NOTICE! Those consumers located in the European Union, effective 5/24/2018 due to the GDPR, citizens of any GDPR applicable country or anyone sitting in, or operating from, such country are prohibited from using this site. Read our Terms of Service to learn more. By using our site you understand and agree to these terms. Don't blame us... blame Europe! This site uses cookies to store information on your computer which may track your browsing behavior on our site and provide you with ads or other offers that may be relevant to you. Some are essential to make our site work; others help us improve the user experience. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more.

Report: #241594

Complaint Review: Web Marketing Source, Captures - Redmond Washington

  • Submitted: Fri, March 30, 2007
  • Updated: Mon, May 21, 2007
  • Reported By: Brooklyn New York
  • Web Marketing Source, Captures
    14947 NE 95th Street
    Redmond, Washington

Web Marketing Source, Captures Continued Ripoff and Dishonesty with both Web Marketing Source and Captures. Watch Out! Redmond Washington

*Consumer Suggestion: Captures are a bunch of Liars!

*UPDATE Employee: We have attempted a fair resolution, client refuses to accept the terms

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..
This is a follow-up on the ripoff report I submitted on 3/15/2007:

In good faith, I prepaid Web Marketing Source $4000+ for promised web marketing services in early Feb 2007. In speaking with one of the managers from Web Marketing Source's apparent parent company, Captures, on March 22nd - he said they had already done a tremendous amount of work on my site, and therefore, could not refund my money. He said the 6 weeks problem had only been an email communications problem, as they had the wrong email address for me but they had been doing a tremendous amount of work on my site all the while they could not contact me via email nor logon on my site (since they didn't have my password). I said I had called two different contacts from Web Marketing Source many times, leaving many voice mails, sometimes speaking with one of them and, that I had emailed my correct email address and password for my site in early Feb - the same day I repaid them $4000+. I then asked for documentation and evidence of this work. He said he would get it to me, and that the receptionist, would also send me the normal welcoming email you get when you initially sign up with them (which I never got, even to this day).

Well, it has been over a week, and the manager still hasn't sent me the documentation or produced the evidence of all this work, supposedly done in Feb and prior to my complaint with BBB and However, I have evidence to the contrary, as I have traffic monitoring software on my site that records stats on every visitor that comes to my site, including their domain name and IP address. The earliest evidence of Web Marketing Source visiting my site was late March, 5 days after my formal complaint with BBB. This proves Web Marketing Source (or Captures) did not even visit my site until after my formal complaint with the BBB mid March. So, how can they say they've done all this custom work for my site, before my complaint with BBB and my phone conversation with their manager in late March? This proves that Web Marketing Source is dishonest and only started doing any real work on my site recently, such as their tech recently providing meta tags for my site. Even this meta tag work, done so recently and late - is minimal, as it is only for 6 pages on my website, when I have 100 non-product pages and close to 3000 product pages. And this is supposed to be proof of over $4000 worth of work?!

This company has a lot of other complaints against it from small business owners such as myself for non-work and refusal to refund. They are a disservice to the industry and should be stopped or disciplined for ripping people off.

In summary, all I am presently asking for is my initial investment. I am not yet also asking for additional damages. I prepaid them in full, and in good faith $4000+ in early Feb 2007. They have not produced evidence of working on my site before I made the complaint. I have evidence they did not. And the work they have recently done, is far too little and way too late. This problem was not just a breakdown in email communications. It was a breakdown in them honoring their agreement with me. How can they expect me to continue a business relationship with them when their honesty and competence has been so low? How can I have an ongoing relationship with them when I have not been given any concrete evidence to trust them?

The manager offered to give me a few months off the monthly fee of $159.99 for this so-called email communications problem. I don't want that offer, as I don't trust them, and that would be throwing good money after bad. $4000+ is all I am presently I asking for. I think that is more than fair.

Brooklyn, New York

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/30/2007 03:45 PM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Consumer Suggestion

Captures are a bunch of Liars!

AUTHOR: Melissa - (U.S.A.)


I understand what you are going through! I just had to file a compliant with myself. It is extremely hard to get a hold of anyone at this company. They give you the complete run around and try everything they can to scam you into a contract with them, including claiming they never received your cancellation request!

They are trying to send me to collections for $7,100.00 at present. I am lucky that I changed my mind soon after I signed up with them! I immediately requested a refund. When they never gave me a refund I disputed the charge with my credit card company and got the money back put back on my credit card.

This company is the WORST company I have ever dealt with!! If you are interested in taking legal action against them contact me, as I am looking into it myself since the keep fraudulently billing my credit card after my contract was canceled!
Respond to this report!

#2 UPDATE Employee

We have attempted a fair resolution, client refuses to accept the terms

AUTHOR: Matt - (U.S.A.)

We have many clients who are completely happy with the services we provide. When we make mistakes, they are compensated for fairly based on the terms of the agreement you signed.

It has only been a few weeks since you signed up and the issue with the email was addressed as soon as it was discovered. The issues with trust are not valid reasons to cancel a contract that you agreed to uphold.

The work was indeed completed on your site up to the point and date when you asked for an update. If you would allow us to continue doing what we do best it would certainly waste less time and would most likely give you the best chance to get a return on your investment with our company (we can't generate ROI if you won't let us do the work).

In my opinion, you have a clear case of buyers remorse and instead of admitting to that and following through with your end of the agreement you are choosing to concentrate on petty reasons why you should get your money back instead of taking steps to help us help you.

We are still willing to waive monthly fees for the email communication problem and may even consider service upgrades to your package, but you will not be issued a refund for the full package price (our technicians have spent time and we have paid them to do this).

Keep in mind if you wish to cancel, you must first pay off your 90 day agreement. You will always have a credit on record for the amount you paid and you may apply that amount in the future towards the services/packages we offer on any site you own.

We don't guarantee results. We don't promise sales.

We simply use the best methods we can to increase you brand recognition and exposure on search engines. As you know, this takes time (it is highly unlikely you will see results right away as this is not a PPC campaign). Typically, our clients notice a difference after 3-6 months, but it can take longer (depending on what you sell and how much you charge).
Respond to this report!