Report: #560399

Complaint Review: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach - Cabo San Lucas, BCS Select State/Province

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: dupedbyPuebloBonito — Western Washington United States of America
  • Author Not Confirmed What's this?
  • Why?
  • Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Predio Paraiso Escondido Cabo San Lucas, BCS, Select State/Province Mexico
  • Phone: 01011-52-624-142-9999
  • Web:
  • Category:

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

My husband and I were similiarly duped at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach after a talented and gifted sales manager, Dirk Meyer , convinced us this was a great financial decision while we were on vacation in June of 2008. It turns out that he told us many lies. 1) We were told that a "real estate agency" that he worked with could sell our existing RCI timeshare for 13K thus offsetting our purchase price to a simple 5K deposit. He said this could happen in as little as 10 days to 3 months (conveniently when the first payment would be due!) but never more than that unless we mishandled the sale as in "pilot error." 2) We were told there were no maintenance fees. Ever. Turns out when we questioned him on that he said that he was accounting for the rental of additional units/weeks were figured into that so that this rental income would more than cover our maintenance fees.

These are the major ones...we did list our previous RCI property with his suggested "real estate" company and of course, over a year later there has not been one bite. We've found he completely fabricated the resale value of our exiting RCI timeshare--we could maybe sell it for $3000 if lucky. Their excuse is that this is due to the downturn in the US economy.  But in an email the sales manager promised us that Mexico isn't affected by what happens in the US (right!)  A little research shows that well before 2008, timeshares sold for near to nothing compared to purchase price.  They knew that then--they know that now.  Economic downturn or not.  We were fools to believe this witty,delightful, and as I stated earlier, talented salesman.

Also, we have since found that rentals of these weeks come at a loss for the owners, not a gain. People are trying hard to just get $500 for their weeks at Sunset Beach on e-bay.

Disappointment abounds. We have been contesting this with Concord Services, their financial arm. We have refused to pay further and have placed it under dispute, first with our credit card company and now with Concord. We are working with an agency, but are also finding we have to be the ones doing most of the work. They have broken federal law twice so far by defacing our credit with reports to two of the three big credit reporting agencies. It's illegal to do this for an item "under dispute" and they know this but are using scum techniques to intimidate.

There's always MESCAM and Profeco, as well: Mexican based advocates of fair trade practices. That's a step. We'd love to join with others who have similiar complaints. Possibly create a website, or expand this blog. This misrepresentation and fraud must stop. 

Potential buyers at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach BEWARE.  It is NOT an investment.  Their "associate" in the real estate industry will NOT be able to sell your existing timeshare so you can apply that money toward a Pueblo Bonito purchase.  You will NOT necessarily be able to secure the week or weeks you are looking to travel. You will NOT easily be able to rent your bonus week/s out, and even then certainly NOT for a profit, as the salesfolk will promise. The maintenance fees DO exist and can go up at any time that Mexico wants them to.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 01/26/2010 01:57 PM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/pueblo-bonito-sunset-beach/cabo-san-lucas-bcs-select-stateprovince-23410/pueblo-bonito-sunset-beach-cabo-san-lucas-mexico-duped-by-pueblo-bonito-cabo-san-lucas-b-560399. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Updates & Rebuttals


#3 Consumer Comment

Pueblo Bonito Timeshare Scam

AUTHOR: Adamcurtis - (USA)

POSTED: Friday, June 12, 2015

Yes, unfortunately they are one of the most fraudulent resorts!!!! I also had a bad experience with them, the way they treated me, and all the lies i've heard. The worst thing is that once you fall into their scam tactics it's almost impossible to get out. Here's a list of complaints about this resort i've found recently, you should take a look:



Don't give up, i still have hope that sooner or later we are going to make a difference against those thieves.


Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 General Comment

Pueblo Bonito Timeshare Scam

AUTHOR: janie78j - ()

POSTED: Wednesday, July 24, 2013

My wife and I bought a timeshare at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach n May 2012. WE are so ashamed that we fell for this deceitful sales practice. Cyndi Johnson sales representative professional liar completely took us for fools so embarrassed. She told us the usual, we bought what we thought was a 1 bedroom for a high week for 18,000 less the cost of our time share that they were going to buy from us leaving us owing 5,000 something and payments for the next 3 years. Supposedly 4 bonus weeks and no maintenance fee unless we use the week. We however signed papaerwork for entirely something else. When we questined her on this she told us this was an old contract and that we had addendums stating the benefits she sold to us. When we got home I started looking over the papaerwork again and tried calling to see if we could use the bonus weeks like she said and basicaly got laughed at. Treid communicating with Cyndi Johnson and she told us we were confused she would have the addendums sent to us. Never to be heard from again. The whole presentation was a scam. We ended up with a syudio, 50 points bi annually weeks 1-50. When we asked why we ever give up what we had week 52, 2 bedrooms, annually she never responded. Of course they had no plans to sell our timeshare again another lie. If anyone has any advice please feel free to respond. We will not go down without a fight. We are working now with Mexican Timeshare Solutions, we are also looking into PROFECO and will continue to haunt them 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#1 Author of original report

Need more of a response from Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach

AUTHOR: dupedbyPuebloBonito - (USA)

POSTED: Saturday, February 27, 2010

Since my first report, we have heard from Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach that they will cancel our contract ---not due to their misrepresentations and lies--but due to our non payment of the contract's terms.

They made no mention of the $5,000 deposit.  We insist on that refund in addition to the terms of the contract.

We also bought into the "Premier" plan/weeks, as the most recent poster (from Albuquerque) also noted in their report.  The promise of being able to rent these weeks out for a profit was a major selling point for our sales rep as well as theirs. 

The resort is lovely.  When will they stop telling lies and let the place sell itself?

Out of disgust for their unfair sales practices we will not cease until we see a refund of the downpayment--we also were told it was non-refundable and never informed of our right to cancel within 5 days.  Still, we cancelled before they ever received our signature/VISA receipt by mail. 



Respond to this report!
What's this?
Featured Reports

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now