Report: #970290

Complaint Review: GrowThink - Internet

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: HeartCounseling — Lake Oswego Oregon United States of America
  • GrowThink

    United States of America

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..
I purchased Growthink's business plan template August 18 2012. Since that time they have billed me $97.00 per month for a publication I NEVER APPROVED OF. My bank contacted me regrading potentially fraudulent activities on my card or I may have never realized their theft.

I was not given this information as I processed this information, only when sent an invoice with an * fine print disclaimer at the bottom.

I would like to join in a class-action suit against GrowThink as consumers and governmental agencies become aware of their deceptive practices.   

They stated that I received an invoice wth fine print that states: Growthink's Insider Circle

Amount Paid for Insiders Circle $0.00*

You will receive an email within 30 minutes with your access information

I would have never purchased this crappy program as it is of inferior quality and I have found the free SBA program just as useful.

I ended up paying approx. $300.00 for this worthless program & newsletters I NEVER ORDERED!!
* This item contains a subscription service. After your trial period you will be charged on a monthly basis the amount of $47 unless canceled.

You may cancel at any time.

Buyer Beware of GrowThink and Dave Lavinsky!!!!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 11/16/2012 02:48 PM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/growthink/internet/growthink-growthink-cheats-customers-internet-970290. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals


#1 UPDATE Employee

Response from Customer Relations

AUTHOR: Megan - (United States of America)

POSTED: Thursday, December 20, 2012
My sincere apologies this matter was not taken care of back in
November when you first questioned the charges on your account. There
must have been a breakdown in communicate with the customer service
department and myself, which we take full responsibility.

I have just processed a refund for all the membership charges. As to the matter of why you were charged $97 instead of the quoted $47 price point, I am having this billing error looked
into immediately.

Again, my apologies the inconvenience. If there is anything else I
can do to rectify this situation, please let me know as we at Growthink
are here to assist customers grow their business and become successful.
Our services strive to provide value for our customers, and we are in no
way intending to rip-off anyone. 
Respond to this report!

#2 Consumer Comment

Growthink Scam

AUTHOR: disappointed. - (Australia)

POSTED: Monday, December 10, 2012
I purchased the Growthink Ultimate Business Template in September 2012. Like the original author of this post I believed I had given my credit card details to the company for a one-off purchase of the business plan.

It only came to my attention in November that the company had been charging me a "membership" price of USD$97 per month for a service I wasn't using or aware of for the last  two months!

I re-read the original email and realised there was an asterisk next to "Growthink's Insider Circle Amount Paid for Insiders Circle $0.00*". Might I add this was added automatically to my order when I was purchasing the business plan template. 

Firstly i find this extremely misleading. Secondly, the the conditions state I would be charged USD$47/ MONTH. I am being charged USD$97/ MONTH and to top it all off, because I am an international subscriber I get charged another $3 for an international administration fee from my financial institution. 

All for a product I did not agree to subscribe to.

Unfortunately, my story does not end there. On the 19th of November, 2012, I contacted Growthink's Customer Service Department by email, explaining my situation and providing evidence of the original email, the prices, mr request to unsubscribe (by which the email states "you can cancel at any time")  and why I found it misleading. 

I received no explanation. No apology. No response whatsoever from Growthink! 

The icing on the cake? On the 6th of December, 2012, I was charged USD$97 by Growthink and another $3 by my bank for international charges. Apparently you cannot cancel at any time!


Megan Grass if you read this,  I noticed your response to the original post and I tried to find your company email on the Growthink website but of course, there are only generic company emails e.g info@growthink.com, customerservice@growthink.com. I want a refund for the money owed to me. I am in the process of sending you yet another email regarding cancelling my "membership" and getting a refund for the months that Growthink have taken money out of my account. 

This whole situation has been extremely frustrating and time consuming and I can't stress enough to potential buyers the risk you are taking buying a product or service from Growthink or Dave Lavinsky.
Respond to this report!

#3 UPDATE Employee

Response from Customer Relations

AUTHOR: Megan - (United States of America)

POSTED: Monday, November 26, 2012
I am the customer relations manager at Growthink.

I have spoken with this customer and the situation has been resolved. 

Once this customer called our customer service department and it was determined that value was not derived from the program access, due to lack of awareness, a refund for the amount in question was issued immediately.

Respond to this report!