Report: #883583

Complaint Review: Sleek MedSpa Burlington - Burlington Massachusetts

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: Diane — Somerville Massachusetts United States of America
  • Author Confirmed What's this?
  • Why?
  • Sleek MedSpa Burlington 75 Middlesex Tpke Burlington, Massachusetts United States of America

Sleek MedSpa Burlington No longer honoring lifetime packages / guarantee for laser hair removal Burlington, Massachusetts

*UPDATE Employee: Laser Hair Removal

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Today I went for my scheduled laser hair removal and was told that this would be my last appointment because Sleek Medspa was no longer going to honor any of the Lifetime Guarantee packages that were sold for Laser Hair Removal.  I was handed a memo from a Jeffrey LaGrasso, MD - Sleek Medical Director - Board Certified Plastic Surgeon that basically stated

"Typical reduction in hair growth with laser hair removal treatments is betewen 6-8 treatements spaced approximately 4 to 8 weeks apart.  If you have received between 12 and 16 treatments, which is double the standard treatment protocol, it is most likely that the remaining hair is resistant to further laser hair removal treatments.  Therefore, by exceeding this amount one should not expect to have any further reduction in hair growth.  There is no way to guarantee that you will ever have 100% reduction in hair growth."

I suppose I'm one of the luckier individuals here as I've had  22 laser hair removal treatment, yes 22. When I purchased by Lifetime package I specifially asked "Rose" the sale person how many treatments it normally takes -- I was told that everyone was different but normally anywhere between 16 and 24.

I have had super results from my hair removal with just one or two spots that show regrowth; however, I was TOLD that the Lifetime package was just that.... LIFETIME...and if I ever had any regrowth or needed a touch up in certain spots - it would be covered under this Lifetime Guarantee.   So basically Sleek Medspa lied --- can they legally go back on something like this? 

While I'm at it let me air some other concerns I have with this Burlington Sleek Medspa location; as far as the memo I was handed today --- the staff seemed equally confused by it and I stood there while several girls read it and then basically had me wait for the office manager to explain it --- I got a brushed off explanation and was told that there was a phone number on the memo that I can call with any questions.   Also...

1)  On two occassions when I went for my treatment, the technician tried to perform the procedure without giving me the eye protection goggles.  The first time I protested I was told they weren't necessary........I said I wanted them and was then given a pair.   The 2nd time I was told that they ran out of goggles and that the Manager had them on order, but that she would give me some folded up paper towels to put over my eyes.  My response was  "You're kidding right?  You want to come at my face with a laser and not protect my eyes?!!!! NO WAY!"   I then got up from the table and said I was leaving -- the tech then offered to go look for goggles and came back with a pair ---- That was my apptointment before today's.

2)  Seems like only some of the laser techs are truly trained - the girl I had today is great but sadly she's only worked on me a few times during my  22 visits.  I have had an experience with tech who I'm assuming set the laser too high and  after the first ZING I protested so much she lowered it and then rushed thru the appointment.  Yes I complained and was given a bunch of excuses from who I thought was the Manager "Maybe you scrubbed your face too hard before your appointment.  Were you out in the sun?  It's normal for it to sting a bit"   I never had that tech again --- and this happened during appointment #14.

3)  They seem to have a large turn around in laser hair removal staff - random techs asked me what meds I was on etc ---- others just rushed thru the appointment --- only a handful took the time to answer my questions:   I asked at least 3 different Techs over the course of my 22 appointments  how many it usually takes for results --- I was basically given a similar answer as to when I first purchased the Lifetime package  "For most people, around 14 to 24 appointments with touch ups here and there"

Like I said, I've had great results from my treatment and don't feel quite as cheated; however, I do think it's unfair for someone who has given thousands and thousands of dollars to Sleek with the promise of a Lifetime Hair Removal Guarantee -- and after a dozen treatments is basically told that they are now out of luck.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 05/16/2012 10:43 AM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/sleek-medspa-burlington/burlington-massachusetts-01803/sleek-medspa-burlington-no-longer-honoring-lifetime-packages-guarantee-for-laser-hair-r-883583. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

Laser Hair Removal

AUTHOR: Alexandra Morgan - (United States of America)

POSTED: Thursday, May 17, 2012

Hi Diane,

I am truly sorry that you are unhappy with the way you were treated regarding the discontinuation of your laser hair removal package. However, you stated that you do have great results which is wonderful! Patient safety is our number one priority at Sleek and like the letter that you received states, we are stopping your treatments for your own safety. Like you said, you have a few patches of hair left which is completely normal for many patients. Laser hair removal does not guarantee 100% results and a few stray hairs are quite common. Keep in mind that these hairs may never go away due to a variety of reasons that are listed in the letter.

In regards to the other issues you mentioned with goggles I can assure you that these issues have been addressed with the staff as not to happen again. In an effort of good customer service we would like to offer you a free microdermabrasion. You can contact me directly to set up an appointment at amorgan@sleekmedspa.com. We hope that you can accept this offer and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Featured Reports

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now