X  |  CLOSE
Report: #1483555

Complaint Review: Texas Marine Clearlake - Seabrook Texas

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: Chad — Austin Texas United States
  • Author Confirmed What's this?
  • Why?
  • Texas Marine Clearlake 2700 NASA Road 1 Seabrook, Texas United States

Texas Marine Clearlake Texas Marine Buyer Beware - Sold a Broken Boat - Warranty Sold Doesn't Cover What They Tell You it Covers - Left Us Hanging in the End - READ MORE BELOW Seabrook Texas

*Author of original report: False... Here is what actually took place...

*REBUTTAL Owner of company: Texas Marine Award Winning Customer Service

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
content.
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

TERRIBLE, just flat out Terrible... Buyer Beware!!!  We live in Austin and happened to find this boat online.  We then reached out to Texas Marine to setup a test drive.  Before coming down, we got a call from the Sales Rep, Belinda, and was told that it was riding a little rough but they had replaced the spark plugs and that everything was fine.  We then drove all the way from Austin to their Clearlake Location where the boat was and took the boat out for a test spin.  Everything seemed fine, so we went ahead and bought it.  During the sale, we were assured that all of their boats go through rigorous testing and that they don’t buy used boats to sell unless it passes their “high standards” and expectations.  We were also assured that if anything went wrong with the boat that they wouldn’t leave us hanging and would do everything in their power to step up if something went wrong.  Furthermore, we were also told that buying the extended warranty for the boat would further safeguard us in the event if something went wrong with the engine, etc.  We walked out of there thinking we were in great hands and if anything went sideways, they’d step up to the plate…  Boy did we get fooled.

 

First sign of BS came shortly after we left when we were told that they were including some life jackets with the purchase of the boat… Checked the boat, nothing was there.  Called our sales rep Belinda, got her voicemail, left a message and she never called us back.

 

Second sign of BS came when we had hired a Captain to come out on our boat for lessons.  After doing his rounds to check the oil, gas and other things before leaving dock he noticed how tight the gear shift was and immediately raised concern (we have a jet boat).  Citing that it was not natural nor SAFE for the gear shift to be that tight and for whoever had sold us the boat “Should be ashamed” for selling this to us in this condition.

 

Third sign of BS came while on the lake for the first time after leaving dock when the Oil Light Sensor came on and we had to immediately shut down the starboard engine.  We limped the boat back to the dock and that was the end of our first experience on the water with our boat.

 

Fourth sign of BS came when we went to call our Sales Rep Belinda and then were told after we explained what happened that we “Bought the Boat as Is” and they couldn’t help.  She said she’d call me back to at least help us find someone here locally who could repair the boat and we never heard from her again.

 

Fifth sign of BS came from the garbage Extended Warranty we purchased.  We finally found a local repair shop that could work on our Sea Doo Boat and discovered that because of the Clutch Failure, it caused grinding that sent small metal shards into our oil, which was why the oil sensor turned on (and icing on the cake is that because of the metal shards it broke the sensor and that now needs to be replaced also).  The repair shop then let us know that the warranty people would cover the sensor, but wouldn’t cover the rebuild and repair of the super charger, although a part of the engine, because it is a gas driven motor and not diesel…  I’m sorry, please explain to me how that makes any sense?  $1,500 to repair out of our own pocket.

 

So moral of the story is that if you are buying your first boat, like we did, don’t buy it from Texas Marine.  They did nothing but sell us a broken boat, taken zero ownership for what’s happened, sold us a useless warranty that doesn’t cover what it says it’ll cover, and ultimately has ruined our first experience in so many ways that now all we want to do is sell the boat and never do this again.

 

I work with clients in their businesses and understand the concept of standing behind what you do as a company and your responsibility in sales to be there to support your clients if something goes wrong.  What we’ve experienced with Texas Marine is shameful and inexcusable.  Thanks for ruining this entire experience for us Texas Marine and vanishing on us when we needed you to step up and help. 

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 08/15/2019 03:52 PM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/report/texas-marine-clearlake/seabrook-buyer-beware-sold-1483555. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Updates & Rebuttals

REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author
0Consumer
1Employee/Owner

#2 Author of original report

False... Here is what actually took place...

AUTHOR: Chad - (United States)

POSTED: Wednesday, December 04, 2019

Your response doesn't align to what actually took place. While I didn't share this in my initial conversation when I was first directed to speak to your manager I guess he didn't realize the phone wasn't on mute, because he was telling the person transferring my call to him that "do you think I want to talk to this f'n guy" and few other expletives that I'll spare the details around...

Yet, despite that I remained professional when he did answer the phone and we discussed the issue at hand. I was told by the manager that he would call me the next day to follow up after our conversation to see how they could try and remedy the situation... Then a week later it took me calling to follow up only to find out nothing had been done. This happened twice.

A few weeks pass and given my initial experience (the aforementioned call mute fail) I expected that they wouldn't do anything about our experience and the boat they sold that was unsafe and had broken down on our first trip to the water with it... Then I'm guessing his boss pressed the matter and all of a sudden I get a follow up call saying they were ready to try and correct the problem.

At this point I had found a repair shop to look at the boat, inform me that the throttle was not safe and needed to be adjusted (it was so tight that it took much force to throttle up and down, although we were told by the sales rep it would work itself out and was probably better this way for better control), the battery was not bolted down, there was metal shards in the oil, and the oil sensor had gone bad.

They also told me initially they hooked our boat up to their machine (keep note of this), which was how this was all discovered. What really upset me was the fact that there was a lot of deflection in the conversations I had with the manager.

They threw the mechanic I was working with under the bus, citing incompetence on their part, and even said they told them they hadn't hooked the boat up to their machine that reads error codes for the boat to isolate the issues (like what they use for cars) when that was one of the first things the mechanic had told my wife and I that they did...

along with other bs... But the icing on the cake came when after we received the bill from the mechanic that totaled up to nearly $1,000. When the manager asked me what they could to make this right, I asked them to simply pay the bill. I didn't ask for compensation for the time we wasted having to go back and forth about this for over a month and a half.

I didn't ask for compensation for the time we lost not being able to use the boat. I didn't ask for compensation for the unsafe condition of the boat they had sold us and the risk/jeopardy they put us in so they could make a sale/profit. I didn't ask for compensation for anything more than to pay the bill for the damage and repairs. That's it.

The manager's response was we'll give you $200. I politely declined it and reinforced that we wanted them to pay the repair bill. He said he'd talk to upper management and get back to me... Then the next day I get a text, not a call, but a text saying word for word: "After discussing this with upper management, the decision was made to not cover the cost of your repairs.

They deemed that a 4 month period (although we only took it out one time when it broke down on us) of time had elapsed, therefore holding us harmless. So sorry." So, please don't try and feign this caring and empathetic appearance in your response that you tried to correct and make this situation right for us. We asked, fairly, do what was right.

Even though much of our time was wasted, the stress created behind this, and most importantly our safety put at risk, that all you had to do was do was pay the bill nothing more nothing less. Yet, you failed us once again. The sad part is that it wasn't even about the money. It was simply the principle of taking care of your customer as you so call claim you do... You've done nothing but the opposite and that is the truth. Tried to remedy the problem?!?! What a joke.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#1 REBUTTAL Owner of company

Texas Marine Award Winning Customer Service

AUTHOR: Texas - (United States)

POSTED: Wednesday, December 04, 2019

Thank you for the time discussing this Chad. We always strive to make sure all customers are cared about and feel we are deserving of our trust. I know there were some complications from another service shop, but we also always welcome the chance to correct any issues on our end.

Anything I can do to further the discussion so that we get you taken care of, please let me know. Always here to help. Sincerely - Customer Care Manager

Respond to this report!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

X
What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

WATCH News
Segment Now