X  |  CLOSE
Report: #1464817

Complaint Review: Lexus of Edmonton - Edmonton Alberta

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: Anonymous — Calgary Alberta Canada
  • Lexus of Edmonton
    11204 170 St NW
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Canada

Lexus of Edmonton Herblens Motors Inc. Lexus of Edmonton Falsified Vehicle Inspection Report and Sold me a Lemon! Edmonton Alberta

*Author of original report: Really? Shame on Kyle Richard at Lexus of Edmonton

*UPDATE Employee: Response

*Consumer Comment: Trust??? No, Use COMMON SENSE!

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Upon numerous attempts to settle outside of court, I am forced to commence legal action against Herblens Motors Inc. dba Lexus of Edmonton.

Back in October of 2017, I was searching for a vehicle for my wife and had found exactly what she was looking for at Herblens Motors Inc. dba Lexus of Edmonton's dealership. They were located in Edmonton, but due to their positive reviews online, I felt comfortable purchasing the vehicle as the salesperson was very helpful and answered all of my questions. I was to receive a completely stock vehicle, with manual, two sets of keys, one set of BMW wheels with summer tires having “plenty” of tread remaining, and an aftermarket set of wheels with winter tires mounted on them.

On November 6, 2017 I sent Herblens Motors Inc. dba Lexus of Edmonton a wire transfer in full for the purchase of a 2014 BMW M235i. On November 11, 2017, I received the delivery of the vehicle in Calgary and immediately noticed issues. There was a tire pressure monitor light on the dash, two summer tires were completely bald with the wear wire exposed and 6 of the wheels were badly curb rashed, (3 summer and 3 winter wheels). This was never mentioned to be prior to completing the sale. I immediately contact the salesperson regarding the issues and made an appointment at Calgary BMW to have the vehicle inspected. To my absolute astonishment, on November 20, 2017, Calgary BMW informed me that due to extensive aftermarket modifications to the vehicle, they would not be able to service it, and had in fact voided the warranty on the spot! Aside from that, they mentioned that the brakes needed to be replaced, which also came as a surprise as on the inspection report from Herblens Motors Inc. dba Lexus of Edmonton, the brakes were at 8mm. I again contacted Kyle Richards at Herblens Motors Inc. dba Lexus of Edmonton to make them aware of the situation, but my wife was in love with the car, so I was keen to work things through. On November 27, 2017 I took the vehicle to a 3rd party mechanic to diagnose the service light and it was found that the wheels did not even have Tire Pressure Monitor Sensors installed, and needed hub centric rings, as the current set up was simply unsafe. Lexus of Edmonton reimbursed me for the necessary repairs, and my wife was happy, even though they sold me a vehicle that was “safety inspected” and “reconditioned”, it was obvious that they falsified the inspection report and the vehicle did not even get inspected. Very disappointing!

Fast forward to October 2018 where we want to go to Calgary BMW to trade the same 2014 BMW M235i for an suv, and even though I thought that I had experienced all surprises with this vehicle, the dealership told me that due to the aftermarket radiator supports and bumpers, the vehicle is not road worthy and they would not be able to take it on trade. I was astonished! Again, I contacted Kyle Richard, the operations manager of Lexus of Edmonton and he refused to take any responsibility in the fact that they sold me a vehicle, on which only 4,000km was driven in the past 11 months, and I am simply unable to sell it!

Coles notes, Herblens Motors Inc dba Lexus of Edmonton sold me a lemon. Their inspection report stated that the vehicle was completely stock and was reconditioned and had one year of BMW factory warranty remaining. In fact, the vehicle that Lexus of Edmonton had sold me was not reconditioned, had any warranty and was not even road worthy due to the aftermarket modifications. After 3rd party inspections, the vehicle needed the below repairs…

 

  1. Hubcentric rings on all 4 sides
  2. TPMS on all 4 wheels
  3. New brakes all around
  4. 2 new rear tires

 

The following aftermarket modifications that were not disclosed to me also voided the BMW factory warranty, and make the vehicle not roadworthy.

  1. Aftermarket exhaust
  2. Aftermarket intake
  3. Aftermarket ECU Tune
  4. Aftermarket radiator support
  5. Aftermarket bumpers

 

Receipts and reports can be provided to the media or those interested.

DO NOT TRUST ANYONE AT LEXUS OF EDMONTON AND TAKE YOUR BUSINESS TO ANY OTHER DEALERSHIP.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 10/17/2018 11:34 AM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/lexus-of-edmonton/edmonton-alberta-t5s-2x1/lexus-of-edmonton-herblens-motors-inc-lexus-of-edmonton-falsified-vehicle-inspection-rep-1464817. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals

REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
1Author
2Consumer
0Employee/Owner

#1 Author of original report

Really? Shame on Kyle Richard at Lexus of Edmonton

AUTHOR: Anonymous - (Canada)

POSTED: Wednesday, October 17, 2018

1. I signed the Bill of Sale on November 6th, before even receiving the vehicle. Unless I have gone blind, I don't see ANYTHING regarding aftermarket parts and a void BMW factory warranty noted on the Bill of Sale.

2. As per your sales agents agent on October 27, 2017, he confirmed that the BMW factory warranty was valid until November 4, 2018, or in his exact words "one full year of warranty".

3. Hubcentric rings, TPMS and an oil change was repaired immediately after taking possession of the vehicle, and you have receipts.

4. The vehicle has been parked since January 2018 as we were out of the country, hence only 4,000km being put since November 2017. This is the reason why the brakes or tires were not replaced.

I will update this report, along with all other reviews that I have posted. Hopefully this won't have to go to court.

Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee

Response

AUTHOR: Kyle - (Canada)

POSTED: Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Hi Alex, You were fully aware the vehicle had aftermarket accessories and the warranty was voided before you agreed to sign the bill of sale (3 months after you took delivery) and after the vehicle was shipped to you and had a third party inspection at BMW.

We also agreed to buy back the vehicle/refund your money during this 3 months and instead you were given 2 cheques for over $4000.00 to perform the maintenance the vehicle required and lack of warranty, which you were pleased with. We haven't heard from you in almost a year.

Now you try to trade it and our upset but failed to do any of the "required" work and pocketed the money.  After 1 year we still offered to buy the vehicle back at $4388 less than you paid, for a year of driving which we believe was a very fair offer and you insist we pay more than you purchased it for or you will post on all social media.

Respond to this report!

#3 Consumer Comment

Trust??? No, Use COMMON SENSE!

AUTHOR: The Dog - (United States)

POSTED: Wednesday, October 17, 2018

 You sent off your money to somebody you don't know to buy some dumb, stupid USED CAR you've NEVER seen! Your criteria for buying this thing was pictures on a computer screen, words on a computer screen and a voice on the phone!

Everybody knows the perils of buying a USED CAR yet you don't even use a thimble full of COMMON SENSE! It isn't a matter of "trust". It's being SMART and using COMMON SENSE! Absolutely incredible!

It never, ever ceases to amaze me the stupid things you people do all for some dumb used car!!!

Respond to this report!