Report: #1234123

Complaint Review: American Academy of Facial Esthetics

  • Submitted: Sun, June 07, 2015
  • Updated: Sun, June 07, 2015
  • Reported By: bangarang12 — Miami Florida USA
  • American Academy of Facial Esthetics


Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

I just attended the Botox Course by the American Academy of Facial Esthetics yesterday in Jersey City. What a total waste of money and more importantly, what a waste of time because I closed my office for three days. I only attended the first day and left after that. I can't believe they are charging almost $2,000 for the course, what a scam and rip off. Are they just so blind that they have no idea how poor this course is? Dr. Louis Malcmacher, DDS is the president of the AAFE, otherwise called the American Academy of Facial Esthetics, and is by far the biggest CON ARTIST I have ever heard. The guy is money hungry and acts like he is this all knowing expert in Aesthetics but yet the information presented is Garbage! He should go to filling cavities and leave it at that.

part of the reason I am so upset is because my expectations were so high given their marketing tactics, the American Academy of Facial Esthetics ( website, the videos, which by the way I just learned that many of the testimonials are actually the teachers acting as if they are the attendees. I am a board certified physician and have been doing General medicine for 15 years, I wanted to learn Aesthetics so I can offer these services as well. This course didactics were very remedial at best. This is clearly a very entry level, basic course which should have been offered to physician extenders such as medical assistants and LPNs rather than physician or Dentists. Furthermore, this class is really intended for a Dentist, not a physician. A physician, like myself is not interested in learning dental procedures and concepts specific to Dentist which represented probably about 30% of the topics presented. Then I spoke with a representative, they informed me that most of the attendees are Physicians which was a flat out lie since I was the only MD int the course. IF I had said I was a Dentist I am sure the answer I received would have been much different. They are definitely good at marketing and attracting customers. The didactic and course materials were very superficial and incomplete compared to what I am accustomed to receiving at medical conferences. Botulinum Toxin injections are not only indicated for the Frontalis region. The training was highly limited to just the very basic techniques and nothing more. The instructor was very mundane and I believe his knowledge was also limited because of how he answered questions from the group. He responded by stating the question is not part of the scope of this course, or that is something for a later discussion. After each answer like this many of the dentists around me look around at each other pretty surprised with the response, I was very upset because I paid a lot for this course only to receive information which I could have learned on my own from a video. I paid almost $2,000 for this one day course. I am searching the internet now and finding that every course and every other company is charging less than $1,000. I guess they were pretty smart with the "reverse pricing" concept since I thought that the course would be exceptional given the high cost. Avoid this company at all costs. I still need to find a company now where I can learn everything I need to.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 06/07/2015 03:24 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 REBUTTAL Individual responds

We are happy to help you if this report is true


The American Academy of Facial Esthetics (AAFE) has trained over 10,000 healthcare professionals across a wide range of medical/nursing/dental disciplines in the areas of facial pain, facial esthetics, and sleep medicine.  Anyone can go to the AAFE website and see the many positive testimonials from across North America from many physicians, nurses, and dentists.  As President of the AAFE, I can tell you that we have an incredible educational organization that offers outstanding advanced training as well as post course support through membership forums. 

I did have the AAFE try to search and find the person who wrote this report.  The AAFE course in Jersey City that you mention did not have any physicians registered and they could not find a negative evaluation from any of the attendees.  We also see that a nearly duplicate report was filed as well with another name and my comments relate to that ripoff report as well.

If indeed you were at this course, we are sorry you had a poor experience.  Please contact the American Academy of Facial Esthetics and they will be happy to help you resolve any of the issues you say you have had.  

Respond to this report!

#2 Author of original report

Waste of Time!!!

AUTHOR: - ()

As a busy physician I don't normally take the time to write negative posts on the internet; however, this course was so poorly operated, the content and information presented were remedial at best, and overall the American Academy of Facial Esthetics Botox course was a complete waste of my time, that I had to respond on this Rip Off Report website. Yes, this is an anonymous post because, I have already wasted enough money on travel, air fare, hotel, and tuition, that I cant afford dealing with a lawsuit. Its obvious that you are being somewhat friendly now because your smart enough to know that others are reading your comments. You should have handled my issues at the course rather than wait till now. I noticed also how clever you were by taking this negative post and use it as an opportunity to write additional promotional statements and claims as to why YOU feel your company is naturally the best in the world. Congratulations, The Academy of Facial Esthetics are great at marketing, your website certainly fooled me into thinking that this would be a comprehensive course. It was not only incomplete, but I now need to find training somewhere else and have to pay those feed yet again. I'm sorry to disappoint you, the training was horrible and in case you are trying to figure out who I am, I was part of the other group of disappointed doctors also expressing their gripes with the poor training, remedial information, and lack of instructor knowledge.

Respond to this report!

#3 UPDATE Employee

We would love to talk to you


Dear Doctor,

We were surprised to see these comments and could not locate anyone who was at this training seminar that fits the description of what you claim happened. We did not receive any such reports from our course faculty or administrators. The course evaluations were overwhelmingly positive with attendees looking forward to our level II courses in facial esthetics.

We have  successfully trained thousands of healthcare professionals from around the world and are well known for our comprehensive and minimally invasive approach to facial esthetics and facial pain therapy.  Our education is recognized as a continuing education provider in medicine and dentistry.  We have many outstanding testimonials from physicians, nurses, dentists, and other healthcare professionals from around the country available on our website for all to see.

We would be happy to hear directly from you to resolve any issues you had with our training. Please feel free to contact us at 800 952-0521.

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.