was promised

AUTHOR: John mitchell - (U.S.A.)

POSTED: Tuesday, January 03, 2012
This customer ordered 1 spool of rope light, and we have assisted him many times over the phone, we even called him many times to do our best. We promised the customer the rope light would ship that friday and provided him with the tracking #. The item DID ship that Friday! He then kept calling over and over (he called the sales # instead of the customer service # many times, which delayed getting back to him). We promised him a full refund if the item did not ship on Friday, but the item did ship on Friday, and he received the package. Because of that we do have a small restocking fee as per the terms and conditions clearly posted on our website. He also wants us to pay the shipping back!

He could have simply refused the package, paid no shipping back, and we would have then been able to refund him! We ship via UPS, so if he didn't want the product why did he accept the package?! We initially had a delay as we were moving to a new location and did not ship it that day due to a clerical error. He had called looking for his rope light, and after discovering the error we then promised him a later date IF he still wanted the order, as we promised a FULL refund before the product shipped if he did not! He agreed to the later date and  the product shipped as promised. We apologize that we were not able to fully satisfy this customer, but we did everything we could! We have dealt with tens of thousands of customers over the years, and as we try, we cannot satisfy everyone. But from what we can tell, 99.7% or so of our customers are satisfied with our business, and we deal with large accounts and bulk orders almost daily! 
Respond to this report!