Report: #1338375

Complaint Review: Olde Mobile Antiques

  • Submitted: Tue, November 15, 2016
  • Updated: Wed, November 16, 2016
  • Reported By: HistoricalMobileGONEWRONG — Mobile Alabama USA
  • Olde Mobile Antiques
    1616 West Interstate 65 Service Rd S,
    Mobile, Alabama

Olde Mobile Antiques Gregory Reynolds UNETHICAL and hostile treatment of customers Mobile Alabama

*Consumer Comment: Planting Onions Will Not Yield Strawberries

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Agreed to sell consigner's sofa at 400, help was rude, Greg raised price 395 dollars, refused to load, called police on me when I did nothing wrong. I responded to a Craigslist ad about a couch owned by Charles Moore who consigned it with Olde Mobile Antiques. After a few phonecalls alerting them to his quoted price, Michael Ann alerted Charles Moore, who texted me that 400 was the agreed price plus tax and to go to Mobile and pick up the couch and pay for it. I was told they had people to help load it and made the trip. Upon arrival, the store clerk (brunette, missing teeth, around 5'3 and 60-ish) asked for me to pay 495. When I told her to call Michael Ann, the manager because Charles Moore discussed with her to

lower it and agreed, she did so and then rang it up for 400 plus 44 dollars in tax. I asked if there was anyone there to help load because she looked like it might hurt her. [continued below]....

..... I have cancer and chemo has rendered my hands numb from the damage and I asked if any strong men were there. She stated, "Well, at 400 dollars you might have to load it yourself." I said to her "Hold on a minute, I have already been through the ringer with the price and the confusion of this whole situation, I am not going to pay and then just leave it here and not even get help." They make a 40% cut of the profit and charge tax, they should be assisting customers. She started to raise her voice and say "Oh, no, honey, you aren't going to

talk to me like that." I said nothing rude, improper or in a loud tone, but she stormed off through the double doors screaming that I was being "hateful to her." I am standing there defending myself saying "I am not being hateful, this is business and I am frustrated as a customer at the poor handling." She said "that is not my problem." Then, at least 4-5 men come out from the back with Gregory Reynolds at the front wit his partner. He said "You aren't going to come in here and snap your fingers and want it loaded right now. The price is 795 and I will load it when I want to. This is my store and I decide if I want to sell it or not or load it or not. Pay 795 and wait outside for 30 minutes until I can get to you or leave.

I am already getting screwed out of this deal, Charles should not have told you 400 dollars." I told him I was told that price and responded to his ad and Michael Ann accepted it. He said "I am the owner and I am not going to accept it, I can do what I want to do." Then he told me to leave or he would call the police. I said "I am not leaving after driving 70-miles, 1-way without the couch I agreed to purchase. Charles got the ok from you and now you are changing your mind and taking it out on me that you aren't getting the price you want. This is unfair and unethical." He said "Oh, well, call the police. You aren't getting this couch. Leave the store. I said "I want to speak with Charles because it is his couch and you

can't do this to customers." He said "Then wait outside the door, get out of my store." So, I went outside and was in tears. He came out there smoking a cigarette and continued ranting to me about how he was in control, this was his decision and he could change his mind if he wanted to do so. I cried and told him I just came back from chemo, was exhausted and did not need this. He said "Then you should be nicer." I said "I was not rude, I was firm because she was rude." He said "It doesn't matter, I am getting screwed because you and Charles are teaming up to screw me on this." I said "I don't even know you! This is not plot, I responded to an ad for crying out loud? I just want to pay for my couch the price

your manager agreed to and go home." Gregory said "She doesn't own this store, I own this store."Then Charles Moore called and was baffled and tried to speak with Greg. Greg told him to pay 95 dollars and then the police showed up and told him to get off the phone. Then they said to tell the BBB and it was a civil matter. I left in tears. Charles Moore called me and apologized over and over and said he didn't understand why Greg did that.He said it was about the money because he said not one word about me being rude.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 11/15/2016 11:30 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Consumer Comment

Planting Onions Will Not Yield Strawberries

AUTHOR: Lydia - (USA)

 First of all, please know that I am very sorry that you have cancer. I am sure that the chemo has affected you and your loved ones in ways that you never imagined. I trust you were having a very bad day to begin with, and didn't feel like making a 70 Mile trip, which would have exhausted you further. I have been a customer of this store for almost a decade, and happened along shortly after your departure. I have had multiple interactions with these and other employees of Olde Mobile Antiques Gallery, and I have interacted with quite a few customers, clients, and friends of this fine establishment in the process of securing high quality antiques and collectibles. I think we can agree that the value of the items offered is not in question. The issue seems to be that you feel you were mistreated. From what you have said, it seems you saw the sofa and wanted it. But you wanted a lower price. Contrary to the usual practices of a consignment situation, you somehow secured the name and contact information of the owner, and negotiated a price you could afford, then appeared in the store, loaded with your information. You presented yourself as a fine Christian woman, a pastor's wife, and a person of high standards. Then you proceeded to behave as an entitled person with low morals and lower ethics. As Christians, we are called to a higher standard than you exhibited that day, madam.

I truly hope your interactions within your church family are more in line with what the Bible teaches. The Bible teaches us to be meek and lowly in heart. (We are not to demand our own way.) And that the worker is due his wages. (We must not undercut others' income.) We are warned not to harm His little ones, nor should we disparage others, based on their appearance. (Remember the story of Elijah and the children who mocked his bald head?) The Bible also tells us that grevious words stir up anger. And that we are to be patient and kind. Expecting immediate subservance to demands in an establishment that is based on tight deadlines is self-centered and unreasonable. (Please remember the golden rule.) As your sister in Christ, I know we all have bad days. But I also know we are expected to help each other, and this was not your finest hour.

I believe God does not want our offerings or sacrifice if we are not willing to make things right with those we have offended, and those who have anything against us. Every interaction I have experienced at this business has been clothed with respect and dignity. Every worker with whom I have interacted has been courteous, kind, and helpful. Other customers and clients of the store have expressed the same very high levels of satisfaction regarding the staff on every level, along with a very high personal regard for them. The fast paced execution of their extensive and strenuous obligations often seems humanly impossible, and must be finely orchestrated in order to accomplish it all. You may have been thinking of their wonderful monthly Estate Sales, at which they have staff available to load your purchases with only a moments notice. For them to have had to call the police reeks of impropriety on your part.

Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.