X  |  CLOSE
Report: #798177

Complaint Review: North American Bancard - Troy Michigan

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: Gail — Grand Rapids Michigan United States of America
  • North American Bancard 250 Stephenson Highway Troy, Michigan United States of America

North American Bancard deceptive contract; questionable sales tactics Troy, Michigan

*UPDATE Employee: Company Response

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Ripoff Report
About you?
Ripoff Report
A business' first
line of defense
on the Internet.
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..
In October of 2008 I made the mistake of believing a charming con-artist named Clinton and signed up for cc processing services with North American Bancard as the processor. My first clue that this may not have been kosher was the fact that the contract, when I finally received my copy months later, had information filled in that hadn't been in there before (I owned 100% and was the president? Really?) and was signed by someone other than the original salesman who, by signing, indicated he'd been to the premises and had verified all the info on the contract as true. Other than their fees and my name, nothing on it was true. This application did NOT included any terms or conditions. I didn't receive those until the machine showed up from the leasing company (leasing company ugh. Another story for another day).

Fast forward to August 2010--the company closed both of their locations and the contract was canceled. End of story since hey, even reading the "contract terms" that showed up AFTER I signed the contract it didn't show that anything would be due beyond the 5.00 per month fee for the remainder of the contract. Okay, 150 bucks for the two locations, I supposed I can bite the bullet and pay it. Didn't hear a word from them and figured it was done.

Now, today, 11-15-11, over a YEAR later with zero contact from them, I'm getting a collections notice from an agency trying to collect $464.95 PER location for cancellation fees. What fees? Even in the crappy contract they sent me after the fact, no where does it stipulate any fees other than what would have been monthly fees for the duration of the contract term, which, according to the paperwork the salesman sent me, is $5 per month, per location. I'll cop to them being owed $150.00 since I was stupid enough to sign the contract but I will not pay fees that aren't stipulated and that are now being pulled out of thin air.

I have learned a valuable lesson in all this---no long term credit card processing contracts. Ever.

This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 11/15/2011 08:47 AM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/north-american-bancard/troy-michigan-48083/north-american-bancard-deceptive-contract-questionable-sales-tactics-troy-michigan-798177. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!

Updates & Rebuttals

REBUTTALS & REPLIES:
0Author
1Consumer
0Employee/Owner

#1 UPDATE Employee

Company Response

AUTHOR: North American Bancard - (USA)

POSTED: Friday, November 18, 2011
November 18, 2011

Report No:

798177 Merchant ID: 878xxxxxxx852, 878xxxxxxx854 Merchant DBA: R.Vander Lind & Son

Ms. Shupe,

We are sorry to hear about the closing of your locations and subsequent dissatisfaction with the cancellation of your accounts.

Early termination fees are calculated by the monthly fees multiplied by the remaining contact months. I show your accounts had a $25 monthly minimum fee, a $5 monthly service fee and a $5 debit gateway fee. At the time of cancellation you had fourteen (14) months remaining in contract. This is where the $420.00 came from.

Letters were sent to the address on file upon cancellation that showed that the $420 fees were set for automatic withdrawal.

According to your post, you have since received cancellation letters from an Agency. This would be correct if we were unable to collect our fees.

I would recommend calling into our Customer Service department at 866-485-8999. They can then in turn get you to a Senior Agent to work through the collection issue.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Paull Research Manager
Respond to this report!