Ripoff Report Needs Your Help!
Report: #1503695

Complaint Review: Red Tag Mattress Furniture and Clearance - Houston Texas

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: Leslie — Houston TX United States
  • Author Not Confirmed What's this?
  • Why?
  • Red Tag Mattress Furniture and Clearance 6476 FM 1960 West Houston, Texas United States

Red Tag Mattress Furniture and Clearance Dishonest about furniture, warranty, delivery and Horrible customer service. Houston Texas

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

This entire process has been a nightmare and I hope No-one goes through this again. .. First  When we bought our mattress on 12/02, the mattress we were told was in stock and ready to go ( 10 days before our move). On the afternoon of 12/12 ( the day of our move) we were informed they couldn’t find the bed. At this point we had no bed as we had given ours to our daughter. After hours of back and forth and us refusing to buy a more expensive mattress we had never seen or trade for another mattress we’ve never seen. We ended up having to sleep on a loaner mattress from them and wait for our mattress. The mattress was awful and it was hard to sleep.

When they delivered our mattress (3 days later), they delivered the other chair to our dining room table which was previously broken. THEY BROKE THAT CHAIR ASSEMBLING IT AND LEFT IT. If we hadn't checked, we could've been seriously injured. They also stained our headboard putting the mattress on. We were told they would come out and bring a new chair and clean the headboard. When Leslie came out to clean the headboard and bring a new chair on 12/21, we told her  the recliner didn't work on the sofa. Leslie cleaned the headboard and took pictures of the recliner saying she'd have it looked into.

Days later, nothing.  On 12/24, I sent a follow up text. As always, I would have to call almost daily to get updates.

  We were then told, Tony, would be coming out before my husband’s surgery ( as I told them he had surgery on 12/30 several times) to fix the couch. On  12/29 according to Leslie, Tony called us and was headed over. He did  not. He did eventually come out around 3pm that day and stated the entire mechanism ( on the brand new couch!) was bad. 

I have asked that the sofa and love seat be returned however per policy, I was eventually told it won’t happen.  I got a call from Beverly who stated she was unaware of all the issues and that she knew we will not be refunded unless we choose something else from the company.  I explained that  I see there is a refund policy on their website and she states it doesn't count. When we went in to buy these items the salesperson (Leslie) saw my husband is a tall large man, he asked specifically if the couch had a metal frame, was sturdy  and if the weight capacity was sufficient and was TOLD IT WAS!!!!!!!  In fact, Leslie got on the phone to confirm it with someone while we were in the store. 

While on the phone, Beverly stated that the couch her sales person/manager/Leslie, sold us was the least expensive they sell, doesn't have good steel block and mechanisms, and is the lowest end thing they carry. Beverly told me  she would never have sold us the couch since she sells more expensive items in the Katy store she manages. When speaking to Beverly she repeatedly stated she didn’t mean to sound harsh but this sofa wasn’t mean for larger people. 

Originally Beverly offered to trade the sofa out and eat the cost for a “better” one but at this point I was so done I just wanted a refund and to leave them behind. I could hear Beverly getting annoyed that I did not want to continue with them. Beverly stated she would call me back after speaking with the owners. 

After not hearing from Beverly for two hours I called and she said she hadn’t heard back from the owners yet but she was sure they would not refund. I advised that again we asked her sales person if this would worked and because she stated it would that it is under  the Texas implied warranty fitness for particular purpose (2.315) she stated it’s not their problem it’s under Ashley furniture’s 1 year part warranty and that we could have it fixed and keep our unfit sofa, trade it in for another ( and apparently pay more), or get a store credit.  Beverly then said we only had a 1year warranty because we didn’t buy the 5 year when we were specifically told by Leslie that we had a 5 year warranty.  She then began to state she could not help that we bought a couch that was not made for... and I answered “ for fat people?” At that point, after being insulted for our weight and for not spending enough money to get a decent product from them, I hung up and told her to call me when she had her answer from the owners.

At this point my husband, who was about to have surgery, had to intervene since I was beyond upset. Beverly had emailed me at this point stating the sofa has a good weight limit and should work for us however again on the phone with my husband ( she was on  speaker phone), she said she wouldn’t have sold it to us and begins saying how her coworker, Leslie, just knows design and not construction and how she sales higher end at her store and we didn’t pay enough. Eventually, he tells her to just send a new couch of the same version since we are apparently stuck with it as she went from stating they would eat the cost of a better couch to stating we’d have to pay more. Beverly states she would order it right then. 

On 12/31 our daughter’s queen  bed frame breaks with her and I in the bed ( I was tucking her in and it snaps). I email and text the message and photos to red tag/ Beverly, Leslie and call and leave a message  with no response since it is a holiday. On 1/2/21, at 11:00AM I call again and speak to Beverly, I tell her that  Leslie had stated when we bought the frame that she ordered another to keep in the warehouse in case other wanted it ( it’s very cute and sparkly). Beverly states she will look into it and get back to me. At around 5pm, my husband calls and leaves a message and at 7pm I email again regarding the couch( which we are waiting to hear about) and the now broken bed. 

I then receive an email at 7:18 on 1/2 from Beverly at RedTag letting me know the couch is on back order (the couch she stated was the lowest end thing they sell) but did not give me a date. She stated “During our discussion, I thought we discussed Leslie ordering the bed already, but I will follow up and make sure that is taken care of.  We do not have  Delivery crew Sunday/Monday, so the switch out will. need to be on Tuesday.  Let me double check all inventory and get back to you by Monday.” 

On Monday 1/4, I emailed and texted at 5pm since no one emailed or called us to let us know if they had the bed frame and would be delivering.  After texting Beverly’s personal number she gave my husband, she responded at 9:30 “My apologies I was scheduled off today I will follow up with you tomorrow once I arrive at 10:00” 

I understand being off however after multiple instances of problems, you’d think the manager would care enough to keep her word. 

On Tuesday 1/5 at 11am, I messaged as again I had not heard from RedTag. I received a message stating “You are now scheduled for switch out tomorrow.  I had to get with dispatch and now it’s scheduled.  Sofa is on back order until February 9th.”  Then at 7:35 I received a text to confirm that Leslie was handling it, I then reiterated to her that “No. I said when we bought the bed, Leslie told us she had ordered another one to keep on hand since it was so cute she knew others would want it. I mentioned it to you since there was a chance it was still there and you wouldn’t have to order it. We have not heard from Leslie since around Christmas.” 

I then received a text back stating we were now scheduled for a Thursday delivery instead of the next day (Wednesday).  I Was then told “I also wanted to let you know this bed does not come with a warranty, we are doing a onetime switch out as a courtesy.  Future reference no pressure on side rails as this bed is not meant to handle much weight on sides.  I try to normally tell all my customers this.  Thank you so much! “.  

To which I replied” I did not put pressure on the side rails. This bed Is for a 70lb kid. I was on the bed NOT the rails when I tucked her in.  It is cracked in the middle, not just the rails. If you could please send me In Writing all of the “warranty” details of all the furniture we bought from red tag since obviously we were not told correctly from the get go otherwise we would never have bought from you. Thank you. For the written record we were told by Leslie that all of the furniture except the table which was a floor model was under warranty.” 

Beverly apologized for the entire experience and received the following response from me “Beverly, I will never forget our phone call and you telling me ( and my husband on a separate call) the couch was not meant for fat people/people that large, that you would never have sold it to us and it was your lowest quality when your sales person/Leslie assured us it would be great for us and sturdy. I will not forget how you then said different in an email. I will not forget you telling me the owners would never consider a refund and that you handle the bbb and other complaints and the sheer tone of your voice showing you did not care.  I will not forget you telling me one thing and my husband another nor will I forget you saying one thing over the phone and email something different. I will not forget how we were lied to by Leslie and told the there we’re warranties when there wasn’t.

I will not forget your company frustrating me to the point I was in tears before my husband’s surgery and my daughter having to sleep on a broken bed. I will not forget how every day I had to worry about this and it’s only been 3 weeks since we had the furniture in our possession. I cannot wait until the bed frame is here and the replacement couch is delivered ( more than a month from now) and I no longer have to deal with your company like this. Your apology means nothing because I know it isn’t sincere. Have a good night. “ she responded “Leslie all our calls are recorded and you are not being truthful.  I would never call anyone fat, that is not even something I would say ever.  I use to weigh 300lbs You are the one that discussed your weight with me and told me that Leslie should never sell you something that can not handle your weight.  Yes agreed and said when I sell I take all these items into consideration.  Have a good night. “ 

At that time I messaged back to her “I know what my husband and I heard on both the business phone and your personal cell.  Again, If you could please send me In Writing all of the “warranty” details of all the furniture we bought from red tag since obviously we were not told correctly from the get go otherwise we would never have bought from you.  As stated above your salesperson/manager, Leslie, stated all but the floor model of the table was under warranty. Please don’t forget as you seem to do that often in regards to us. Thanks so much!!!! Have a great night! “

I had begun to submit things in writing once I realized we were being told one thing and then something else. I wish I had gotten everything in writing or recorded the phone conversations with these people. 

I received on 1/6 the following email:

“Good Morning,

Below is a list of all warranties for product purchased:

5111 King Bed-  No Warranty

9860688/86  Reclining Sofa/Love Seat has  a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty/5 year mechanism warranty

2849S-24 Chairs- No Warranty

2849 Table - No Warranty

Velvet White Passion Bed- No Warranty

Zinc King Mattress-10 Year manufacturer warranty.  No stains allowed on the mattress for warranty to be valid.  My suggestion would be to get a mattress protector.  

These warranties or non warranties are what the manufacturer of that product offers us.  We have always offered a extended warranty for 5 years that will cover all merchandise.  

As discussed your replacement sofa is on back order and will be switched out as soon as it arrives, Tony put a different mechanism in as a temporary fix until it arrives.  The 5111 bed we will do a courtesy one time replacement on this product.  

If you have any further questions, please let me know.


I had to reach out again as the 5111 bed she mentioned replacing as a courtesy was not the broken one and I needed to make sure it was just a type and they hadn’t messed up again. I also needed to get a time they were delivering. 

What is written In The email about the warranties and lack thereof was NOT told to us when we initially bought the furniture. Leslie stated everything but the dining room table and chairs ( they were floor model) was under warranty for 5 years. We would not have bought any of this if we knew there was no real warranty. This was bought through credit and now since we were lied to, we will be paying on this a while without the warranties we were told it had  if/when it breaks. We were also not told of the extended warranties we could’ve purchased. 

On 1/7, I reached out again to confirm they were sending the correct bed as the time and was told by Beverly it was the Queen Ned and would be there between 2:30-6:30 and that we’d receive a call before they came. At 5pm, I noticed I had a text however the information was conflicting (We were told 2:30-6:30. Received a text message which said 4:00-8:00 And when we clicked on the link to confirm it said  11:30 -3:00) we had not received a call so again I reached out via text and email. No response from Beverly but we did shortly after get a call from the delivery guy, Brody, who said he was at our apartments. My husband advised him that they were supposed to call ahead of time to make sure we were there and Brody stated he was not told to do this. 

Brody and the other delivery guy were very pleasant and professional. After they set up the bed, He asked if we wanted to look at it before we signed. My daughter and I looked at it and she climbed onto the bed. I then asked if it was ok for me to sit or lay on the Queen bed and he recommended that I didn’t. He stated I could always get better slats to go on it or reinforce it. We upgraded our daughter to a queen for more room for her and so if she has nightmares or is sick, I could lay and cuddle with her however, apparently this queen bed cannot handle an adult being on it??

We’ve now finally had the bed replaced after finding out the warranties we were told they have do not exist and we’re still waiting for the couch to be available to switch out in February. Frankly, I doubt we’ll get the couch with the way these people are and if we do, I’m sure it’ll be more hassle and stress on us. 

It does not matter if Beverly handles higher end product, she would never have sold us the couch, and she supposedly tells her customers about construction and warranties, it doesn’t matter if the owner could care less and would never refund a cheated customer, what matters is that Leslie, the 1960 manager, sold us product under false pretenses, lied about warranties, lied about the furniture being  good quality and sturdy for our family and now because the owners could care less, we are stuck with crap. 

Lastly, When I initially was trying to get things handled, I emailed the two emails I found on  their website regarding RETURN AND REFUND POLICY and support which were and and received a message stating the message wasn’t delivered because the address couldn’t be found or is unable to receive mail.  I’m unsure how this place can state to get a hold of detain addresses for issues and they not be working.  

They sold us this crap under false pretenses and with fake warranties. I don’t trust this company and since Beverly was kind enough to tell me  she deals with the bbb complaints, yelp,  and other disputes, and she’s unworried when I informed her I would be making disputes and reviews, It’s apparent to me that they could care less about customers and any actions I take will be useless. What I can do is tell my experience, make my complaints,  and hope to save anyone else from the  same heartache and stress we have had with this company. 

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/08/2021 09:41 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?
Featured Reports

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now