NOTICE! Those consumers located in the European Union, effective 5/24/2018 due to the GDPR, citizens of any GDPR applicable country or anyone sitting in, or operating from, such country are prohibited from using this site. Read our Terms of Service to learn more. By using our site you understand and agree to these terms. Don't blame us... blame Europe! This site uses cookies to store information on your computer which may track your browsing behavior on our site and provide you with ads or other offers that may be relevant to you. Some are essential to make our site work; others help us improve the user experience. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.

Report: #1361623

Complaint Review: My Tax Prep Office - Internet

  • Submitted: Tue, March 14, 2017
  • Updated: Tue, March 14, 2017
  • Reported By: KeithCole — Princeton West Virginia USA
  • My Tax Prep Office


My Tax Prep Office The software keeps calculating errors and omitting information. Internet

*UPDATE Employee: Already responded via the BBB

*Consumer Comment: BE AWARE !!!

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Making the decision to switch to this software has been the absolutely worst decision I have ever made in business. I have had over 30 returns have a glitch in transmission, resulting in a lower refund amount; and we have had to amend those returns because the software did not carry over the correct amounts.


My clients are receiving emails regarding an omission of the 8867 related to education credits. The changes to the 8867 were not implemented until March 3, 2017... we've known about these changes long before March 3, 2017. The software should have been updated to reflect these changes before risking our clients to possible fees and penalties.


Our previous year information did not convert over, as advertised.


This has been the absolute worst decision I have ever made.


They are difficult to reach.  We had several returns that we prepared and the software would not allow us to transmit.  We would send the return to the support team and it would be days before we would hear back, after multiple attempts to contact them.


They charge $15 for every tax return prepared and cannot even provide support to their clients.  

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/14/2017 07:46 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

Already responded via the BBB

AUTHOR: Management Team - (USA)

We value you as a customer and we are sorry that you are not fully satisfied with our services. It is our goal to provide first class service in each respect and we apologize that, in your eyes, we did not meet this goal. Since we take any complaint very serious, we invested quite some time to review our records regarding the items you raised. In our records, we found a couple of communications which help us to understand why you came to the conclusions you voiced in your complaint. Besides these indications, we found the below listed facts which will help to describe what happened. It seems you are very upset because it appears we contacted your customers and did not make you aware of some issues that arose. You stated the reason for being upset is the guarantee which you give to your customers regarding the accuracy of your work. Despite your assumption, it is a fact that we never contacted your customers. We only contacted you and made you aware of potential errors in the returns. If your customers did call you, as you indicated, it has nothing to do with our contacting them. We assure you, we never contacted them directly. We do appreciate that the emails we sent to you may have contributed to your assuming we did contact your clients.

As mentioned before, one of our emails regarding the new requirements pertaining to form ** may have caused some misunderstanding. The required changes were integrated into the software before the season started. The portion of the software that did not function ideally was a desired warning by the software which warns the preparer in case they forgot to add the form when the American Opportunities Tax Credit was included in the return. We worked closely with the IRS to ensure our customers are not penalized for e-filing a return without the **. The email you received was a courtesy to notify you of the steps you might need to take if by chance the IRS sent you a letter regarding this matter. Unfortunately, the conversion of your previous year's files which, according to our support specialist were created by ** software, was not carried out. The reason for this has nothing to do with our software since it easily and correctly converts the appropriate files from ** software. We have hundreds of happy customers for whom this conversion worked without any issue.

From our records, we can see that you uploaded the wrong files twice. When our support specialist collected the correct files from your system, it was attempted to send these via email because he suspected the stability of your internet line might be hindering the transmission of your files. Regrettably, even these files were never transferred to our system. We did not find a record of you contacting us again after this attempt and we apologize for our omission to contact you again to verify that everything worked as desired. It is our mistake that we assumed everything was fine. We investigated also your statement about the time it took to respond to your support requests. Although you talk about waiting upwards of 5 days, our records show that you received the response typically within one day a few times within two days, and one time it took three days because a weekend was included. We would like to clarify why our support team said that they could not find a reason why a transmission was supposedly delayed. The reason is simply the fact that the transmissions happened in a timely manner and according to the responses from the IRS, the transmissions actually happened without delay. As we said before, we do understand why you assumed that some things went wrong. Once you compare your records with our findings, surely you will come to the same conclusions we have: some of the things that upset you were in reality no fault of ours or our software. For this reason, we are confident that you will not only have a successful 2016 tax season with our software, but also a successful 2017 season, for which we offer you our software and services free of charge.
MyTAXPrepOffice Team

Respond to this report!

#2 Consumer Comment




NOTE to Complainant:

If you had reviewed earlier reports, you may have saved time and money, not to mention the headache.  I was searching for my review and any updates or additional information.

Unfortunately, I only came up with one (1) review from you.  There are other reviews under the caption "ADVANCED TAX SOLUTIONS LLC" for this same rip-off entity.  Many of these shady companies change names, etc., so I can understand that you may not have had an opportunity to read these rip-off reports.


NOTE to Editor:

I suggest that a "database" be created of cross-referencing, these same entities, with different names.  This will assist the consumer a lot.  Thanks.


Respond to this report!