Report: #1252720

Complaint Review: Thrive Market - Internet

  • Submitted:
  • Updated:
  • Reported By: SheldorAFK — Bartlett Tennessee USA
  • Thrive Market Internet USA

Show customers why they should trust your business over your competitors...

Is this
Report about YOU
listed on other sites?
Those sites steal
Ripoff Report's
We can get those
removed for you!
Find out more here.
How to fix
Ripoff Report
If your business is
willing to make a
commitment to
customer satisfaction
Click here now..

I signed up for a free 30 day trial to Thrive Market. Before my 30 day trial ended, I used the cancel account form on Thrive's website to cancel my account. This was on August 13th, 2015. 

August 13th - I received an email from Thrive, it was a customer retention type email, they were trying to convince me to not cancel my account. They offered to cut the membership cost in half to $29.95 per year. I replied to the email to decline and stated that I would like for my account to be cancelled.

August 17th - I received an automated email that stated my free trial was about to expire. 

August 19th - I replied to the August 13th retention email a 2nd time, I asked if my account had been cancelled, and stated again that I would like for it to be cancelled.

August 21st - I received an automated email with the subject line of "We haven't gotten back to you yet, but we're on it!". It was an email stating that it was taking longer than usual to get back to me. 

August 22nd - I received an email to say that they were not able to charge my debit card for the cost of the membership (the membership that I have now requested twice to be cancelled). (This is a prepaid debit card that I usually only keep a few dollars on, specifically for signing up for "free" trials" and the like.)

August 26th - I received a 2nd email stating that they were unable to charge my card for the membership (the membership that I have now requested be cancelled 3 times.)

September 2nd - I've completely forgotten about this because it has been so long since the last email. I added money to my prepaid debit card for an Amazon purchase and a bill that needed to be paid.

September 3rd - At 4:57 A.M. I receive an email saying "Thanks For Joining Thrive Market!" They have stolen money ($29.95) from my debit card to enroll me in their membership that I do not want to be a member of, that I have requested to be cancelled 3 times over the last 3 weeks. My Amazon purchase payment was declined, as was the payment for the bill that I needed to pay. 

Thrive is a shady company that refuses to cancel my membership and has now stolen money from my account. Do not sign up for their free trials, do not sign uo for a membership at all. Cancelling is apparently impossible, they will ignore your requests and take money from you the first chance they get. 



This report was posted on Ripoff Report on 09/03/2015 12:04 PM and is a permanent record located here: https://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/thrive-market/internet/thrive-market-thrive-market-should-be-called-thief-market-internet-1252720. The posting time indicated is Arizona local time. Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the post time may be Mountain or Pacific depending on the time of year. Ripoff Report has an exclusive license to this report. It may not be copied without the written permission of Ripoff Report. READ: Foreign websites steal our content

Search for additional reports

If you would like to see more Rip-off Reports on this company/individual, search here:

Report & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
What's this?
Also a victim?
What's this?
Repair Your Reputation!
What's this?

Updates & Rebuttals


#4 Consumer Suggestion

Don't opt-in into a plan without customers express permission

AUTHOR: seavan - (USA)

POSTED: Monday, June 27, 2016

This same thing happened to me and I'm upset about it.  Here's a really simple fix.  When someone cancels their membership... just cancel it.  Don't send an e-mail offering them a cheaper plan that goes into effect when no immediate reply is made.  This is extremely manipulative and not done in good faith. Having to e-mail agian to cancel is ridiculous. 

Better yet just don't have the yearly membership.  Your prices aren't that good IMO, and it only became competittive with the 15% intro discount.  Other than that I can get enough stuff at wall mart these days without thrive market.  Without the membership fee I'd probably consider shopping there again once I get the bad taste of this transaction out of my mind.  Can't believe you'd resort to this.



Respond to this report!
What's this?

#3 Consumer Comment

Customers should not have to cancel twice!

AUTHOR: Display Name - (USA)

POSTED: Sunday, March 13, 2016

The thing is, no one should have to tell this company twice that they want to cancel. When you cancel your membership, this company should not change your status as if you have agreed to a half-priced membership. When you cancel it means you want to end the membership. Not pay half price.

They received this customers first email telling them that they want to cancel the membership, and yet they didn't. It is most certainly not the customer's fault if Thrive Market did not receive another email telling them that the customer wants to cancel.

If thrive Market is saying that they never received an email cancelling that second offer, it should have never been set into motion, because the customer did not agree. The customer said they wanted to cancel. If that is all that thrive Market received from the customer then that is what should have been done.

In no way at all is this the customer's fault. This is one hundred percent Thrive Market's fault.

If we were to steal from this company, we would go to jail. Wouldn't we?

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#2 Author of original report

Why was there no communication?

AUTHOR: - ()

POSTED: Saturday, September 05, 2015

I did reply to the original retention email from the 13th. I don't know why it did not go through, maybe it was an issue with gmail. I will attach a screenshot to this reply if I can. My question is when you received my 2nd reply, on the 19th, asking if it had been cancelled yet...why was there no response? No communication at all. From my end, it looked like I was being ignored. How difficult could it have been to have someone reply to say that had not been cancelled yet, but someone would take care of it right then? So no response to 2 of my emails, account was not cancelled, and then I was charged...surely you can understand why I'm so angry. I did receive a refund and hopefully my account is closed for good. I have unsubscribed from your marketing emails, and I don't want to have anything to do with your company again. Thanks. 

Respond to this report!
What's this?

#1 UPDATE Employee

Your Thrive Market Membership Charge

AUTHOR: Thrive Market - (USA)

POSTED: Friday, September 04, 2015

First of all, we would like to sincerely apologize for the unexpected charge that you received and for any misunderstanding along the way. 

On August 13th at 11:33am we received your request for cancellation. You submitted the request through our website. Our team member responded to you at 4:26pm on the same day with the half-priced membership offer. His email stated that he had updated your account to reflect this offer and was expecting a response if you wished to decline it. Because we did not receive a reply to this offer, you were charged for the half-price offer. Again, we do apologize if you missed our response to your initial communication.

On August 19th we received an email asking if your account had been canceled. It had not, but from our end we did update your membership to not be charged upon expiration.  Upon reflection, it does look like there was a technical issue on our end and that you were charged, when we had intended for you not to have been. We're looking into this further, but assure you that this is not the norm for us. 

Once you brought this unintended charge to our attention on September 3rd at 11:25am we immediately refunded and canceled your membership for you. 

Again, we are terribly sorry for any inconvenience that this caused you and it was absolutely not our intention to charge you for a membership that you did not wish to buy. 



Respond to this report!
What's this?

Advertisers above have met our
strict standards for business conduct.

What do hackers,
questionable attorneys and
fake court orders have in common?
...Dishonest Reputation Management Investigates Reputation Repair
Free speech rights compromised

Segment Now