Report: #584963

Complaint Review: MERCHANT WAREHOUSE - Boston Massachusetts

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: JLK — Atlanta Georgia United States of America
  • Author Not Confirmed What's this?
  • Why?
  • MERCHANT WAREHOUSE Boston, Massachusetts United States of America

MERCHANT WAREHOUSE http://merchantwarehouse.com/ Sold Machine that WOULD NOT WORK FOR ME AND CHARGED A RE-STOCK FEE!!! Boston, Massachusetts

*General Comment: What do you expect?

*UPDATE Employee: Response From Merchant Warehouse

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

Merchant Warehouse is a joke!!

Sales person sold me a machine was supposed to work with my phone. I did give him all the information while exploring their company.

Machine is received and does not communicate with my phone. "Customer Service" (Totally rude and treated me like I had no idea what I was doing) realized the problem is they sold me something that would never work..

I returned the item and was charged a 35% re-stocking fee - plus, I a monthly service charge - for a device that NEVER WORKED!!!

Seriously.. Customer "No-Service" here!! Who can afford to pay for service that was never given? Pay a re-stocking fee for a device that should have never been sold to me! 

Avoid this company!

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 03/24/2010 11:02 AM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/merchant-warehouse/boston-massachusetts-/merchant-warehouse-httpmerchantwarehousecom-sold-machine-that-would-not-work-for-me-a-584963. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Updates & Rebuttals


#2 General Comment

What do you expect?

AUTHOR: WilliamNeville - (United States of America)

POSTED: Sunday, September 09, 2012

So I'm searching for reviews from several different merchant companies and this complaint/reply comes up.  I have no affiliation with merchant ware (I have also seen them dba as merchant warehouse) or gain anything in anyway from them or any other merchant processor.  
After reading the review/complaint, I read the reply from Merchant Ware's VP (which shows pride that he would take a considerable amount of time to respond.)

His response at first makes you c**k your head to the side like a dog thats confused (not that I am illiterate , "simple minded" or a crazy dog guy).  Most people would initally (my opinion) read the first 2 line and you go into a "terms and condition haze", stop reading because it you were not expecting to read "big word".  Really take a moment to read over the reply, by far the best response I have ever read to a review that has NO validity(not that many do).

I am sure that the author had an issue in her perspective,  but consider that the issue might have only been her issue from the beginning.  Everyone knows someone who can't grasp computers/technology.  That doesn't mean that computer illiterate people cant figure out how to blow off steam and leave a review.  When I read over the review, I immediately have this "feeling" of how she is not good with technology.

As a sign of sheer respect for the reply from Merchant Ware, I ask you to read their reply.  As a business owner (which everyone reading this will be...obvious reasons) you could only respect the time a VP, of lord knows (yes i'm from the south) how many employees, to craft that reply. 


William N.

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#1 UPDATE Employee

Response From Merchant Warehouse

AUTHOR: B.T.Waldman - Merchant Warehouse - (United States of America)

POSTED: Friday, April 30, 2010

As a the VP of Marketing at Merchant Warehouse I am often asked the proper way to respond to complaints from customers posted online.  I struggle mightily with the answer to this question as it sometimes feels you fall into a damned-if-you-do, damned-if-you-don't conundrum.  This complaint is a perfect example.  How do I/we defend our integrity while not coming across as if we never have legitimate service snafus?  How do I express pride in our dedication to service without seeming dismissive of a potentially valid concern?


You see, this particular website, and others of this nature, take no responsibility for their content nor do they place any accountability on the poster to validate who they are or for the veracity of their statement.  This person could be a competitor, disgruntled former employee or, as we have seen on other occasions, someone confusing us for someone else.  There is also no perspective in terms of how many customers we work with in a month or have using our service at any given time.


So how do you respond to a complaint where the person is extremely vague, offers no personally identifiable information and simply makes inflammatory statements?  Well, here is my best shot.  I am going to summarize the events as thoroughly documented in our customer service tracking system with the account we believe is associated with this complaint.  Fortunately this was fairly easy to identify as we have very few returns and this particular merchant was easily identified by those who believe they spoke with her.  My intent is to show that, while I am not happy that we would have a customer so upset as to feel a need to post remarks like this, the truth is not always so simple and things people post online in a moment of frustration arent always reasonable.


Here is the record as I have confirmed with the multiple people who tried to help this customer:


1. We have a suite of mobile processing applications which work on various Blackberry, iPhone, Windows Mobile and Android powered devices.  We sign-up hundreds of merchants a month on these platforms and the software is completely free.  If a merchant wishes to conduct swiped transactions using these applications, we do offer, for a cost, a Bluetooth enabled secure swipe device.  When the customer told our Account Executive that she had a compatible mobile device and wished to swipe cards, he had absolutely no reason to believe it wouldnt work properly for her.


2. This merchant had problems downloading the application properly, installing it on her device and the getting the Bluetooth reader to sync.  Again, I need to point out that hundreds of merchants a month go through this same exact process with no issues at all.  I am not sure why she had problems, but I do think it is fair to say that the problem is not that we have a bad application or don't support our products.


3. This merchant contacted us MULTIPLE times about her problems within a two week period and we consistently provided her with support to the best of our abilities.  Since her individual phone seem to have been the issue, it was virtually impossible for us to resolve or diagnose the problem.  Reading through the record, we had at least a dozen conversations with her either on the phone or email.  Unfortunately from both perspectives, it seems that many of these conversations were not fruitful.


4. When it seemed the problem was not going to be possible to resolve, we offered the customer a FULL refund on the Bluetooth swipe device and requested that she simply return it. 


5. The merchant returned the wireless reader but did not return the charging USB cable it came with.  This isn't simply a standard cable.  It is one specifically for this product.  It is spring loaded and self winding to keep the cords organized.  We cannot just order the cable from the manufacturer and we cannot resell the deice without it.  We contacted her to let her know we would need her to return it or that we would need to charge a restocking fee.  She did not return it and said she never received it.  We were very confident that it was in the package and the customer did not comment about not receiving it until we asked for it back.  Based on the circumstances of the interactions up until this point, and our very clear return policy, we did not feel the situation warranted us making an exception even though we very commonly do.


In summary, it is extremely unfortunate that we would have even one customer this unhappy with our service and support.  For a company which makes a big deal, and takes a great deal of pride, in our customer service, it is always upsetting to hear someone so unhappy.  That said, mistakes happen, people take different things from conversations and, in some cases, people do not have fair or realistic expectations.  Of the almost 3,000 merchants we signed up for our services in March, I am not willing simply jump to the conclusion that our service or support is poor because one person had a bad experience.  I hope you will agree.

Brian Waldman

Respond to this report!
What's this?
Featured Reports

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now