Report: #176636

Complaint Review: Great Expectations - Walnut Creek California

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: San Francisco California
  • Author Confirmed What's this?
  • Why?
  • Great Expectations Walnut Creek, California U.S.A.

Great Expectations Ripoff Liars Cheats! Made untrue promises no chance to review services and moved Walnut Creek California

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

I have been trying to cancel my subscription to and get a refund from Great Expectations and Vgrams, made through the San Francisco office February 2005. I am willing to pay for costs incurred, such as photographs, but no more. This account is currently being serviced by Great Expectations,

This service was misrepresented, I signed under duress. When I went in the representative, Lisa Sisemore got me crying about my previous relationship and shoved a contract in front of me which I signed. It has also been verified by my psychologist and psychiatrist in writing that I was in no condition at the time to enter into any kind of contract at that time. Lisa assured that men were thoroughly screened for Great Expectations and that there were many suitable men in this area and in my age range, neither of which has proved to be true. I was given no instructions as to how to use the service. Then, when I went to have my photographs taken, I was told I needed to sign up for Vgrams if I wanted to contact another member. Since I had not been given any other directions, I signed up for Vgrams under this misinformation, for an additional $1195.95. I started getting on the web site and sent some Vgrams, but after a few months not hearing back from anyone I tried to contact Great Expectations to cancel my membership and found out that the San Francisco office had closed at the end of March. I called the Palo Alto office in June, and found out that I had been misinformed, that I did not need the Vgrams to contact another member, and that this in fact was not the first or primary way to contact a member. I agreed to be mailed instructions on how to use Great Expectations web site. So I received the information in the mail and proceeded as I was supposed to, also finding that 3 members had tried to contact me. All in all, I have heard from 4 members 3 of whom have turned out to be unsuitable, 1 whom I have not heard back from. The whole process was a deception.

When I have called back and complained, which I have done numerous times since June, I have spoken with Lisa, the person who originally signed me up, now at the Walnut Creek office and Twyla and Sheila at the Palo Alto office, and 1 or 2 others whose names I don't have. They keep passing me back and forth and claiming they can't do anything about it because the first contract said I had only 3 days to cancel and because the San Francisco office has closed. Well, first of all, no one pointed out the 3 days, second, no one had yet given me membership until I went for the photography session where he told me I need the Vgrams, and third no one had given me any proper instructions on how to use the service until I called to cancel, and that was the first time I requested a refund. If I had been told I had only 3 days to cancel and had been given access to the member area of the site during that time, I would surely have cancelled.

After using the service properly and still finding I was dissatisfied, I sent a certified letter to Great Expectations in Palo Alto on August 2, and a couple of days later the passing back and forth began. I gave them a deadline to figure things out, saying I would contact you, 3 Better Business offices and Consumer Affairs and when that deadline was not met I mailed all the letters. Again I say the whole process has been a deception, and I am totally dissatisfied.

When I reported them to BBB, I got a response from GE that it was assumed when I went home I would read my contract and that "no oral representations by either party shall in any way affect this Agreement." It was not a valid assumption that I would go home and read my contract. I was very emotional and did not. Second, "no oral representations by either party shall in any way affect this Agreement." What kind of garbage is that? So nothing Lisa told me has any bearing on the agreement? That's ridiculous! The consequent appointment was made at the initial appointment, also under duress. Until several days after the second appointment I had no access to the web site, so the 3 day right of recision was useless because I could not see what I had signed up for. Third, at the the second appointment I was told I needed to sign up for V-Grams to contact other members. This was a lie which has not been addressed by Great Expectations.

Their letter says I continued to select gentlemen until July 11, but it does not mention that I did not start selecting until late June when I finally called asking for a refund and someone finally sent me directions on how to make selections.

Great Expectations' most recent letter says they have been in business for over 30 years with great success. Have they checked the Internet to see how many complaints there are? And I know that's just the tip of the iceberg.

They told me there were many suitable men in my age group in my area, and many joining all the time. These too are lies, I do keep checking the site. There are almost no new members since I joined.

I have put plenty into this membership, and gotten virtually nothing back.

San Francisco, California

Click here to read other Rip Off Reports on Great Expectations DATING SERVICE

CLICK here to see why Rip-off Report, as a matter of policy, deleted either a phone number, link or e-mail address from this Report.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 02/16/2006 08:51 PM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/great-expectations/walnut-creek-california-94596/great-expectations-ripoff-liars-cheats-made-untrue-promises-no-chance-to-review-services-176636. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now