Report: #1039475

Complaint Review: 1st-art-gallery

  • Submitted: Sun, March 31, 2013
  • Updated: Wed, April 03, 2013
  • Reported By: christinegalvagna — dfgdfgsdfg Alabama
  • 1st-art-gallery

    United States of America

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

I ordered a Turner painting. When I received it, it looked
like some cartoonish thing that a child would make. I returned it, and they
withheld $45 of the refund price. They said that this was the non-refundable
shipping price. However, that's obviously a scam, because on the website it
says shipping is free, so how can they charge me $45 for free shipping? I'm
disputing the charge with my bank. Also their customer service number is fake -
it doesn't allow you to actually talk to a person.
Is this Ripoff Report About you?
Ripoff Report A business' first line of defense on the Internet.
If your business is willing to make a commitment to customer satisfaction Click here now..

Does your business have a bad reputation? Fix it the right way. Corporate Advocacy Program™

Set the record straight: Arbitration Program

SEO Reputation Management at its best!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/31/2013 11:53 AM and is a permanent record located here: The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 Consumer Comment

Let's see the painting so prospective customers can judge please

AUTHOR: GeorgieBoy - ()

 Let's see the painting so prospective customers can judge please

Respond to this report!

#2 Author of original report


AUTHOR: christinegalvagna - ()

Just to clarify, they do list notices on their website abotu witholding shipping cost, but the notices are hidden in a series of random links, or on the product page, but behind a tab that says "100% money back." So it's simple false advertising, by saying "free shipping" and "100% money back" in big obvious letter, but then hiding notes that say the exact opposite in fine print that no reasonable inquiry would uncover. My bank agreed with me, and through their electronic claim services they refunded the remaining money 1st art gallery withheld for the fake shipping cost. Also the person who runs this company is mentally unstable, and sent me dozens of emails threatening me, cursing at me, etc. You should definitely stay away from this company. They produce lousy products and they have psychotic customer service.

Respond to this report!

#3 UPDATE Employee

Policy is listed on every single page on the website

AUTHOR: David - ()

The return policy is in fact listed ON EVERY SINGLE PAGE on our website. On each painting page, if you click on the "100% money back guarantee" tab, it is stated that:

"When you receive the painting; you are free to return it for more  revisions or else for a full refund minus our actual shipping cost --  which is, on average, $25 per painting".

This is listed not ten times, but 300,000 times which is the number of paintings that we sell on our website. Again - this is listed on EVERY SINGLE PAGE.

We are attaching an image that shows where this is located. This person claims that it is unreasonable to expect customers to read the information pages on the website, clearly this individual is simply trying to scam online retailers every way possible.

Respond to this report!

#4 Author of original report

a plain lie

AUTHOR: christinegalvagna - ()

The company just wrote that they give notices in about ten places on their website. Yes they just wrote me an email saying they're listed in only two places: 

"Those terms are listed twice. Here:

and here:" 

Respond to this report!

#5 UPDATE Employee

Customer continues to lie

AUTHOR: David - ()

Those terms are listed twice. Here:

and here:

And yes, we do expect our customers to read our Frequently Asked Questions  when they place an order and these two pages are linked a number of times. From the homepage, one click will get you to either of these  pages.

Our legal department will indeed check if it is possible to sue this person for defamation as he continues to spread lies about our company.

There is a "deadbeat customers" section to this website (  but instead of opening a file there, we will list his details here:

Christine Galvagna
227 Devoe st
Apt 9
New York

Christine Galvagna
630 4th st NE
apt 3
Washington D.C.
Respond to this report!

#6 Author of original report


AUTHOR: christinegalvagna - ()

In reference to my previous message, apparently there is a notice about the shipping price. The problem is that it is hidden in an obscure series of links. First you have to press "About", then you press "100% Satisfaction" to get to the notice. 

Obviously I was unaware of this, as, like most people who buy things online, I don't open up every single random link on the company's website. The information was not listed under "terms and conditions" (as the company claims it was), and it does not appear on the payment page. . 

By the way, the reason I am writing this is that the company sent me a threatening email, saying they would sue me for defamation for writing the previous note. I'm posting this update to show you what this company is like. 

"Dear Christine,

Please review the attached image. We write on our website:

That when we make refunds we keep the actual shipping cost, which in  your vase was $45. I'm sorry that you did not read the terms and  conditions of the purchase before you made the order but it is made  clear on our website.

You have 24 hours to remove your review from that Website, or we are  going to transfer this case to our legal department so they will sue you  for defamation and credit card fraud. You will have to pay $5000 in  damages + legal expenses. You have 24 hours, you have been warned.

Please do not hesitate to write with questions, or if I can be of  further assistance.

Thank you and best regards,
Respond to this report!

#7 UPDATE Employee

Refund policy clearly listed on the website

AUTHOR: David - ()

It is clearly stated in about ten different places on our website that we do not refund our actual shipping cost. We ship with UPS/FedEx/TNT express and for large paintings our shipping cost is $45. We're attaching to this Rebuttal a screenshot showing where this policy is clearly stated on our website. While shipping is FREE, we do not charge anything for it, we actually DO have to pay for shipping and when we make a refund we cannot refund that amount.
Respond to this report!
Ripoff Report Recommends
ZipBooks Accounting Software

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.